Ā 
7 minutes ago, Macca said:

Well, taking them out of their role if they fail to carry out instructions is a good point

So I've got Sparrow & Viney out of the team as both offer nothing much right now

But Fritsch & JVR were offering very little and both got dropped. So a good proportion here got what we wanted but that now means our forward line is threadbare

So there's always a consequence and we have no real depth

Fritsch is at the crossroads and JVR is overrated. He can't create seperation like good forwards do

Maybe as the 3rd tall but he's not a 1 or 2. He may improve of course but he needs to

I reckon Fritsch should have been dropped earlier and Fullerton brought in to support jvr.

By dropping jvr and fritch together our new fwds are on a hiding to nothing

Maybe SG wants Fritsch and jvr to go to Casey to work on their'connection"

13 minutes ago, praha said:

Revealed on Fox Footy that if we pay him out before end of his deal (2026) then we have to pay 100% of his remaining salary. Could be anywhere between 1.5-2 million. This would be included in the cap spend for football department spend meaning we'd likely have to pay a luxury tax of 75 cents for every dollar over up to a million, which would be likely given we'd have to pay good coin to get a half decent coach in. Club heavily scrutinised because most coached only have a 3-6 month payout clause. Goodwin has a full contract payout clause.

So basically... unless he resigns we'll be with him for a while. I couldn't see us justifying that payout unless they have a good coach lined up.

So it could cost the club up to $3Million, all up (to sack Goodwin)

That's a lot of money when considering we're now out of the pokies coupled with only 2 money making MCG games this season (and the Tigers clash may see a smallish crowd to boot)

There's no way Goodwin walks away from that sort of money either

Folks here need to be prepared for a long season. Unless we come good of course

We are not giving Goodwin 3 million bucks to depart the Goodship MFC. I can't see it

1 minute ago, Macca said:

So it could cost the club up to $3Million, all up (to sack Goodwin)

That's a lot of money when considering we're now out of the pokies coupled with only 2 money making MCG games this season (and the Tigers clash may see a smallish crowd to boot)

There's no way Goodwin walks away from that sort of money either

Folks here need to be prepared for a long season. Unless we come good of course

We are not giving Goodwin 3 million bucks to depart the Goodship MFC. I can't see it

Neither. In fact it's probably made me against sacking Goodwin and giving him the time to reboot and right the ship now.

1 hour ago, Roost it far said:

Bailey was run over by Neeld’s reality bus which then ran off the road and sunk in the Yarra

Refloated as the love boat this season

1 minute ago, jnrmac said:

I reckon Fritsch should have been dropped earlier and Fullerton brought in to support jvr.

By dropping jvr and fritch together our new fwds are on a hiding to nothing

Maybe SG wants Fritsch and jvr to go to Casey to work on their'connection"

It was a fairly ruthless call as it lessens whatever chance we had of winning today

Anyway, on to the game!

23 minutes ago, praha said:

Revealed on Fox Footy that if we pay him out before end of his deal (2026) then we have to pay 100% of his remaining salary. Could be anywhere between 1.5-2 million. This would be included in the cap spend for football department spend meaning we'd likely have to pay a luxury tax of 75 cents for every dollar over up to a million, which would be likely given we'd have to pay good coin to get a half decent coach in. Club heavily scrutinised because most coached only have a 3-6 month payout clause. Goodwin has a full contract payout clause.

So basically... unless he resigns we'll be with him for a while. I couldn't see us justifying that payout unless they have a good coach lined up.

3 hours ago, Macca said:

As for Bedford? We all saw the potential?

That's a stretch. He showed some promise, that's it

Weren't too many broken hearts when he went ... until he started playing well

Hindsight is your friend, Dazzle

I live in the real world

Not sure if you're just bored and playing devils avocat today Macca.

I saw Bedfords potential from his 1st draft clips.
He had what we needed .... Speed and liked to kick a goal.
Didn't get a run at it cause he couldn't get past the one paced Premiership medallion wearing coach favourite Spargo.

As for Jordan, he was never the flashy player but if he had the ball I was confident it was going to another guy in a red & blue jumper.
He too struggled to get a run at it as he was most often relegated to sub and as far as I was concerned it was a disgrace that Goodwin couldn't or wouldn't get him onto the ground grand final day.
Haven't seen what he's been doing lately tho' but from what I gather he's a good tagger.
I don't think Goodwin was ever big on taggers as he'd always back our mids in.
I was disappointed for Jordan and understood exactly why he went looking for opportunities elsewhere.

The Bedford decision was definitely disappointing from my end.
But hey, I aint the coach, I don't make the decisions on list management or gameplan (much to my dismay).
But if I did we'd be doin' things a hell of alot differently.
We'd be playing fast, aggressive and what I like to call "entertaining" footy and drawing more than 25k to home MCG games.
And I'll tell ya somethin' else for nothin'.
If I thought any player was bludging or not doin' what I told 'em.
They wouldn't be playin'.

Edited by Fork 'em

Ā 

1 hour ago, DubDee said:

Deadset tactical genius Goody!

Amazing what can be done when ur job is under pressure.

Still far from convinced, not a lot changes but a great result today

2 hours ago, Fork 'em said:

Not sure if you're just bored and playing devils advocate today Macca.

Be a dull old world if we all agreed with each other

But all's well than ends well, hey!

Fork 'em!!!!!!

2 hours ago, Deestroye said:

History being made today. I’m calling this as his last game as coach.

This aged well.

7 minutes ago, picket fence said:

Still far from convinced, not a lot changes but a great result today

Jury is still out but today was a pressure release.

We have to atleast play with that amount of pressure and intensity as a bare minimum for the rest of the season

After the final siren, players celebrating, Gawn and Goodwin meet, NO sweet embrace, Max deadpan even scowlish, turns to Langford then smiles, Goodwin looking somewhat confused.

Strange

PS. Great win today.

We keep winning, no problems for Goodwin.

However, lose one of the next two then todays win doesn’t mean much.

Credit to Goodwin, he said during the week Saturday will be better & see improvement & the wheels will turn.

But if we lose either of the next 1 or 2 the pressure will be back.

5 hours ago, Macca said:

Ha ha!

What about all the assistants, bub?

šŸ¤” I'm sure the new coach will find his own šŸ˜†

1 minute ago, beelzebub said:

With the size of the payout there's no new coach coming. Goodwin will coach next year.

Ā 
7 minutes ago, beelzebub said:

You are nothing but tenacious, bub

Kudos 😁