TheWiz 787 Posted April 5, 2024 Posted April 5, 2024 The one thing that all my Essendon mates say is “we have a young list, what do you expect - we’ve just got to put games into them”. It’s rubbish. Shout out to @WheeloRatings, but Essendon are at the AFL mean (25.9 years) and only 0.2 years younger than us, which isn’t that impressive when you think we have Ben Brown (31), TMac (31) and Gawn (32) playing. Absolutely time for the focus and commentary on their culture to be turned up. 3 1 1 Quote
Demon17 5,262 Posted April 5, 2024 Posted April 5, 2024 9 hours ago, dl4e said: So where was the great Essendon edge. It was more like watching thomas the tank engine having tea and scones with emily. Precisely Dl4e. As Goody said. You can talk about culture. It's only actions that count. Our team has it in spades. 20th anniversary of no bomber finals wins here we come. 1 Quote
DubDee 26,708 Posted April 5, 2024 Posted April 5, 2024 12 hours ago, Demonland said: and then 3 hours later 111-42. missed by 1 point! mind blown? not really, but it’s weird 1 Quote
BDA 23,048 Posted April 5, 2024 Posted April 5, 2024 Bombers early draft picks don't appear to be developing. Cox is the reincarnation Cale Morton. Zach Reid is always injured, Durham and Hobbs are handy, haven't seen much of Tsatas (2022 pick 5). Perkins is the only one you could say will be a 200 gamer. The recruitment team should be copping a lot of heat down at the Hangar 3 Quote
DubDee 26,708 Posted April 5, 2024 Posted April 5, 2024 Brad Scott said the game was a good wake up call for his team. i’d be furious if my coach said that after a 70 pt smashing Quote
DubDee 26,708 Posted April 5, 2024 Posted April 5, 2024 10 hours ago, Demon_spurs said: Did I just hear BT say this has been an inspiring start to the season by Ken Hinkley??? Imagine anyone saying this about Goodwin?! Even though he has had a great start despite all the pressure and off field stuff. The only time he is mentioned in the media is unsubstantiated off field nonsense year after year 4 1 Quote
At Least I Saw a Flag 5,354 Posted April 5, 2024 Posted April 5, 2024 3 hours ago, leave it to deever said: He loves Greg Chappell. He would be the only one. Quote
Queanbeyan Demon 7,037 Posted April 5, 2024 Posted April 5, 2024 10 hours ago, Jaded No More said: Nothing like beating West Coast, Richmond and Essendon. And then, wait, what’s that? Losing to an actual contender at home. 10 hours ago, Fork 'em said: Not gonna hold that against 'em. They gave us a run for our money without Horn-Francis. 10 hours ago, Jaded No More said: And we beat them without May And Brayshaw. 1 Quote
Queanbeyan Demon 7,037 Posted April 5, 2024 Posted April 5, 2024 11 hours ago, MrFreeze said: Nik Cox is a major spud And all I hear from Essenscum supporters is that they have big Cox. Quote
Queanbeyan Demon 7,037 Posted April 5, 2024 Posted April 5, 2024 11 hours ago, Ethan Tremblay said: Hinkley sitting on the bench again, just looking like a turtle. He really doesn’t wreak inspiration or motivation. I take your point @Ethan Tremblay. But what I also see is a guy who delegates well and trusts his lieutenants and players. Quote
Queanbeyan Demon 7,037 Posted April 5, 2024 Posted April 5, 2024 11 hours ago, Demonsterative said: The climax and best part of the night is watching Brad Scott in his presser. looking fwd to the resting angry face…. For me, Brad Scott and 'climax' is an oxymora, but I take your point @Demonsterative 1 Quote
Queanbeyan Demon 7,037 Posted April 5, 2024 Posted April 5, 2024 10 hours ago, layzie said: The worst is when he says something like: "I'm an ex tradie, I'll get the tape measure out" You don't need a tape measure Brian. It's about 1 and a half inches. Quote
dees189227 12,525 Posted April 5, 2024 Posted April 5, 2024 Brisbane were very lucky they got nth this week. Quote
