Posted
3 minutes ago, Ethan Tremblay said:

You just know that Carlton is going to win from getting a free kick. 

No! Never

Posted
Just now, The heart beats true said:

If you don’t reckon the fix is in for Carlton this year you aren’t paying attention.

Just like the Pies last year. Vince McMahon provided the instructions.

Posted
Just now, Jaded No More said:

@Axis of Bob what did you think about the umpire’s influence on the Carlton Freo game?

When it comes to Carlton, the dog walks the umpire!

Posted (edited)

Keeps us on top for another few hours at least 😂

Edited by Dee Zephyr

Posted

It clearly hits Aish’s arm. Honestly. It’s just embarrassing how often it happens for some clubs at some stages. Anyone would think it was, I dunno, intentional.

Posted
Just now, The heart beats true said:

It clearly hits Aish’s arm. Honestly. It’s just embarrassing how often it happens for some clubs at some stages. Anyone would think it was, I dunno, intentional.

Let’s just say the umpires don’t see that, fine. What the actual [censored] was that free right in front of goal for dissent? Since when do you get another free right in front of goal? Get absolutely [censored]

Posted
1 minute ago, Bring-Back-Powell said:

Let them have their luck in the early rounds. 

They’re my tip for the flag but they’re luck isn’t going to last for 26 weeks.

It did for Collingwood, because the AFL made sure of it. 
This is a rinse and repeat but with a different brand of sour milk. 

Posted (edited)

Seriously bad umpiring led to the last 3 goals for Carlton. Has the AFL decided to gift Carlton the premiership this year? 

Edited by Antioch

Posted
1 minute ago, Bring-Back-Powell said:

Let them have their luck in the early rounds. 

They’re my tip for the flag but they’re luck isn’t going to last for 26 weeks.

Well it lasted all year in 2023 - picked up some undeserved wins, especially the gws umpiring rort in the early rounds, and continues throughout the year especially late season and finals. Curnow and McKay have long been beneficiaries of flopping frees.

Posted

That’s what fans come to the footy to see. 2 teams go hard at it with discipline and huge effort for 3 hours - only for the umpire to unequivocally decide the result with a decision that no one can hear or see.

Posted

Freo were still up by 8 or 10 points with 3 mins to go but an unpaid mark at half forward for Freo (which should have been paid) goes down the other end and Carlton score. Game on from that point and momentum is huge in modern footy.

The whole of umpiring needs reviewing and I think as a code we need to look at better options as it’s ridiculous how small little decisions unfortunately do affect a whole game when the comp is so so even and tight.

Posted

Carlton a*** their way to another win. 

I do feel for the Dockers who were so well setup behind the ball and limiting the Blues for 4 quarters but my god did they snooker themselves with 90 seconds left stuck in their defensive 50. Carlton dropped an extra behind and they were too scared to dump kick out so they went for a contain the ball close and stoppage-stoppage-stoppage approach.

This was fatal in my opinion as you would have probably needed about 15 stoppages to close out the match, it was only a matter of time before Carlton got a look at goal.

Posted

I get the smell of Elliots paper bags.

Posted
4 minutes ago, Jaded No More said:

Let’s just say the umpires don’t see that, fine. What the actual [censored] was that free right in front of goal for dissent? Since when do you get another free right in front of goal? Get absolutely [censored]

The old "where the ball is" never made sense to me for double-goals. When the first goal has been kicked, the ball should be considered back in the middle of the ground, not with whichever umpire happens to be holding it at the time.

Posted
3 minutes ago, The heart beats true said:

Was at the game sitting in that forward pocket and it was so clearly touched.

Everyone in the crowd couldn’t believe the mark was paid.

Posted
11 minutes ago, Clintosaurus said:

This year is rigged.

Surprise, surprise.
Last year was rigged too.

Posted

I’m excited for Cripps to get off at the tribunal for knocking someone else out on the eve of a grand final. 

Posted (edited)

Awful, bloody awful punch out by Jackson back towards centre half forward for Carlton to  get the hacked touched kick away. Should have gone for the boundary side. Horrible game by him.

Edited by John Crow Batty

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.

Unfortunately, your content contains terms that we do not allow. Please edit your content to remove the highlighted words below.
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.