Sideshow Bob 2,498 Posted August 7, 2024 Posted August 7, 2024 Still think he's going to gold coast... 1 Quote
Fork 'em 7,052 Posted August 7, 2024 Posted August 7, 2024 5 hours ago, Sideshow Bob said: Still think he's going to gold coast... Taking a leaf from Hardwicks playbook ya reckon. Reckon Martin's got more class TBH. 1 Quote
Maldonboy38 6,435 Posted August 7, 2024 Posted August 7, 2024 Big game player, strong and fair, quiet and humble, rarely beaten, and amazing game awareness. Among all the accolades, I reckon there is not enough mention of his field kicking. Hitting ridiculous targets on the run with low penetrating 60m passes. The sound of the ball striking his foot - wow. What a gun. 3 1 Quote
Sideshow Bob 2,498 Posted September 13, 2024 Posted September 13, 2024 On 07/08/2024 at 16:58, Sideshow Bob said: Still think he's going to gold coast... You heard it here first 🤣 Gold Coast Suns confirm talks over Dustin Martin’s return to footy 2 3 1 Quote
Jaded No More 68,976 Posted September 13, 2024 Posted September 13, 2024 Honestly he can do what he likes. Legend of the game and gave Richmond 3 flags. 2 Quote
roy11 4,076 Posted September 13, 2024 Posted September 13, 2024 23 minutes ago, Jaded No More said: Honestly he can do what he likes. Legend of the game and gave Richmond 3 flags. Correct, but still played out very strangely. 1 Quote
Demon Disciple 12,537 Posted September 13, 2024 Posted September 13, 2024 14 minutes ago, roy11 said: Correct, but still played out very strangely. He's an odd bod. Isnt the first and wont be the last. 1 Quote
BW511 2,730 Posted September 14, 2024 Posted September 14, 2024 Straight out of the Dimma playbook Even with their premiership legacy, I reckon both Dimma and Dusty will be a little unpopular with the way this has all played out 1 Quote
daisycutter 30,021 Posted September 14, 2024 Posted September 14, 2024 playing on at suns would only tarnish dusty's legacy. his best days are well past. he may be a good on field leader but is not an off field leader, so apart from publicity purposes i can't see much benefit 2 Quote
Little Goffy 14,970 Posted September 14, 2024 Posted September 14, 2024 retires-ish immediately-ish 1 1 4 Quote
Sir Why You Little 37,459 Posted September 14, 2024 Posted September 14, 2024 Couple of Years working on The Gold Coast Good Money & Good other things…!! Was always going to happen Quote
Sideshow Bob 2,498 Posted September 14, 2024 Posted September 14, 2024 16 hours ago, daisycutter said: playing on at suns would only tarnish dusty's legacy. his best days are well past. he may be a good on field leader but is not an off field leader, so apart from publicity purposes i can't see much benefit All true. But the kicker here - Dusty will collect $500k a year for 1-2 years. Nice little retirement gift from the AFL. Where else is he going to get that kind of cash? Can't see him coaching or in a media role. Perhaps only other option was to go with rebels motorbike gang - another year or 2 of footy seems like a much better option 1 Quote
Dee Viney Intervention 2,028 Posted September 14, 2024 Posted September 14, 2024 Really feel for Yze 2 Quote
dazzledavey36 56,347 Posted September 14, 2024 Posted September 14, 2024 On 07/08/2024 at 16:58, Sideshow Bob said: Still think he's going to gold coast... Well played.. Quote
dazzledavey36 56,347 Posted September 14, 2024 Posted September 14, 2024 20 hours ago, BW511 said: Straight out of the Dimma playbook Even with their premiership legacy, I reckon both Dimma and Dusty will be a little unpopular with the way this has all played out Unpopular with who?? Quote
BW511 2,730 Posted September 15, 2024 Posted September 15, 2024 2 hours ago, dazzledavey36 said: Unpopular with who?? RFC Quote
dazzledavey36 56,347 Posted September 15, 2024 Posted September 15, 2024 26 minutes ago, BW511 said: RFC The premiership players won't care but I think the way Dimma has handled the past 12 months has been pretty [censored] poor. Leaves Richmond in a complete and utter mess then proceeds to try and gut their list even further by poaching the likes of Rioli and Martin. I could imagine what Tarranto and Hopper are thinking.. Feel for Yze also. 2 Quote
Adam The God 30,744 Posted September 15, 2024 Posted September 15, 2024 5 hours ago, Dee Viney Intervention said: Really feel for Yze I dunno. It kind of gives Richmond heaps of picks and Yze doesn't have to be the bad guy by retiring club champions. 1 Quote
BDA 23,048 Posted September 15, 2024 Posted September 15, 2024 Dusty Martin owes Richmond absolutely nothing Quote
Left Foot Snap 2,610 Posted September 15, 2024 Posted September 15, 2024 23 minutes ago, BDA said: Dusty Martin owes Richmond absolutely nothing I would argue he owes them everything. He came in with talent but a wayward life. RFC put the supports and structures in place to keep him on the right path so he could excel the way he did. You could argue that his performances have repaid the effort and investment they put in, but he still owes his success to the Club. I agree with Dazzle though, not impressed with the way Harwick has handled things. Quote
Deez21 264 Posted September 16, 2024 Posted September 16, 2024 On 15/09/2024 at 10:52, dazzledavey36 said: The premiership players won't care but I think the way Dimma has handled the past 12 months has been pretty [censored] poor. Leaves Richmond in a complete and utter mess then proceeds to try and gut their list even further by poaching the likes of Rioli and Martin. I could imagine what Tarranto and Hopper are thinking.. Feel for Yze also. 100% Although according to Richmond fans, neither can do no wrong Quote
Deez21 264 Posted September 16, 2024 Posted September 16, 2024 23 hours ago, BDA said: Dusty Martin owes Richmond absolutely nothing Compare the trajectory of his career and then the likes of Watts et al and you tell me if he owes them nothing. I agree, he's at the point no where he's welcome to leave and go help a team that can compere rather than waste the end of his career on a rebuild, however, do you think he's gone about it the right away? Sitting out most of the season, retiring and then joining the former coach that gutted your club? Quote
The heart beats true 18,201 Posted September 16, 2024 Posted September 16, 2024 I saw absolutely nothing this year that convinced me Dusty should have played in 2024, let alone 25 and 26. I don’t think this is the right vibe for The Suns either. They need to build their own culture now. Quote