By chance the players were on my flight home last night. They looked a relaxed and happy lot. Quietly chatting. I was at the back so last to leave except for Riv and Clayton who were still chatting mid section of the plane. I exchanged a simple, great game guys and got a nice, thanks a lot from Clayton and smile from Riv.

I have grown up boys and I know 27 is not young any more but Clayton seemed a nice easy going kid who has had to deal with fame and fortune. Now that seems easy compared to people struggling with poverty or disability but it must not be easy for some.

My guess is with good advice he does not complicate his life further and stays with his mate Riv and others close to him.

25 minutes ago, jnrmac said:

He had a mare. Thought he might be subbed off at one point

Wasn’t aware he didn’t touch the ball the entire second half until my mate told me.

8 hours ago, Mel Bourne said:

AJ’s game against the Giants in the opening round was a ripper, and I’m glad he’s getting more time to adjust to AFL. He’ll offer us plenty this year if he can secure the role as Max’s relief. Much prefer him to all the other options.

Clarry was showing great signs today. Well and truly kept the lid on Neale and displayed a renewed sense of desperation and tenacity.

Sparrow is also slowly turning up the heat. Stats don’t flatter him, but his off-ball/pressure game is underrated.

Our freakish captain aside, the lack of big standouts was down to a whole team rising as one. Swans should be worried.

I think AJ is the perfect chop out for Max.

Hope we give him a decent run.

Also a big shout out to Chin. He's really had an excellent start to the year after a few years on the fringes, he's now stamping his mark as a valuable player for us. Once again, another that shows aggression and toughness and wills himself into the game.

We're far from pretty right now, but that was a win carved out of pure effort and determination.

Great to see Fritta showing such aggression too.

We're still as coherent as a Roving BT post game interview at times but geez that will give the lads a huge jump in confidence for themselves and each other.

Go Narm

Edited by Brownie

10 minutes ago, BDA said:

I’m feeling very chipper this morning. The world is a better place when the dees are up and about.

Chipper as well. Now my take

First quarter we kept at them and niggled them all the time. See Melky getting at the big bloke.

Second I was concerned we went into a shell and allowed them time and space from our F50 allowing them to dictate terms. And deliver the ball low and fast and accurate. Thought we were witches hats at this stage.

After half time we seemed more disciplined

Some strange umpire decisions butLi…

Loved May hugging and getting around disco . I think windsor needs to play wing again,

Last quarter was all big max

10 hours ago, Fork 'em said:

As much as I loved Brayshaw, Langfords a bigger more skilful beast.
Couple more pre-seasons and we run him through the midfield full time.
Woah nelly ...... Gonna be a sight to see.

Brayshaw was genuinely dual footed though

11 minutes ago, binman said:

Not an extra forward, we just kept all our forwards forward instead of bringing say a half forward flank up to stoppages.

At least we were in the first 3 quarters - they mentioned we brought extras to tge stoppages in the last, perhaps to take advantage of maxy's dominance, which we hadn't for the first 3 quarters.

By the by I'm just going off a couple of random comments from thecommentary team. Irs all but impossible to work that stuff out watching on TV.

It infuriates me how ridiculously basic the coverage of the game is. I mean they have a special comments person, a boundary rider and access to al thr data and vision they could possibly need and they can't do things like:

• show the set ups at each centre bounces (eg a box in the corner with visuals and names the way they do in cricket to show the field),

• analyse the stoppages and use vision to explain things like what bringing an extra to a stoppage look like and why clubs might do so

• Show vision of individual players and their running patterns

• Use drone shots to show how zones are set up structurally and maintained, and how they work (or not as the case may be)

• Provide analysis, with accompanying vision, to explain things like how pressure impacts thegame, what transtion football involves, key stats coaches would be focused ok in game (eg post clearance possessions), provide vision to explain how individual stats are defined (eg what a contested possession is - it's flat out ridiculous how even commentators confuse disposals and possessions - what hipe do fans have) etc etc etc

• Unpack the tactics of each side

• Use the down the ground, behind the goals shot more often to show running patterns and structures

• Anything else that helps fans understand the game, one of the most complex elite sports in the world

Its ridiculous the coverage of the game on TV has basically been unchanged for 30 years.

Compare the coverage to test match cricket, NFL, NBL and MBL. Chalk and cheese.

Tame cricket- I consider myself very knowledgeable about test cricket, behind footy irs my great sporting passion. But every time I watch it I learn something new. And the use of stats really adds value - particularly the granular stats like say a player's average against a particular bowler or bowling type (wg left hand wrist spinners).

The best way to watch the game would be the current way they show it PLUS a second screen which shows vision from a camera behind the goals.

I have two TVs in my living room for the cricket and its great (but my wife hates it)!

13 minutes ago, binman said:

Not an extra forward, we just kept all our forwards forward instead of bringing say a half forward flank up to stoppages.

