Guest Posted August 10, 2022 Posted August 10, 2022 3 hours ago, Kozzie4PM said: As repeated over and over, Melbourne has high fan to attendance and fan to membership ratios. We are not, and never have been, a fair weather supporter group. What you in fact asking for, is for us to be more fair weather - higher attendances in a post-flag year where we are in premiership contention again. And you can bet your bottom dollar we'd be accused of being fair weather had our attendances skyrocketed this year. Not sure of your logic here. 🤔 Quote
Spargonicus 539 Posted August 10, 2022 Posted August 10, 2022 7 minutes ago, DeeZone said: MFC have just put out a response to members concerns about oppo supporters sitting in our dedicated seating area’s. It is requesting members not to transfer seats to non MFC patrons but I haven’t witnessed any non MFC patrons being challenged by MCC staff.!! Quite a few Pies supporters in our area (N49) last game - annoyed the hell out of me (mainly because we lost). Personally I don’t have a huge problem with letting others use your tix…but curious to hear others’ thoughts… 1 Quote
Guest Posted August 10, 2022 Posted August 10, 2022 (edited) On 8/9/2022 at 12:30 PM, fr_ap said: The other key driver of noise & passion is demographic. I've covered this before but put simply - footy means more to those with less. It's a weekly highlight (for many, the key highlight) & an escape from the daily pressures. You can see this at Pies games, Blues games & Tigers games - there are swathes of grown men who rock up in pilly trackies, a 1999 bomber jacket & are incredibly vocal. You get the impression the footy is their key weekly outing. It's a cliche but our more affluent supporter base results in less passion - put simply, they've got a lot of other things to do. We on this forum aren't the problem & by definition have some fanaticism. Edited August 10, 2022 by WalkingCivilWar Decided against responding to this. Quote
layzie 34,528 Posted August 10, 2022 Posted August 10, 2022 4 hours ago, WalkingCivilWar said: Get on board. Quote
Guest Posted August 10, 2022 Posted August 10, 2022 7 hours ago, layzie said: Get on board. Already on board. Have been on board all along. Staying on board. Not planning on getting off board anytime soon. Whatever that means. 🙃 ❤️💙❤️💙❤️💙❤️💙 Quote
old dee 24,083 Posted August 10, 2022 Posted August 10, 2022 13 hours ago, Spargonicus said: Quite a few Pies supporters in our area (N49) last game - annoyed the hell out of me (mainly because we lost). Personally I don’t have a huge problem with letting others use your tix…but curious to hear others’ thoughts… Probably bought memberships because the think they have a better chance of a GF ticket. Quote
layzie 34,528 Posted August 11, 2022 Posted August 11, 2022 21 hours ago, Spargonicus said: Quite a few Pies supporters in our area (N49) last game - annoyed the hell out of me (mainly because we lost). Personally I don’t have a huge problem with letting others use your tix…but curious to hear others’ thoughts… Yeah it was like that in the Warne stand too. To the point where some obnoxious Pies fans were making a scene in the Hassett bar. Plenty of complaints were made that night hence the email.I don't have a major issue with it either but if it gets overdone then you lose a bit of the premium gloss I guess. Quote
He de mon 942 Posted August 11, 2022 Posted August 11, 2022 23 hours ago, Spargonicus said: Quite a few Pies supporters in our area (N49) last game - annoyed the hell out of me (mainly because we lost). Personally I don’t have a huge problem with letting others use your tix…but curious to hear others’ thoughts… I don't mind, as long as we are winning. I had a really annoying one sitting right behind me, but I wasn't compelled to complain to the club. 1 Quote
layzie 34,528 Posted August 11, 2022 Posted August 11, 2022 3 hours ago, He de mon said: I don't mind, as long as we are winning. I had a really annoying one sitting right behind me, but I wasn't compelled to complain to the club. The last thing I want to do during a game is complain but many must have. 2 Quote
