14 minutes ago, Binmans PA said:

There's always one. Well done, Cranks.

12 months is a long time in footy. So is 36 months, and over the last 36 months, we've finished top 4 three times. 

There are always those that need something to complain about.image.jpeg.aa5da40e3214ccd7afb0b9d40ce19bc1.jpeg

2 hours ago, deva5610 said:

Great news.

So this is what supporting a successful, well managed club feels like. I kind of like it.

Yep. I never thought I'd see the Dee's topp 4 three years in a row. Means we're in contention.

Then there's the Flag.

Fantastic times now and coming.

Best wishes to Simon , team and staff.

2 hours ago, La Dee-vina Comedia said:

I'll give two related reasons. Firstly, it's a mark of respect which he's earned. Secondly, and more practically, we run the risk of losing him to another club who might offer him better terms (dollars or length of contract) if we treat him poorly.

Can anyone actual name one coach in the last 50 years who was lost to a club in these circumstances?

5 minutes ago, Queanbeyan Demon said:

Can anyone actual name one coach in the last 50 years who was lost to a club in these circumstances?

Ross Lyon from St Kilda - Fremantle i believe was similar to this i believe?

Fantastic news! 

Stability is the most underrated thing in footy. there hasn’t been a dynasty without it. The players love the security of knowing the next 3 years are secure. 

Simon is a terrific manager and coach. and seeing him speak today he has come on in leaps and bounds with his presence and communication 

Bring on the next flag!

36 minutes ago, gregdemon said:

great news keeping him   Keep doing what your doing Goody !!!!!!!!

Yeah no worries

2 hours ago, Cranky Franky said:

These extended contracts are great for the coach as it means a big extra payout. Not so good for the Club.

Look how its worked out for Clarkson @ Hawks & now Footscray or West Coast.

And tell me the last Premiership coach that was poached due to the contract not being long enough ???

you’ve names 3 clubs that were on the bottom or past their window. 

every smart club secures their coach when they are successful and in the window. 

1 minute ago, Dwight Schrute said:

Ross Lyon from St Kilda - Fremantle i believe was similar to this i believe?

I was waiting for this one - St. Kilda actually rat-[censored] Lyon. St Kilda have since all but admitted such.

72% winning rate in the past 3 years

BUT *is* he the right guy?

If he wins the flag this year he can coach until 2035.

27 minutes ago, DubDee said:

you’ve names 3 clubs that were on the bottom or past their window. 

every smart club secures their coach when they are successful and in the window. 

They all thought they were smart at the time - later on not so much

51 minutes ago, Queanbeyan Demon said:

You don’t think Dimma might’ve swapped a few texts or calls with some GC people before deciding to take his little overseas holiday?

1 hour ago, Demons11 said:

I think the form of JVR shows this is not an issue 

JVR is a work in progress still needs to learn how to handle bigger bodies, how to position the body, when to make contact etc that is a craft a good forward coach can teach you also have young players coming up who could benefit from someone with knowledge in that area.

11 minutes ago, Fromgotowoewodin said:

You don’t think Dimma might’ve swapped a few texts or calls with some GC people before deciding to take his little overseas holiday?

Gee what made you think of that.....lol

3 hours ago, Graeme Yeats' Mullet said:

Is he really the right guy.........?

I wondered which post this would turn up at. Well played :)

51 minutes ago, Engorged Onion said:

I wondered which post this would turn up at. Well played :)

I’m surprised we haven’t seen more about goody’s flaws on here: 

* stubborn

* no plan b

* still playing his best mate Melksham

* not a good gameday coach

* doesn’t reward form at casey

* bad at press conferences

* still hasn’t reviewed the 2018 PF!

Do you know what, it's nice to have some stability. I mean all those years ago when we went through coach after coach and getting our hopes up only to fail again. It seems the players love playing under Goody and obviously the Board backs him. 

1 hour ago, Fromgotowoewodin said:

Dimma was actually under contract (as is Simon currently), and unless proven otherwise, I take him at his word. That is, he was burnt out and the players needed a new voice.

2 hours ago, Queanbeyan Demon said:

Richmond lost John Northey to Brisbane Bears. Geelong lost Garfield Ayres to Adelaide. 

5 hours ago, La Dee-vina Comedia said:

A quick check tells me that Goodwin has coached the 5th most games for Melbourne with 134. He'll move to 4th some time in 2025. He's currently the 4th most successful in terms of games won. Here's the top 5 for games:

Norm Smith - 310 with a win rate of 64.35%

Checker Hughes - 258 (61.24%)

Neale Daniher - 223 (48.65%)

John Northey - 167 (54.19)

Simon Goodwin - 134 (57.46%)

The leader for games won is Albert Chadwick who coached 58 games with a win rate of 73.28%.

This information puts Goodwin in excellent company.

All stats courtesy of Wikipedia.

He has coached 156 games for Melbourne and 1 for Essendon.

He will be passing Neale with this contract extension.

https://afltables.com/afl/stats/coaches/Simon_Goodwin.html

2 hours ago, Queanbeyan Demon said:

John Northey?

23 minutes ago, Glorious Day said:

Richmond lost John Northey to Brisbane Bears. Geelong lost Garfield Ayres to Adelaide. 

I definitely concede Northey - well done @Glorious Day. Garfield Ayres similarly. I would note however, unlike Simon, neither was, nor became, a premiership coach at level. So slightly different circumstances. But I've got to admit, your footy knowledge is bloody good.

Edited by Queanbeyan Demon
Typo

5 minutes ago, Queanbeyan Demon said:

I definitely concede Northey - well done @Glorious Day. Garfield Ayres similarly. I would note however, unlike Simon, neither was, nor became, a premiership coach at level. So slightly different circumstances. But I've got to admit, your footy knowledge is bloody good.

In other words, I need to get a life and find more passions than AFL (hence my knowledge) 😂

Those examples are almost a quarter of a century ago too so you make a very good point, it doesn’t really happen.