It was a great result in the end. Pies win which keeps our top 2 chances alive, and two contenders just batter into each other for 120 minutes. I felt this way about Sydney last year, and I feel much the same about Collingwood this year - you've got to reserve some of the teams emotional energy for September. If you have to dig into the emotional reserves to get you over the line too many times in the regular season, you'll be burnt out by the last Saturday in September. 

I can't help but feel the more neutral crowd and long season will come back to haunt the Pies on that day, if they make it.

2 minutes ago, Clint Bizkit said:

Second spot remains a possibility for us.

The only comfort

1 minute ago, dazzledavey36 said:

Collingwood have one hand on the cup.

It would have to be a giant [censored] up for them to lose it from here.

I can see them running out of puff, but you can see that they’ll throw everything at it. 

20 minutes ago, Bombay Airconditioning said:

Bont & Trac, easily ahead of Nick Daicos.

He is 19. 

just unbelievable [censored] what he is doing  

Apart from a quick sugar hit I don't see what a Collingwood loss would have done for us. The media would just build up the gallant loss they needed to have narrative.

I listen to WIIFM FM (What's in it for me FM). It's a good station and Port winning wouldn't have done much for us.

3 minutes ago, dazzledavey36 said:

They're literally a kick away from losing it most weeks.

23 minutes ago, Lord Travis said:

Sickening seeing the Pies come back like this. It’s become a self fulfilling prophecy that they can overrun teams in the final quarter. They’re a bog average team for 3 quarters every week.

Didn't quite overrun us though

3 minutes ago, dazzledavey36 said:

They have just squeezed past 2nd, and lost to 3rd and 4th - so it is still a contest between top 4.

Makes me appreciate oh so much that we beat them a few weeks ago …GO DEES!

5 minutes ago, Wodjathefirst said:

The Ferals are the team to beat, sad but true 

& we’ve beaten them …fact & true 

1 minute ago, Chook said:

They're literally a kick away from losing it most weeks.

Yet they find ways to win.

Their mental strength in games is incredibly impressive 

Port play an attacking style. If they’d steadied more often they would have won comfortably. They got sucked in to Collingwood’s mania. We don’t do that. I’m confident we can beat both these teams when it matters.

Edited by Roost it far

They have a great team spirit…gosh, I’d like to smack them in finals.

I don't think any self-respecting football watcher can say any team has much of a head-start on the flag honestly.

Pretty much every top four side has lost to every other combination of top four side, not to mention the 5-8 sides.
It's going to be a bloody even last month of football to decide things, and that's great.

Go Dees!

4 minutes ago, dazzledavey36 said:

Yet they find ways to win.

Their mental strength in games is incredibly impressive 

Yep that is basically all they have. They have a very ordinary forwardline, an ok midfield and an average defense. 
Where they excel is their resilience. They don’t ever think they can lose. They also have some great ball users. But you know who else has come back from big deficits and won? Melbourne. 

Port have a very poor defense. Just look at their percentage. They couldn’t shut the game down. 

Edited by Jaded No More

I’m beginning to find Collingwood’s coach very annoying 

Edited by KLV

When the big goals need to be kicked the Pies have the skills and confidence to kick 'em.
Sidebottom, Daicos, Daicos, and Elliot.
Never looked like missing.

Ladder predictor has us playing Pies week 1 in the 1st v 4th encounter at the G. Seems the most likely scenario. Wouldnt that be great.

Edited by Wadda We Sing

Top 4 are all split 2-2 now.  Collingwood has beaten Port twice and lost to Lions and Melbourne; Port lost to Collingwood x 2, beats Melbourne and Lions; Melbourne beats Collingwood and Lions loses to Port and Brisbane; Brisbane loses to Melbourne and Port and beats Collingwood and Melbourne.  Pretty close between them all too.  Most of the games have been within a kick or two.

Port should have put it out of reach in the third quarter. Seventeen points did not do justice to their dominance in that term.

Their pressure was great but sadly all they achieved was another boost to the Pies' sense of invincibility.

Just now, layzie said:

I think when whips are cracking and players are back from injury, we could be there 

I've got abit of confidence our ugly scrappy best can strangle 'em.
If we bring it.

1 minute ago, Jaded No More said:

Yep that is basically all they have. They have a very ordinary forwardline, an ok midfield and an average defense. 
Where they excel is their resilience. They don’t ever think they can lose. But you know who else has come back from big deficits and won? Melbourne. 

Average defence?

Mate do you watch any of their games? Darcy Moore will most likely be All Australian as will Isaac Quaynor who's one of the best small defenders in the game.

Their midfield with now DeGoey and Siebottom back takes them up a level. They have one of the best midfield talent this generation has ever seen and will most likely win a Brownlow.

You seriously underestimate them as club, it's actually laughable. 

