1 minute ago, Jaded No More said:

He’s still a bin diving misogynistic [censored] 

'Bin diving' did make me chuckle.

This is more than a new contract, it's a signal of his intentions to commit to our footy club for the foreseeable future after what we all heard over Summer. People may not want to admit it but this stuff is pretty common. 

It hasn't been the best season from Petty but for him to decide that this is the place to be goes a long way. We now have the chance to get his body right and have him bounce back in whatever his best role will be, who knows maybe a return to defence could be on the table in future.

Great news out of a terrible day.

Now we can focus in our midfield, ruck and potentially a KPF to accompany JVR.

This is only good news if he gets his confidence back and SG plays him where he belongs down back.  Not forward or ruck where in many games we may as well be a man down

Great news if true. Just needs a full preseason and a clear run and he solves problems for us 2025 and onward at either end. Now let’s go and fix our midfield and a second ruckman. 

Edited by Lil_red_fire_engine

14 minutes ago, Jaded No More said:

Anyone who isn’t thrilled with that (if it’s true), is an absolute fool!

Securing our talls means we can focus on restocking our midfield! 

He was also easily our most competitive in the air today.

Much prefer Harrison with us than against us, Goody sticking with him has made him stick with us but want him key back next year. 😁😁

12 months ago everyone would be over the moon at this, we successfully played him into a slump and got him to take a pay cut, now time to put him back and look like a star again 

Edited by Garbo

His marking today was excellent.  But he can't ruck and he's a pinch hit forward at best.  Back to defence and it'll be a very worthwhile investment.

17 minutes ago, Jaded No More said:

If Jefferson comes good next year they probably will. Likewise if Tmac retires which I suspect he will. 

On his form this year, I reckon Tmac is good for another season Jaded.

( provided he holds up physically ) And he currently appears fine in that sense.

6 minutes ago, Garbo said:

12 months ago everyone would be over the moon at this, we successfully played him into a slump and got him to take a pay cut, now time to put him back and look like a star again 

A plan so cunning you could stick a tail on it and call it a weasel

2 minutes ago, Bitter but optimistic said:

On his form this year, I reckon Tmac is good for another season Jaded.

( provided he holds up physically ) And he currently appears fine in that sense.

I agree that he can go another season, but from what I heard he was set on this being his last season. 
Hopefully he’s changed his mind. 

6 minutes ago, Swooper1987 said:

His marking today was excellent.  But he can't ruck and he's a pinch hit forward at best.  Back to defence and it'll be a very worthwhile investment.

Let’s hope he never has to ruck again because we find a second ruck going into next season. That has to be very very high on our list of priorities given Max is going to be 33 next year!

Wow. I’ll happily put my hand up for posting that I was told first hand by someone very high up, the club were resigned to losing him at the start of the season. I can assure you it wasn’t false information or fictitious rubbish.

I hope they choose to play him in the backline where he belongs from next year and try to land an experienced forward if possible. 

Awesome news. Much bigger story than our loss. Huge result for us. Put him back in defence. Get a proper ruck forward and leave JVR up front will go along way to sorting us out for next year. I’m stoked he’s resigned. 

3 contested marks and 100% efficiency 

not his fault he can’t ruck

he has a 40 goal season in him imo

2 minutes ago, Beetle said:

Wow. I’ll happily put my hand up for posting that I was told first hand by someone very high up, the club were resigned to losing him at the start of the season. I can assure you it wasn’t false information or fictitious rubbish.

I hope they choose to play him in the backline where he belongs from next year and try to land an experienced forward if possible. 

Credit to Goody for again helping to keep a required player. 

excellent result

24 year old premiership winning swingman key position players - who can play a titch relief ruck at a pinch - don't grow on trees

will be may's long-term replacement defensively

3 minutes ago, Beetle said:

could be true mate

Crows probably lost interest due to his poor season and injuries

The merit of this is totally dependent , for me, on where he's played.

1 minute ago, DubDee said:

could be true mate

Crows probably lost interest due to his poor season and injuries

There was a media story a couple of months ago that was the opposite. That the Crows had contacted Petty again & not got the response they wanted. Seems he cooled on them.

Caveat being - AFL media so a pinch of salt may need to be taken

1 minute ago, Go the Biff said:

There was a media story a couple of months ago that was the opposite. That the Crows had contacted Petty again & not got the response they wanted. Seems he cooled on them.

Caveat being - AFL media so a pinch of salt may need to be taken

that was rucci reporting that, and as such more likely to be true than any bleatings coming from kornes or theo doropoulos, the other radelayed-based media nuffies

after a dispiriting loss, i'm super pleased to hear this

I, for one, am very pleased that he has signed on. Key position players who can take a contested mark are gold. He is coming off a serious foot injury with a limited preseason, and as far as I am concerned, he is invested and always gives his best. Glad to have you on board.

Look at Freo and their forward marking targets, Treacy, Amiss, Jackson and Sturt with Tabener in the 2nds.