Checker Mate 160 Posted January 23 Posted January 23 12 hours ago, The Jackson FIX said: Who’s on first?! Not "Craw" - Craw !!! 3 Quote
Bring-Back-Powell 15,552 Posted January 23 Posted January 23 Hopefully Aidan Johnson can be around the Hayden McLean mark, from Sydney. A very serviceable forward that helps out in the ruck, solid contested mark inside 50 and kicks 20-25 goals a year. Might be too much of a stretch to expect that from Johnson, but that could be his ceiling and we’d certainly benefit from it. 6 Quote
58er 6,872 Posted January 23 Posted January 23 16 hours ago, picket fence said: Johnson is already overated by many on this site! In the 4 or 5 training sessions i saw before Christmas I saw none of the hype generated here! He will be handy on occasions and in fact Campbell is more likely!! Jeffo was recruited as a KEY forward! Happy to revisit this at end of the year but Jeffo is a more natural and smart forward which will see him do well when he debuts Agree about Jeffo but he may get his chance having to replace AJ or another forward. Wont be JVR or only Turner if injured or even perhaps Fritta. But definitely agree re Jeffo as having very good forwards skills along with Disco learning or having some already. 1 Quote
Dee*ceiving 1,738 Posted January 23 Posted January 23 15 hours ago, Ollie fan said: Oh, I would love that! The unfortunately- nicknamed Pedo was a terrific player, I think, for his commitment and versatility and capacity to take an important mark at the right time. Big fan of Cam's. Also very courageous despite being undersized to play ruck/key position and kicked the footy a country mile. 9 Quote
BC_1718_DC 1,776 Posted January 23 Posted January 23 1 hour ago, Bring-Back-Powell said: Hopefully Aidan Johnson can be around the Hayden McLean mark, from Sydney. A very serviceable forward that helps out in the ruck, solid contested mark inside 50 and kicks 20-25 goals a year. Might be too much of a stretch to expect that from Johnson, but that could be his ceiling and we’d certainly benefit from it. If his ceiling is Hayden McLean any hope I had for him is doused instantaneously 😂 1 Quote
hardtack 11,106 Posted January 23 Posted January 23 On 22/01/2025 at 13:00, adonski said: if Jeffo kicks 10 during a Casey match sim but no one is there to see it, did it really happen? Every now and zen. 1 2 Quote
hardtack 11,106 Posted January 23 Posted January 23 On 22/01/2025 at 15:13, Demonstone said: Slick Our saving grace. 1 Quote
layzie 34,528 Posted January 23 Posted January 23 At least we now have someone on Jeffo watch.. 1 Quote
Tracca 862 Posted January 23 Posted January 23 Hopefully Jeffo can get more than 3 touches a game like hes done for the past 3 seasons, that would be a good starting point. 2 1 1 1 3 Quote
Demonised 1,378 Posted January 23 Posted January 23 49 minutes ago, Tracca said: Hopefully Jeffo can get more than 3 touches a game like hes done for the past 3 seasons, that would be a good starting point. If he gets 3 touches for 3 goals every week, I'll put up with that. 5 Quote
old dee 24,083 Posted January 23 Posted January 23 20 hours ago, picket fence said: Johnson is already overated by many on this site! In the 4 or 5 training sessions i saw before Christmas I saw none of the hype generated here! He will be handy on occasions and in fact Campbell is more likely!! Jeffo was recruited as a KEY forward! Happy to revisit this at end of the year but Jeffo is a more natural and smart forward which will see him do well when he debuts I find it hard to see him getting regular games unless we have injuries. How many large forwards can we fit in? We need a second ruck so Vander can play forward full time. I doubt that is Jefferson. Perhaps Vander continues as second ruck and Jefferson plays KPF role. 1 Quote
58er 6,872 Posted January 23 Posted January 23 7 hours ago, Tracca said: Hopefully Jeffo can get more than 3 touches a game like hes done for the past 3 seasons, that would be a good starting point. You must have missed last half of 2024. If you are going to comment please br accurate. Goody would not have made Jeffo an emergency 3 weeks in a row at the end of the season without the actual improvement he has actually made. Many in the Club are looking forward to him continuing on with his impressive development It is disappointing to read of criticism that is inaccurate. Credit where credit is due please. 1 1 2 2 Quote
