3 minutes ago, Hellfire Dub said:

Yes.

Don't forget to prioritise contest & defence, along with meaningless inside 50 stats and territorial dominance (expected scores etc) over actually scoring goals.

Winning the stats but not the game.

Simon Goodwin..."The chances are you're about to lose".

This is gold.

1 minute ago, leave it to deever said:

Up until last week I was all for him. I don't know disagree in the slightest. But for a variety of reasons. He deserves respect but needs to go. So the sooner the better.

You are actually at the place tge club needs to be.

It doesn't matter what you ,I or anyone thinks of Simon either personally ( which is neither here nor there ) or as a coach.

It's gone beyond that. It is really about how relevant he is to any success going forward. Should he be be in charge any longer ?

The simple answers are he seemingly has no effect now and as such should be removed immediately.

If this were truly a properly run organisation the Club ought to understand thus and act appropriately.

He’s doubled down on a game plan that appears unsuitable for the modern game.

Almost all players on our list have gone backwards. Which is diabolical.

Thankful for the premiership but it is time to go before he ruins young careers.

1 minute ago, The Jackson FIX said:

He’s doubled down on a game plan that appears unsuitable for the modern game.

Almost all players on our list have gone backwards. Which is diabolical.

Thankful for the premiership but it is time to go before he ruins young careers.

Just watched the presser and he actually said that the forward half is not the problem. Say what? He was happy with 26 scores from 40 entries! Does he not realise that 18 of those scores were behinds? Does he know that there was no system? Better system would result in more entries. Practicing goal kicking would result in better conversions.

He talks about us being out of form, well perhaps only play 100% fit players and play players in their best positions. With a reported strong off season there is no reason why our players struggle to run out quarters.

32 minutes ago, hopelessdeesfan said:

I’m not a fan of Goodwin and haven’t been for a while but will Richardson take over if he goes because I think he needs to follow Goodwin out the door

I can't believe Richardson has survived this long.

Thanks for the flag Goody, 2021 was an amazing season but the writings been on the wall for a while. It's now a matter of when, not if.

20 minutes ago, beelzebub said:

You are actually at the place tge club needs to be.

It doesn't matter what you ,I or anyone thinks of Simon either personally ( which is neither here nor there ) or as a coach.

It's gone beyond that. It is really about how relevant he is to any success going forward. Should he be be in charge any longer ?

The simple answers are he seemingly has no effect now and as such should be removed immediately.

If this were truly a properly run organisation the Club ought to understand thus and act appropriately.

Cheers Bb.

Oh game day, the roller coaster of highs and lows. The expectation v the reality.

A microcosm of the footy season.

I'm sure Goody has been checking his contract to today.

That's one thing for sure.

And is probably browsing holidaymax as we speak.

Edited by leave it to deever

I've always backed Goodwin as he gave me the best period of being a MFC supporter in 35 years.

However, we need a change now. I'd favour a young coach in tune with the new playing styles.

Trade some guns out and load up in the draft and trade in if possible

Then go again in 2028. We have very good youth coming through

1 minute ago, chook fowler said:

I want a horse with no name, coz I went to the G and it gave me a pain

Gold... you win today. Unlike......

( seriously clever humour 👏)

Observing how coaches typically get sacked it'll take a couple of months and more horrific losses before Goodwin gets sacked

However I would imagine a short list is being created very soon.

Who is the next Kingsley, MacRae, Mitchell?

The reason for our current plight I believe are many and varied.

However the start of our demise , albeit gradual, at least until last week,(now in freefall) can be traced back to the off season after the premiership win.

Whilst nothing showed up on field until around mid season of 22, the affect of winning 17 straight and the way we did it IMO lead to and arrogance and inflated ego for many players, mostly senior. I suspect they thought they were unbeatable. Winning games in 10 minute bursts, kicking multiple goals at the flick of a switch, bang, bang, bang, must have felt like walking on water.

Whilst all this was happening what did Simon do? Other than not changing anything, “ contested footy”, or adapting a new style or method or showing flair at selection, I suspect he did nothing. Perhaps he turned a blind eye to negative behaviours?

By all means disagree if you like. But if you do, consider this, my understanding is that senior players were doing ‘sportsmans’ nights/shows celebrating the Premiership win around rural Victoria in late January 2022, only weeks from the start of the season.

Surely those celebrations should have ceased by the end of November at the latest, probably even earlier.

The start of the beginning of the End.

Edited by Abyssal

1 hour ago, leave it to deever said:

Up until last week I was all for him. I don't know disagree in the slightest. But for a variety of reasons. He deserves respect but needs to go. So the sooner the better.

He does deserve respect but he’ll start to lose it quickly by hanging on, he knows he’s gone, he knows his time is up. 2021 will never be forgotten but walk away Simon, be that man.

Serious question. How long have we signed Nathan Jones on for?

Granted we are only three games in, but alarm bells are starting to ring. Why the hell would we bring in an untried coach to manage this midfield? I’ll sit tight for now out of respect, given his status at the club, but man…we are a one paced, plodding slaughterhouse right now with no second gear.

21 minutes ago, Bombay Airconditioning said:

He does deserve respect but he’ll start to lose it quickly by hanging on, he knows he’s gone, he knows his time is up. 2021 will never be forgotten but walk away Simon, be that man.

