Lucifers Hero 40,715 Posted April 17, 2022 Posted April 17, 2022 (edited) Shocking end of game play by Armon. Took the mark with 1.04 on the clock. Kicked the ball at .42 seconds. Chewed up all that time spinning the ball thinking about what to do, didn't appear to be looking to pass. Looked like he was caught between wanting to be the hero kicking the miracle goal and scared to muck it up. Took the hero option and mucked it up. He knew he couldn't make the distance so should have looked for a pass to someone closer or quickly drop it at the 20-30 mt mark from goal, to have a chance of a win. A kick to the top of the square was bound to be a point, Carlton kick in, game over. And that is what happened. A shorter kick may not have got them a goal and the win but it would give them a chance. Edited April 17, 2022 by Lucifers Hero 7 Quote
Lucifers Hero 40,715 Posted April 17, 2022 Posted April 17, 2022 Carlton have no idea how to stop ops momentum. The 8 goal turnaround cost them 25+% points which will be critical when its time to separate the pack in the 8. We know only too well momentum is really hard to stop and suffered for it through 2018-20. When they learn to do that they could become become a good side. Quote
Demon Disciple 12,531 Posted April 17, 2022 Posted April 17, 2022 Such a shame the power were unable to do a 2008 Melbourne and come back from 50 points down. Blues look good when they’re up and about, but lose the plot at the first sign of resistance. 2 Quote
Mazer Rackham 14,971 Posted April 17, 2022 Posted April 17, 2022 Blues are like MFC 2018. High scores, plenty of firepower, not much defence, will have some slashing wins and some surprising losses, will make finals riding on emotion and get found out at the pointy end of the season. 2 Quote
titan_uranus 25,252 Posted April 17, 2022 Posted April 17, 2022 Third game out of five where Carlton have come out of the blocks looking a million bucks and then ground to a halt. Round 2 vs the Dogs they kicked 12.4 in the first half but then only 4.2 in the second, having a 38 point lead whittled down to 12. Round 3 vs Hawthorn they kicked 9 of the first 11 goals but then only 2 more, going from 42 points up to behind in the last quarter. Then today they were 50 points up just before half time and at one stage had just a 1 point lead. They've won 9 quarters for the year (out of 20), but 7 of those have been in the first half (i.e. 7 out of 10). 1 3 Quote
Demonstone 23,553 Posted April 17, 2022 Posted April 17, 2022 33 minutes ago, Lucifers Hero said: Chewed up all that time spinning the ball Does anybody know the purpose of all this ball-spinning we're seeing these days from many players? Quote
dl4e 5,851 Posted April 17, 2022 Posted April 17, 2022 4 minutes ago, Demonstone said: Does anybody know the purpose of all this ball-spinning we're seeing these days from many players? Sorry but too personal to discuss. 1 4 Quote
Mazer Rackham 14,971 Posted April 17, 2022 Posted April 17, 2022 9 minutes ago, Demonstone said: Does anybody know the purpose of all this ball-spinning we're seeing these days from many players? Peter McKenna regarded it as a sure sign that the player was about to kick a behind. 3 2 Quote
Mazer Rackham 14,971 Posted April 17, 2022 Posted April 17, 2022 Scintillating football. I guess what you'd expect from 13th v 14th. No, wait! One of these teams is alleged to be in the 8! Anyone know which one? Quote
Maldonboy38 6,435 Posted April 17, 2022 Posted April 17, 2022 Finally able to sit down to watch some footy today. My goodness I despise Essendon. I reckon I barrack harder against them than any other team. I simply hope they fail. And that spud ruckman of theirs; if Cody Weightman is the most punchable head in footy, this bloke is a close second. Whinging moaning, dill. 4 Quote
Mazer Rackham 14,971 Posted April 17, 2022 Posted April 17, 2022 Draper's a poor man's Gawn but he's got something and it's a shame it's for the Dons. Quote
MT64 1,148 Posted April 17, 2022 Posted April 17, 2022 44 minutes ago, Maldonboy38 said: Finally able to sit down to watch some footy today. My goodness I despise Essendon. I reckon I barrack harder against them than any other team. I simply hope they fail. And that spud ruckman of theirs; if Cody Weightman is the most punchable head in footy, this bloke is a close second. Whinging moaning, dill. No 50mt penalties against him - YET. Quote
Graeme Yeats' Mullet 6,791 Posted April 17, 2022 Posted April 17, 2022 Awful umpiring in Ess Freo game At least they're consistently awful 😖 1 Quote
Dee Zephyr 19,311 Posted April 17, 2022 Posted April 17, 2022 The abuse rule is awesome, when it happens against Essendon. 5 Quote
Wadda We Sing 10,685 Posted April 17, 2022 Posted April 17, 2022 51 minutes ago, Maldonboy38 said: Finally able to sit down to watch some footy today. My goodness I despise Essendon. I reckon I barrack harder against them than any other team. I simply hope they fail. And that spud ruckman of theirs; if Cody Weightman is the most punchable head in footy, this bloke is a close second. Whinging moaning, dill. Its called a Droog... Quote
Rab D Nesbitt 8,951 Posted April 17, 2022 Posted April 17, 2022 Judging by the crowd at Docklands tonight you'd have more chance of catching rabies than covid. 1 1 5 Quote
Diamond_Jim 12,772 Posted April 17, 2022 Posted April 17, 2022 Must be a strong wind at Docklands. Bombers scoreless so far this quarter 1 Quote
dee-tox 4,835 Posted April 17, 2022 Posted April 17, 2022 Shame that most weekends now the umpiring is the main topic of conversation. It really is that bad. 3 Quote
Rab D Nesbitt 8,951 Posted April 17, 2022 Posted April 17, 2022 Mick Malthouse has just predicted Canada will win the 2022 FIFA World Cup. 4 5 Quote
Demon Disciple 12,531 Posted April 17, 2022 Posted April 17, 2022 The only thing better than watching the Scum getting spanked on tv, is listening to the Ox commentating for 6PR. He’s loving it 😁 2 Quote
Guest Posted April 17, 2022 Posted April 17, 2022 Geez Essendon fans are feral. And I know this for sure coz I just spotted a couple of people in the crowd that I’ve seen around my suburb. My most recent sighting was the old push-bike ride with one hand on the handlebar and a slab under the other arm. (Coz no licence coz drink driving probs.) And fish n chips package occy-strapped to the parcel rack. And with a cigarette hanging outta the beak. And it was the woman! No [censored]. True story. Quote
Cards13 9,117 Posted April 17, 2022 Posted April 17, 2022 2 minutes ago, WalkingCivilWar said: Geez Essendon fans are feral. And I know this for sure coz I just spotted a couple of people in the crowd that I’ve seen around my suburb. My most recent sighting was the old push-bike ride with one hand on the handlebar and a slab under the other arm. (Coz no licence coz drink driving probs.) And fish n chips package occy-strapped to the parcel rack. And with a cigarette hanging outta the beak. And it was the woman! No [censored]. True story. Is she single?!?! * *Asking for a bogun, feral Bombers “mate”. 1 3 Quote
DubDee 26,670 Posted April 17, 2022 Posted April 17, 2022 The bombers season is over in round 5. how good is life?! Freo look solid, arguably the best defence after us - only team to have conceded less than us. When Fyfe comes back, they'll be top 8 Quote
Return to Glory 8,518 Posted April 17, 2022 Posted April 17, 2022 1 minute ago, Cards13 said: Is she single?!?! * *Asking for a bogun, feral Bombers “mate”. And ready to mingle Cards Quote