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.

Unfortunately, your content contains terms that we do not allow. Please edit your content to remove the highlighted words below.
Reply to this topic...

Featured Content

• CASEY: Northern Bullants

The Casey Demons travelled to a windy Cramer Street, Preston yesterday and blew the Northern Bullants off the ground for three quarters before shutting up shop in the final term, coasting to a much-needed 71-point victory after leading by almost 15 goals at one stage. It was a pleasing performance that revived the Demons’ prospects for the 2025 season but, at the same time, very little can be taken from the game because of the weak opposition. These days, the Bullants are little more than road kill. The once proud club, situated behind the Preston Market in a now culturally diverse area, is currently facing significant financial and on-field challenges, having failed to secure a win to date in 2025.

• 0 replies
  • GAMEDAY: Sydney

It’s Game Day, and the Demons have a golden opportunity to build on last week’s stirring win by toppling Sydney at the MCG. A victory today would keep them firmly in the hunt for a finals spot and help them stay in touch with the pack chasing a place in the Top 8. Can the Dees make it two in a row and bring down the Swans?

• Haha
    • 73 replies
  • NON-MFC: Round 11

Round 11, the second week of The Sir Doug Nicholls Round, kicks off on Thursday night with the Cats hosting the Bulldogs at Kardinia Park. Geelong will be looking to to continue their decade long dominance over the Bulldogs, while the Dogs aim to take another big scalp as they surge up the ladder. On Friday night it's he Dreamtime at the 'G clash between Essendon and Richmond. The Bombers will want to avoid another embarrassing performance against a lowly side whilst the Tigers will be keen to avenge a disappointing loss to the Kangaroos. Saturday footy kicks off as the Blues face the Giants in a pivotal clash for both clubs. Carlton need to turn around their up and down season while GWS will be eager to bounce back and reassert themselves as a September threat. At twilight sees the Hawks taking on the Lions at the G. Hawthorn need to cement themselves in the Top 4 but they’ll need to be at their best to challenge a Brisbane side eager to respond after last week’s crushing loss to the Dees on their home turf. The first of the Saturday night double headers opens with North Melbourne up against the high-flying Magpies. The Roos will need a near-perfect performance to trouble a Collingwood side sitting atop the ladder.

• 332 replies
  • PREVIEW: Sydney

The two teams competing at the MCG on Sunday afternoon have each traversed a long and arduous path since their previous encounter on a sweltering March evening in Sydney a season and a half ago. Both experienced periods of success at various times last year. The Demons ran out of steam in midseason while the Swans went on to narrowly miss the ultimate prize in the sport. Now, they find themselves outside of finals contention as the season approaches the halfway mark. The winner this week will remain in contact with the leading pack, while the loser may well find itself on a precipice, staring into the abyss. The current season has presented numerous challenges for most clubs, particularly those positioned in the middle tier. The Essendon experience in suffering a significant 91-point loss to the Bulldogs, just one week after defeating the Swans, may not be typical, but it illustrates the unpredictability of outcomes under the league’s present set up. 

• 16 replies
  • REPORT: Brisbane

“Max Gawn has been the heart and soul of the Dees for years now, but this recent recovery from a terrible start has been driven by him. He was everywhere again, and with the game in the balance, he took several key marks to keep the ball in the Dees forward half.” - The Monday Knee Jerk Reaction: Round Ten Of course, it wasn’t the efforts of one man that caused this monumental upset, but rather the work of the coach and his assistants and the other 22 players who took the ground, notably the likes of Jake Melksham, Christian Petracca, Clayton Oliver and Kozzie Pickett but Max has been magnificent in taking ownership of his team and its welfare under the fire of a calamitous 0-5 start to the season. On Sunday, he provided the leadership that was needed to face up to the reigning premier and top of the ladder Brisbane Lions on their home turf and to prevail after a slow start, during which the hosts led by as much as 24 points in the second quarter. Titus O’Reily is normally comedic in his descriptions of the football but this time, he was being deadly serious. The Demons have come from a long way back and, although they still sit in the bottom third of the AFL pack, there’s a light at the end of the tunnel as they look to drive home the momentum inspired in the past four or five weeks by Max the Magnificent who was under such great pressure in those dark, early days of the season.

• 0 replies
  • CASEY: Southport

The Southport Sharks came to Casey. They saw and they conquered a team with 16 AFL-listed players who, for the most part, wasted their time on the ground and failed to earn their keep. For the first half, the Sharks were kept in the game by the Demons’ poor use of the football, it’s disposal getting worse the closer the team got to its own goal and moreover, it got worse as the game progressed. Make no mistake, Casey was far and away the better team in the first half, it was winning the ruck duels through Tom Campbell’s solid performance but it was the scoreboard that told the story.

• 3 replies