dl4e 5,851 Posted August 14, 2024 Posted August 14, 2024 If we recruited Parker we are nearing rock bottom. Quote
Bring-Back-Powell 15,547 Posted August 14, 2024 Posted August 14, 2024 45 minutes ago, Norm Smith's Curse said: I don't think Hunter will be getting an extension.. Yes he’s absolutely done at the MFC. They might even leave him stranded on 199 games. Quote
Fat Tony 5,337 Posted August 15, 2024 Posted August 15, 2024 Versus Collingwood, Parker had an AFL Player rating of 20.1 (14th in the AFL for the Round) and scored 109 SuperCoach Points (41st in the AFL for the Round). He is still playing very good football. I think Parker and Taylor Walker are the two obvious veterans that would make us better and not cost a lot in terms of salary cap (and no draft capital). 1 Quote
kryton101 411 Posted August 15, 2024 Posted August 15, 2024 He'd be filling Melk's role pretty much. Who do we prefer? Quote
Fat Tony 5,337 Posted August 16, 2024 Posted August 16, 2024 All 18 clubs should be chasing Parker. He’s still a star. 3 Quote
deegirl 1,584 Posted August 16, 2024 Posted August 16, 2024 Have always loved him, he’s an absolute mongrel but definitely in the decline. That said he’s been a big contributor to tonight’s result. Can’t remember which exact game but I remember he & Viney playing on each other and thinking it could end up a fight to the death 😂 2 Quote
Guest Posted August 16, 2024 Posted August 16, 2024 Never thought much of him, ‘til this… IMG_3122.MOV And now he’s my hero 😅 Quote
Return to Glory 8,518 Posted August 21, 2024 Posted August 21, 2024 On 14/08/2024 at 22:14, Bring-Back-Powell said: Billings yes. Hunter no. Hunter’s been a disaster this year but last year he was a good contributor to the side (particularly in the first half of the year) to the point that he was missed vs Freo due to suspension. The value we’d get out of 2025 Parker would be equivalent to 2023 Hunter IMO. I'll preface this by saying that I'm related to Luke Parker. That said, you've got to be kidding BBP. Hunter is vastly inferior to Luke by any measure you care to make. Most importantly, he has that will to win that very few have. 4 Quote
binman 44,824 Posted August 21, 2024 Posted August 21, 2024 7 minutes ago, Return to Glory said: I'll preface this by saying that I'm related to Luke Parker. That said, you've got to be kidding BBP. Hunter is vastly inferior to Luke by any measure you care to make. Most importantly, he has that will to win that very few have. Is his his nick name Nosey? 1 Quote
Adam The God 30,730 Posted August 21, 2024 Posted August 21, 2024 33 minutes ago, Return to Glory said: I'll preface this by saying that I'm related to Luke Parker. That said, you've got to be kidding BBP. Hunter is vastly inferior to Luke by any measure you care to make. Most importantly, he has that will to win that very few have. Get in his ear then mate. 3 Quote
whatwhat say what 23,854 Posted August 21, 2024 Posted August 21, 2024 55 minutes ago, Return to Glory said: I'll preface this by saying that I'm related to Luke Parker. That said, you've got to be kidding BBP. Hunter is vastly inferior to Luke by any measure you care to make. Most importantly, he has that will to win that very few have. tell him we'd all love to see him trade the red and white for the red and the blue in 2025 3 Quote
Pennant St Dee 13,452 Posted August 21, 2024 Posted August 21, 2024 Wouldn’t mind him at the right price, tough around the contest, can play the mid fwd rotation and impact the scoreboard 4 Quote
Guest Posted August 21, 2024 Posted August 21, 2024 1 hour ago, Return to Glory said: I'll preface this by saying that I'm related to Luke Parker. That said, you've got to be kidding BBP. Hunter is vastly inferior to Luke by any measure you care to make. Most importantly, he has that will to win that very few have. Hey RtG! Please tell Luke MASSIVE THANKS for this… 😅 Quote
Redleg 42,156 Posted August 21, 2024 Posted August 21, 2024 9 hours ago, Pennant St Dee said: Wouldn’t mind him at the right price, tough around the contest, can play the mid fwd rotation and impact the scoreboard He can, but he will be 32 in October, just saying. Quote