Well said Bombay, Walk away while your in front Simon.

Reckon at full strength we still have a good maybe even very good best 22 even with the regression of some snr players. Once Windsor, Kozz, Lever, McVee come back Goodie probs gets 4-6 weeks to turn things round but it seems like the players have already checked out

26 minutes ago, Bombay Airconditioning said:

I couldn't agree more Mr better air temp.

In fact early in this thread you'll see several posts by yours truly saying it's better for everyone if he goes now.

Waiting for the sYit storm of media noise this week to become a self fullfilling prophecy should be preempted.

Do it now so he will be honoured in the annals ( for want of a better word) of history for the delivery a hallowed flag after 56 bloody long agonising years. In fact I'm starting to bore myself with this argument.

You and I , I think, are in total agreement my wise friend.

Plus a new coach even if only for a couple of games seems to inject some new gusto and esprit de corps ( My only French) and with it often a few wins.

And that would be nice.

2 hours ago, Rednblueriseing said:

I've been a big Goodwin fan, from day 1 when he created the Diamond formation in 18, to the best defence we've ever seen as demons in 21/22. Maybe a fresh voice is needed and a list overhaul before Tassie come in... I'd be bringing in 1 of Buckley or Longmire before they get snaffled elsewhere

Id be keeping Bucks far away from our club. He is a similar coach to Goodwin.

The boys need a coach not a father figure or a mate.

Longmire would be great for our club, he will sort a lot of things out i think. I think our list still has the talent to win a flag, so perhaps Longmire would like at and think the same thing.

4 minutes ago, GS_1905 said:

Longmire would be great for our club, he will sort a lot of things out i think. I think our list still has the talent to win a flag, so perhaps Longmire would like at and think the same thing.

Goody won't walk or be sacked until a few games after the mid season bye. Then we've got caretaker Chaplin for 3 months.

Carlton will absolutely snap Longmire him up by then, if their management are not already planning an approach in the next month.

7 minutes ago, GS_1905 said:

Yeah you couldn't pass on Longmire if he was interested... Green should at least make the call before his gone, i know Brad loves Goody and he will always be welcome and loved at the Dees, but we need a fresh start. Go get him

We should throw everything at Longmire

I do not think we are ruthless enough nor have the capacity for honest self reflection

Membership and attendances may serve as an impetus but might be too late

Id have the chopper in the air now with sharpshooters and tranquilisers and be brumby hunting

Ring ring...

"Hello this is horse speaking?"

Folks, Goodwin isn't going anywhere.

Our off field leadership is in no-man's land, virtually non-existent:

• caretaker president

• no CEO

• GM Football whose days are said to be numbered.

No one is going to make a decision on the coach.

They say 'a fish rots from the head'. Well we don't have an effective 'head' right now. Eventually the lack of leadership plays out on the field. More so, with what I believe is a misfit group of coaches.

4 minutes ago, Superunknown said:

We should throw everything at Longmire

I do not think we are ruthless enough nor have the capacity for honest self reflection

Membership and attendances may serve as an impetus but might be too late

Id have the chopper in the air now with sharpshooters and tranquilisers and be brumby hunting

Yes i'm of the belief that even if Simon hasn't lost all the players, he has gone all-in on a few and left some scratching their head and questioning "what's with the selective love-in"

And you have to wonder if Simon has unfortunately crossed that very fine line of becoming too close with some (or too many) of the players and now unable to reel in those he has become too close with who are under-performing and/or unable to objectively see their performance / form for what it is and send them for a spell at Casey.

As a result, complacency may have snuck into a few within this list. A few of them senior. And i suspect the rot started to set in at some point fairly early on post the flag.

And once that happens others begin to question the whole set up, coaching methods and the reasoning behind it all.

Not enough reward for some?

Too much favouritism for others?

A steady spiral downwards both in attitude, application on the track, care for fellow players. Then the 'team' ethos and hard work ethics in general start to wilt. Many start to play for themselves and their future. Survival instincts set in and playing team footy, 2nd efforts and intensity on the track start to wane.

Of course it may have nothing to do with all of the above and could be just poor coaching and / or poor player form / injuries etc.

Such a poor start to a season though. I highly doubt this is fixable just via a few better players coming back.

A lack of intent and no white line fever from so many. The lack of confidence throughout most of the group. Inability to keep up with the oppo for more than about 2 quarters.

Feels like there is so much more to this than just form & personnel.

Is it mostly to do with Simon's coaching & game style?

He and the players (if enough of them give a FF) have about 5 weeks or so to turn things around.

The heat is well and truly on everyone within the four walls now!

Edited by Demon Dynasty

5 minutes ago, Lucifers Hero said:

Folks, Goodwin isn't going anywhere.

Our off field leadership is in no-man's land, virtually non-existent:

• caretaker president

• no CEO

• GM Football whose days are said to be numbered.

No one is going to make a decision on the coach.

They say 'a fish rots from the head'. Well we don't have an effective 'head' right now. Eventually the lack of leadership plays out on the field. More so, with what I believe is a misfit group of coaches.

Surely Mr Green is talking to the next president Smith? And coming up with a plan to get the club back on track if it means clearing out the coaches and putting some players on notice so be it, get it done and set up the club for success in the near future