Queanbeyan Demon 7,037 Posted April 5, 2024 Posted April 5, 2024 2 hours ago, Biffen said: Robbos just an average bloke with alcoholic dementia,doing an average job,for an average paper and an average radio station and tv show with a below average IQ and hygeine regimen.I actually tip my hat to the poor c.nt.He's the highest achieving slob we've had in Australia since Sir Les Patterson and he isn't even a parody. Absolutely gold @Biffen. I wish I had the talent to write this type of stuff. 1 1 Quote
Fork 'em 7,052 Posted April 5, 2024 Posted April 5, 2024 21 minutes ago, DubDee said: Imagine anyone saying this about Goodwin?! Even though he has had a great start despite all the pressure and off field stuff. The only time he is mentioned in the media is unsubstantiated off field nonsense year after year I saw an interview with Goodwin before the season and he was asked again about our culture. He replied with a steely eye something like our culture is 2nd to none and when the season starts we plan to "Show 'em what this footy club is about." Was wondering at the time if it was abit of false bravado especially after having our pants pulled down by the swans in Rd1. But here he is. Got all the guns on the ground, sitting at 4-1 and looking like they're on a mission. 4 Quote
Gawndy the Great 9,011 Posted April 5, 2024 Posted April 5, 2024 1 hour ago, BDA said: Bombers early draft picks don't appear to be developing. Cox is the reincarnation Cale Morton. Zach Reid is always injured, Durham and Hobbs are handy, haven't seen much of Tsatas (2022 pick 5). Perkins is the only one you could say will be a 200 gamer. The recruitment team should be copping a lot of heat down at the Hangar Tsatsis, Tompous, Tomayto Tomato Quote
John Crow Batty 8,893 Posted April 5, 2024 Posted April 5, 2024 (edited) 2 hours ago, Biffen said: Robbos just an average bloke with alcoholic dementia,doing an average job,for an average paper and an average radio station and tv show with a below average IQ and hygeine regimen.I actually tip my hat to the poor c.nt.He's the highest achieving slob we've had in Australia since Sir Les Patterson and he isn't even a parody. Dwelling in the esoteric here but Robbo has always reminded me of the loud drunken slob journalist GURU BRAMIN from the crazy 60’s comedy film THE LOVED ONE. The perfect real life channeling fiction portrayal. Edited April 5, 2024 by John Crow Batty 1 Quote
Queanbeyan Demon 7,037 Posted April 5, 2024 Posted April 5, 2024 I've just spent an hour readying this thread. Outside of the Deez's two wins in the last seven dayz, this has been the best hour of my week. 3 Quote
MrFreeze 2,055 Posted April 6, 2024 Posted April 6, 2024 Our win v Port looks very good after tonight. We were lucky not to come up against JHF, he is a very important player for them. Quote
loges 6,767 Posted April 6, 2024 Posted April 6, 2024 11 hours ago, Fork 'em said: It was still a good game. And I'll tip it'll be a good game next time too. Just reckon their little mids got tired of running into our fleet of bulls all night. They really could've used HF at stoppages. BOG tonight I hear. Just as we could do with a fully fit Oliver 1 Quote
whatwhat say what 23,879 Posted April 6, 2024 Posted April 6, 2024 (edited) 4 hours ago, Biffen said: Robbos just an average bloke with alcoholic dementia,doing an average job,for an average paper and an average radio station and tv show with a below average IQ and hygeine regimen.I actually tip my hat to the poor c.nt.He's the highest achieving slob we've had in Australia since Sir Les Patterson and he isn't even a parody. potd Edited April 6, 2024 by whatwhat say what Quote
Doug Reemer 1,208 Posted April 6, 2024 Posted April 6, 2024 Essendon lost again.. Cue up another Mick Warner and Robinson 6 day hatchet job about Melbournes “Drug Culture”. 1 1 Quote
Freddy Fuschia 773 Posted April 6, 2024 Posted April 6, 2024 So good to see Melbourne on top of the ladder even if it’s due to extra games played. On top of that Melbourne Storm are currently on top as well! 2 Quote
BDA 23,048 Posted April 6, 2024 Posted April 6, 2024 Swans should put at least 50 points on the eagles Quote