picket fence 18,182 Posted August 21, 2024 Posted August 21, 2024 A big YES from me adds grunt, mongrel and on last outing, playing excellent footy! 1 Quote
BLWNBA 1,483 Posted August 21, 2024 Posted August 21, 2024 Parker is vastly superior to the likes of Hunter, McAdam and Billings. He's one of the few aging players I'd be interested in. Personally, I also think he's in that rare ilk of players who can, to steal a corporate catch cry, drive culture and develop those around him. I would take Parker in a second. He'd also definitely improve our forward / midfield mix immensely, at least in the short-term. 3 Quote
BW511 2,730 Posted August 21, 2024 Posted August 21, 2024 17 minutes ago, BLWNBA said: Parker is vastly superior to the likes of Hunter, McAdam and Billings. He's one of the few aging players I'd be interested in. Personally, I also think he's in that rare ilk of players who can, to steal a corporate catch cry, drive culture and develop those around him. I would take Parker in a second. He'd also definitely improve our forward / midfield mix immensely, at least in the short-term. Even without knowing him, I get the sense he’d be a vastly superior teacher/leader for Kolt/Sparrow/Chin etc When the whips get cracking, you know he’d be up for it Quote
Pennant St Dee 13,452 Posted August 21, 2024 Posted August 21, 2024 1 hour ago, Redleg said: He can, but he will be 32 in October, just saying. Yes, which is why I mentioned at the right price. Keep the first pick for a young mid and get a couple of solid seasons out of Parker. A few older bigger bodies Viney, Oliver and Parker rotating through the middle along with some of the younger brigade is good going forward IMO 2 Quote
Bring-Back-Powell 15,547 Posted August 21, 2024 Posted August 21, 2024 11 hours ago, Return to Glory said: I'll preface this by saying that I'm related to Luke Parker. That said, you've got to be kidding BBP. Hunter is vastly inferior to Luke by any measure you care to make. Most importantly, he has that will to win that very few have. That's cool that you're related to Luke Parker. I was thoroughly impressed by him last week, and he looks like he's got a few miles left in the tank. Would be worth a look for 2025, but clearly he'll stay at Sydney if the Swans still want him. I still maintain that Hunter was a good player for us in 2023 and served a need for us on the wing. When he was suspended for the Freo loss, we genuinely missed him. He also did some unnoticed 1% ers in the Carlton semi that stacked up in the finals heat. The 2024 Hunter has been a complete bust, and he's clearly not in the same stratosphere as Parker when comparing the two right now.. Quote
Moonshadow 17,678 Posted August 21, 2024 Posted August 21, 2024 He's the perfect fit for North. They need seasoned, old heads on their midfield. 3 Quote
Adam The God 30,730 Posted August 22, 2024 Posted August 22, 2024 10 minutes ago, Moonshadow said: He's the perfect fit for North. They need seasoned, old heads on their midfield. Except IMV and probably many, we can offer a better look at success in the short term than North. I doubt they'll play a final while Parker is still on the parker. Quote
sisso 2,627 Posted August 22, 2024 Posted August 22, 2024 Its a maybe from me...do we need any more 30 year olds? Quote
SPC 3,596 Posted August 22, 2024 Posted August 22, 2024 We are going to need to add some more leadership and tough bodies around the midfield. We are desperately thin at VFL level. It’s a yes from me. Quote
Moonshadow 17,678 Posted August 22, 2024 Posted August 22, 2024 1 hour ago, Adam The God said: Except IMV and probably many, we can offer a better look at success in the short term than North. I doubt they'll play a final while Parker is still on the parker. Of course we can, but imo they can offer him best 22 for 3 years. Us maybe 1 or 2. Plus I reckon they'll offer more $. He's already played in a premiership. Might take the view 'been there, done that ✅️' But who the f knows 🤷♂️ 2 Quote