At least we were in the first 3 quarters - they mentioned we brought extras to tge stoppages in the last, perhaps to take advantage of maxy's dominance, which we hadn't for the first 3 quarters.

By the by I'm just going off a couple of random comments from thecommentary team. Irs all but impossible to work that stuff out watching on TV.

It infuriates me how ridiculously basic the coverage of the game is. I mean they have a special comments person, a boundary rider and access to al thr data and vision they could possibly need and they can't do things like:

• show the set ups at each centre bounces (eg a box in the corner with visuals and names the way they do in cricket to show the field),

• analyse the stoppages and use vision to explain things like what bringing an extra to a stoppage look like and why clubs might do so

• Use drone shots to show how zones are set up structurally and maintained, and how they work (or not as the case may be)

• Provide analysis, with accompanying vision, to explain things like how pressure impacts thegame, what transtion football involves, key stats coaches would be focused ok in game (eg post clearance possessions), provide vision to explain how individual stats are defined (eg what a contested possession is - it's flat out ridiculous how even commentators confuse disposals and possessions - what hipe do fans have) etc etc etc

• Use the down the ground, behind the goals shot more often to show running patterns and structures

• Anything else that helps fans understand the game, one of the most complex elite sports in the world

Its ridiculous the coverage of the game on TV has basically been unchanged for 30 years.

Tame cricket- I consider myself very knowledgeable about test cricket, behind footy irs my great sporting passion. But every time I watch it I learn something new. And the use of stats really adds value - particularly the granular stats like say a player's average against a particular bowler or bowling type (wg left hand wrist spinners).

100% - there's a lot of value to be added, that they are missing!!!

They're still stuck on BT and co screaming inanities and fawning over players, without adding substance (because they generally don't have any substance).

I also really enjoyed watching AJ throw a bit of weight around. Raw inexperienced and totally unpredictable. A point of difference to JvR. And not totally lost in the ruck.

Made them watch him not the ball

I was cautiously optimistic when we learned that McInerney was out because I felt Max would have Fort's measure and would be able to grab the ball in the clearances.

Another Clarrie stat that was fantastic was his 36 pressure acts, which was equal 7th career high. We don't really want Clarrie getting 30+ possessions (we want that from Kossie, Lindsay, Chandler, Bowey and Langford) but we need him to be efficient with the ball and a maniac without it.

20 minutes ago, binman said:

Such a great post.

They seem to be more interested in creating drama to be played during the week rather than showing insights into the tactics and techniques of the game.

Wouldn't it be great to see someone spend 10 minutes dissecting the game post match last night.

Kayo just cut to the golf after the team song.

As you've said, with all of those resources and personnel, why can't they deliver something interesting and insightful?

11 minutes ago, binman said:

I couldn't agree more.

When was the last time you learned something new from watching an AFL broadcast? Maybe back when Daisy Pearce was on special comments?

If I could have just one thing you've mentioned it would be down the ground footage and I feel like we've been crying out for it for 20 years now. Other than locking this away specially for the Murdoch media line towers so they can look like big experts and we are forced to watch their shows during the week, there is no good reason why it can't be available for viewers.

I'm not the biggest cricket buff but I have to agree that the viewing experience for that sport right now is incredible. Same with Golf.

There was vision of Lizzy and his dad on the TV. And I am too deaf. At the end did his dad say he was telling his Don to stay at the Dee’s and then Kossy looked at him with a very strange look

Or was I hallucinating with glee

Pleased to read others views

3 hours ago, CHF said:

Now that was enjoyable to watch even if I only watched the first quarter live streamed and then had to wait until after lunch to watch the rest. In-laws……

There is a lot to unpack from that performance.

A few observations:

• great pressure team wide. Forced turnovers and did not let up.

• Having said that we made a lot of unforced skill errors that allowed the Lions to score, particularly in the first quarter. Skill errors by both hand and foot.

• Loved Melksham’s game. Lead Andrews a merry dance and rubbed it in.

• Max. What more can be said. Remember years ago John Eales, the Australian Rugby Captain was nicknamed ‘Nobody’. When asked about it, one of his team mates said, “Well, Nobody’s perfect”. Nobody Gawn.

• Loved the balance in the forwards. All contributed but we still missed, what appeared to be, some straight forward shots on goal. Ok, I admit that it was me watching on a screen half a world away….. but still.

• Lever available, Viney back, going to be some discussions during the week re selection.

• Defence looked very organised and settled. Does Lever get a look in?

• Good coaching today, Fristch as sub worked well and we managed to get the matchups we wanted to play the game on our terms.

Sydney next week and I am happy with the way we are playing. I do not see any complacency setting given the position we are on ladder. Every game from here on in for the rest of the season will generate pressure to perform.

Onward and upward…. Go Dees!