Deenooos_ 647 Posted August 13, 2022 Posted August 13, 2022 Unfortunately not being able to attend last nights game I can't fully judge how the turnout for our supporters was. On TV it seemed that we actually outnumbered the Carlton supporters or maybe broke-even at the very least. Can anyone who went confirm this? It seemed like a good crowd from our bunch! Quote
Wodjathefirst 2,671 Posted August 14, 2022 Posted August 14, 2022 I can certainly can stand being corrected here. I think the crowd was about even but unfortunately they were a bit louder than us Quote
praha 11,267 Posted August 14, 2022 Posted August 14, 2022 I was in AFL members so always hard to tell but my mum who was in MCC said it was probably 50:50. But the final seconds and final quarter you'd think the entire crowd was Melbourne. I think much of the problem is that we're not a very loud supporter base. We were there last night and last week. We're just not big on big cheering. Finals should be different though. 2 1 Quote
whatwhat say what 23,863 Posted August 14, 2022 Posted August 14, 2022 (edited) i'd say 55:45 our way last night VERY loud crowd Edited August 14, 2022 by whatwhat say what 1 1 Quote
Deenooos_ 647 Posted August 14, 2022 Posted August 14, 2022 I did seem to pick up that the cheers were a bit louder for the blues fans, especially after a goal the "yeahhhh" is really pronounced. They have one of the loudest crowds though. But proud that we didn't get outnumbered, big tick. Quote
old dee 24,083 Posted August 14, 2022 Posted August 14, 2022 13 minutes ago, whatwhat say what said: i'd say 55:45 our way last night VERY loud crowd Sounds like a good result. Thanks Quote
Dr. Gonzo 24,468 Posted August 21, 2022 Posted August 21, 2022 2 weeks to sort yourselves out - no excuses for this one, let's see us pack the G in red and blue and drown out the Sydney blow-ins. We completely outnumbered Geelong and Hawthorn in 2018 I want another see of red and blue and to hear "Mellll-bourne" reverberating around the stadium. 7 2 Quote
Jaded No More 68,976 Posted August 21, 2022 Posted August 21, 2022 Just now, Dr. Gonzo said: 2 weeks to sort yourselves out - no excuses for this one, let's see us pack the G in red and blue and drown out the Sydney blow-ins. We completely outnumbered Geelong and Hawthorn in 2018 I want another see of red and blue and to hear "Mellll-bourne" reverberating around the stadium. Amen. No excuses. Let’s go! 1 1 Quote
Kick_It_To_Pickett 3,293 Posted August 21, 2022 Posted August 21, 2022 We will get 70k I reckon Quote
rpfc 29,030 Posted August 21, 2022 Posted August 21, 2022 I won’t be able to make it, coming back from holiday that arvo up here in Canberra. So you better have good excuses to sit on your [censored] and not get to the G. 1 1 Quote
Wodjathefirst 2,671 Posted August 21, 2022 Posted August 21, 2022 10 minutes ago, Kick_It_To_Pickett said: We will get 70k I reckon Yeah I’d be happy with that. The left over seats I guess will be taken up by the swan supporters 1 Quote
Monocology 1,109 Posted August 21, 2022 Posted August 21, 2022 7 minutes ago, rpfc said: I won’t be able to make it, coming back from holiday that arvo up here in Canberra. So you better have good excuses to sit on your [censored] and not get to the G. .....Canberra a good excuse!? Look out your knee blankets peeps - it's Dee-train time. Quote
Nascent 9,345 Posted August 21, 2022 Posted August 21, 2022 15 minutes ago, rpfc said: I won’t be able to make it, coming back from holiday that arvo up here in Canberra. So you better have good excuses to sit on your [censored] and not get to the G. I'm working, would much rather a holiday. At this stage I will only be able to make a semi-final or grandfinal, not that I'll be able to get seat for the granny anyway. Quote
rpfc 29,030 Posted August 21, 2022 Posted August 21, 2022 4 minutes ago, Monocology said: .....Canberra a good excuse!? Look out your knee blankets peeps - it's Dee-train time. Of course not, coming back into Canberra airport at 3pm with a toddler and a pregnant wife is. And yes, get whatever paraphernalia that gets you off your couch and to the game. Lucky bastards. 1 Quote