2 hours ago, Demons11 said:

Players need to focus on what they do well and not what they can’t do.   Just because he doesn’t have 1 certain attribute doesn’t mean he can’t still be a gun

Bingo!!!

The best mids currently in the AFL come in all shapes and sizes. Butters and Daicos are different to Bont and Cripps. Each have their strengths and weaknesses. Bont probably gets caught with the ball more than any mid, but is arguably the best player in the comp.

If Langford turns out to be a 20-30 goal a season mid due to his aerial ability, I couldn't care less how fast he can run a 20m sprint.

If he was small and light having, being a little slower off the mark would worry me. 

He's a big brute of a lad so although he may be 5% slower, he's going to be a hell of a lot tougher to hold on to and stop.  I just had a look at previous winners of it and have really never heard of many.  As long as he's on the move at stoppages he'll be fine.

Seems to have a bit of spunk about him as well and was confident about being a high draft pick all along which is fantastic.  Likes to fly for some grabs as well so looking forward to him rotating potentially with Trac up forward and on the pill.

Can't wait till he hits the training track and starts some competitive works alongside Viney, Oliver and Trac - should be fierce.

Welcome to the dees kid.  

12 hours ago, manny100 said:

Great pick up by the Dees. Go Dee's.

Now we have a Langers to go with our Langers.

I would have thought it's Lingers and Langers.  Either way, they could probably consider going into business with a potential business name like that 🤣

He will exploit teams when he is in the forward line, he can take massive grabs.

The beneficiary of Harvey will be Fritta, once they realise they need to put more time into him.

Some in the Demon Army came across a feel good story about Harvey.  Apparently he and Caleb Windsor grew up together and are close mates, their dads were mates playing for Knox for many years.  So I'm sure he'll feel right at home at the club alongside Leb :)

12 hours ago, manny100 said:

Great pick up by the Dees. Go Dee's.

When you're not sure if "Dees" needs an apostrophe or not.  :D

Spoiler:  It does not.

So happy with this pick, if we had the number 1 pick I would have been happy picking this kid even then, this was who I hoped we got out of all the kids I reckon he will be awesome and is already AFL ready.  

Also wrapped in Lindsay, really good picks I think we did great with these two picks.

These new kids with our other young guns make me feel like no matter what happens with our older crew we are in very good hands.  Cause for excitement and I took a while to get to sleep last night after the draft...GO DEES!

2 minutes ago, Demonstone said:

When you're not sure if "Dees" needs an apostrophe or not.  :D

Spoiler:  It does not.

Unless you're talking about the Dees' new players, of course

22 minutes ago, Neil Crompton said:

I think he appeared, when interviewed, to be disappointed that he didn’t get to Richmond. 

I don’t understand this - he seemed happy to get to the Dees I thought 

If anything he seemed relieved that Adelaide passed on him - he mentioned feeling relief when he heard Sid Draper’s name called before his (that makes two of us)

3 minutes ago, 4_Kent_Watts said:

When I heard Draper's name called i gave a Yesssss like we just kicked a goal in time on to put us 2 in front. 

I cheered!!!

32 minutes ago, Young Angus said:

So happy with this pick, if we had the number 1 pick I would have been happy picking this kid even then, this was who I hoped we got out of all the kids I reckon he will be awesome and is already AFL ready.  

Also wrapped in Lindsay, really good picks I think we did great with these two picks.

These new kids with our other young guns make me feel like no matter what happens with our older crew we are in very good hands.  Cause for excitement and I took a while to get to sleep last night after the draft...GO DEES!

Definitely feeling the optimism this morning. Really excited for the future with these two + our other young guns.

He'll be great. Just what we needed someone in the midfield but can go forward and take a from the side front of pack mark in a similar way to Fritta.  Tracc kicks goals from marks further out and none of the other midfielders are known for their goal kicking.  This could be the guy who does that.

His forward running will help Oliver as well - I can see the both of then combining through the middle of the ground.

A good spot of drafting by the Dees. Langford is a big, strong lad, not being a sprinter should not be a major concern, this kid will be breaking tackles.

1 hour ago, Neil Crompton said:

I think he appeared, when interviewed, to be disappointed that he didn’t get to Richmond. 

That was my daughter’s comment, that he seemed a little disappointed.

Maybe he was just processing it.

1 minute ago, Redleg said:

I think part of it is just his demeanour generally

Seems a somewhat quiet and reserved media performer - not to mention the nerves he would have been feeling

Saves his aggro for the footy field 💪

49 minutes ago, Left Foot Snap said:

I cheered!!!

Me too!!!  Nearly woke up my 3 year old who was asleep on the couch next to me.

5 minutes ago, Redleg said:

Oh well he is a Richmond supporter his whole life I think but he will be part of a good team with some great players, not to mention his mate Caleb Windsor, I reckon he'll be right.  He seems very reserved anyway as others have said.  Interesting they didn't interview him though straight away like the other players...

Edited by Young Angus

7 minutes ago, Young Angus said:

Oh well he is a Richmond supporter his whole life I think but he will be part of a good team with some great players, not to mention his mate Caleb Windsor, I reckon he'll be right.  He seems very reserved anyway as others have said.  Interesting they didn't interview him though straight away like the other players...

I'm sure we'd be willing to accept pick 1 next year if he wants to go 'home'

#toosoon 

1 hour ago, Neil Crompton said:

I think the interviewer was the one trying to inject the Tigers into the interview NC.😁

3 minutes ago, DeeZone said:

I think the interviewer was the one trying to inject the Tigers into the interview NC.😁

Thought exactly the same looked like a stake through the heart

Every picture i've ever seen of Langford, he looks depressed. My point is that it has nothing to do with Melbourne drafting him, it's just him.