Does Viney get a look in,Oliver is playing his role now and the other mids are more dynamic

Windsor going through a rough patch but he's super talented and will come good.

remember its not long ago we were starting to write off bowser and look at him now.

patience people

29 minutes ago, 640MD said:

Chipper as well. Now my take

First quarter we kept at them and niggled them all the time. See Melky getting at the big bloke.

Second I was concerned we went into a shell and allowed them time and space from our F50 allowing them to dictate terms. And deliver the ball low and fast and accurate. Thought we were witches hats at this stage.

After half time we seemed more disciplined

Some strange umpire decisions butLi…

Loved May hugging and getting around disco . I think windsor needs to play wing again,

Last quarter was all big max

Please!

What a win! I gave us no chance before the game (and up until 3QT if I’m honest). Thought we’d scrap it out for 3 quarters and leak a few goals in the last..

4.8 in the last is massive compared to the season so far, should really have won by 4 goals as we missed a few easy ones but I’ll take it.

Importantly we took 16 marks i50, compared to our season average of 9. Only equalled that against the eagles. Took a mark on 28% of our i50s which is our best so far this year. Melksham helps a lot with this both marking and hitting targets.

Also a little underrated in the win is the defensive effort, kept the Lions to 11 marks i50 which helped limit their scoring.

Hopefully we can keep Milkshake on the park for most of the year, and throw the kitchen sink at Kozz to keep him pls.

One of the most pleasing things about this win was 12 scoring shots to 2 in that final quarter.

Accuracy aside that was devastating.

At the very least it will put a spring in the step of many players that hopefully we capitalise on in the next few rounds.

3 hours ago, Dee in a Kilt said:

I enjoyed listening to SEN's call of the game with Dean Solomon. He played for Essendon and Fremantle and was interim head coach of Gold Coast for 3 games. Here are some of Dean's observations over the course of the game:

• Goodwin clearly out coached Fagan. It was a brilliant coaching game by Goodwin

• Melbourne has given the competition a blueprint on how to beat Brisbane:

• In the 2nd half, Melbourne set up their defensive structure to take away Brisbane's passing into their half forwards. Solomon said it was almost as if Melbourne was inviting this pass, then causing the turnover and rebound

• After half time and in their half of the ground, Melbourne brought 2 of its forwards up towards the stoppage, bringing their Lions defenders with them, which opened up Melbourne's inside 50.

• Make Harris Andrews ineffective, reduce Neale's and Zorko's impact - does this make Brisbane beatable?

• Fort is a very good ruckman, but Gawn is currently playing at another level

• When you see Gawn live, it's amazing the power running he does that's not captured on the screen

• This was one of the very best games of the season

• This was Petracca's best game since returning from injury

• Aidan Johnson is madder than a cut snake

• Melksham is at his best when he looks like he is playing angry

What a great summary, and echoes of how his old Club possessed those eclectic mixtures of brilliance and uncompromising toughness.

(Which I secretely admired)

16 hours ago, Red But Mostly Blue said:

If Melk is ever out of this team again (unless rested, I get it), we riot. Massive performance today.

And I love that Melk was instrumental in another win over the Lions.

Sadly he is very near the end. Perhaps he can squeeze out another season while we search for replacements. Sadly they are not currently on our list.

4 minutes ago, old dee said:

Sadly he is very near the end. Perhaps he can squeeze out another season while we search for replacements. Sadly they are not currently on our list.

True. We have this year and that's it I reckon. Beyond that he should be part of the coaching group - to help create/encourage more of his type of play. Lowering the eyes. Goalkicking practice. Simple things, really. But he can influence. And we should still be on the lookout for more forwards.

2 hours ago, jnrmac said:

He had a mare. Thought he might be subbed off at one point

1 hour ago, BDA said:

Windsor going through a rough patch but he's super talented and will come good.

remember its not long ago we were starting to write off bowser and look at him now.

patience people

What the problem is he is not a defender. He is a winger, he always worked up and back and defender when he had to and attacked when it was time.

Playing him at half back is stifling his natural attacking game.
Not every player can just be an attacking half back, and we are paying him there to the detriment of the whole team and Windsors growth and development.

Strange highlights on the AFL site. If I didn't know better, watching them I would have thought that Brisbane won.

Mentioned at qtr time that our skills were terrible both by foot and hand and they were for the better part of first half and then improved a bit BUT you can't deny the effort and G & D put in by the team for the whole game. It was a pleasure to watch.

Can't have perfect skills but eliminate the errors when no apparent pressure and this side can win many more games and push for a finals spot. Then who knows what can happen.

Johnson executed his role to a high level. Compete in the air and on the ground, tackle pressure and provide a ruck contest. As he gets more experience at the level, his production will increase. Stick with him please.

First time watching Logan Morris closely after hearing we are linked to him and I can see why. Very dynamic movement and plays above his height. Similar to Melksham in some ways.