58er 6,872 Posted January 23 Posted January 23 Just now, 58er said: You must have missed last half of 2024. If you are going to comment please br accurate. Goody would not have made Jeffo an emergency 3 weeks in a row at the end of the season without the actual improvement he has actually made. Many in the Club are looking forward to him continuing on with his impressive development It is disappointing to read of criticism that is inaccurate. Credit where credit is due please. I am also of the opinion that he has only been at the club for TWO years previous not THREE. 2 2 Quote
Roost it far 10,138 Posted January 23 Posted January 23 I’m guessing Hunch and Johnson will be competing for the 3rd tall spot. Can Hunch cover in the ruck? 1 Quote
BangBnagBang 773 Posted January 24 Posted January 24 On 22/01/2025 at 18:21, 58er said: Agree Johnson will not be a huge possession earner but his touches marks and handballs will be very good for the team and his other forwards. He will also take the premier opposition defender most likely that means JVR is not quite under as much pressure with Turner ( or Jeffo) the third banana. Happy days for Fritta and the others will also be able to be much more positive as forwards. No one is sending their No1 key back to AJ over JVR 7 Quote
DistrACTION Jackson 10,736 Posted January 24 Posted January 24 4 hours ago, Roost it far said: I’m guessing Hunch and Johnson will be competing for the 3rd tall spot. Can Hunch cover in the ruck? Doubt it.... I actually think there's two options for round 1 1. JVR, Turner and Johnson as R/F 2. Jeffo, Turner and JVR as R/F There is a third option where Petty is in, but I prefer him back. 5 Quote
SAlves 51 Posted January 24 Posted January 24 I'd like to see Jefferson start at full forward with JVR at centre half forward. The forward line to look like: Langford Van Rooyen Chandler Fritsch Jefferson Pickett Other Forward Options: Turner, Johnson, Fullarton, Kentfield (talls); Melksham, Sparrow, Tholstrup, McAdam (mid-size); Sharp, Brown, Moniz-Wakefield (smalls) - Petracca on/ball & forward - Petty & McDonald could also play forward as required. 3 1 Quote
roy11 4,076 Posted January 24 Posted January 24 How many games are we expecting Melk to play this year? 1 Quote
waynewussell 6,976 Posted January 24 Posted January 24 46 minutes ago, roy11 said: How many games are we expecting Melk to play this year? Im expecting 18+ if he is injury free! 3 Quote
daisycutter 30,021 Posted January 24 Posted January 24 i'm still a wait and see on jeffo. need more convincing. 1 1 Quote
picket fence 18,187 Posted January 24 Posted January 24 2 hours ago, SAlves said: I'd like to see Jefferson start at full forward with JVR at centre half forward. The forward line to look like: Langford Van Rooyen Chandler Fritsch Jefferson Pickett Other Forward Options: Turner, Johnson, Fullarton, Kentfield (talls); Melksham, Sparrow, Tholstrup, McAdam (mid-size); Sharp, Brown, Moniz-Wakefield (smalls) - Petracca on/ball & forward - Petty & McDonald could also play forward as required. Lurve this thinking! Except Petty Back exclusively! 3 Quote
Dingo 1,183 Posted January 24 Posted January 24 2 hours ago, waynewussell said: Im expecting 18+ if he is injury free! Good on you. I’m a big fan of Jake too. 2 Quote
picket fence 18,187 Posted January 24 Posted January 24 Um this is a JEFFO Watch thread Exclusively! 1 4 Quote
adonski 13,271 Posted January 24 Posted January 24 2 hours ago, Dingo said: Good on you. I’m a big fan of Jake too. Melky will play heaps as he's the prototypical impact player you like as sub 3 Quote
M_9 2,216 Posted January 24 Posted January 24 5 hours ago, daisycutter said: i'm still a wait and see on jeffo. need more convincing. You'd think he'd be given substantial game time against North and Free. 2 Quote