Posted
7 hours ago, Bigdeeal said:

How did you do it? I'm currently battling Ticketek, but without much success. (I live in Adelaide, lucky me!) It doesn't seem to want to let me book tickets, even though I'm putting in the right barcode numbers. Are we supposed to select General Admission, which seems to be restricted to just a couple of small bays? Or do we select the other option, Home/Club 1 members? I would have thought that since this is not a Crows/Port match, the usual "keep the other bastards out" rules wouldn't apply. Anyone been through the exercise successfully? 

I selected C1 members.

Posted
1 hour ago, dazzledavey36 said:

Tough on guys and their families with young kids like Lever and TMac (and Viney?)

I don't get why they are so infatuated with WA. Play it in SA, capacity is only a few thousand less (hopefully full capacity by GF), restrictions on players aren't as severe and time difference to east coast is only half an hour instead of 2 hours

[censored] WA

Posted
8 hours ago, Dr. Gonzo said:

Tough on guys and their families with young kids like Lever and TMac (and Viney?)

I don't get why they are so infatuated with WA. Play it in SA, capacity is only a few thousand less (hopefully full capacity by GF), restrictions on players aren't as severe and time difference to east coast is only half an hour instead of 2 hours

[censored] WA

If you had to take a gamble on which state was least likely to have a lockdown in the next 4 weeks, I guess you’d go with WA?

Posted

Hi Dlanders

Does anyone know if we win where we will play the prelim.

If port win we dont want to be playing in adelaide.

Finishing first....is it our call?

Posted

Not sure if cats will get up against port.

Its a tough crowd.

With selwood, danger and hawkins still good players they are all over 31 this could be the end of an era.

Posted
44 minutes ago, Kozzie4PM said:

I'm glad a couple of thousand SA dees fans get to go. It's better than literally no-one at the G.

Dont forget the woo hoo man.

Posted
12 hours ago, dazzledavey36 said:

If this were to happen, then the AFL should drop the idea of holding the bye altogether. To have non WA teams sit in isolation for 14 days without their families waiting for a game of football is just cruel. Another example of the AFL looking after themselves at the expense of the clubs that actually deliver their product.

Posted
18 minutes ago, In Harmes Way said:

If this were to happen, then the AFL should drop the idea of holding the bye altogether. To have non WA teams sit in isolation for 14 days without their families waiting for a game of football is just cruel. Another example of the AFL looking after themselves at the expense of the clubs that actually deliver their product.

The original intention of the bye was to satisfy quarantine arrangements imposed by WA, surely if the teams go there Early that won’t be necessary.  The only wildcard is if port play a prelim at home.

Posted
1 hour ago, loges said:

SA Demons give them hell !!!

We are going to.

Posted
20 hours ago, Diamond_Jim said:

Will be interesting to see which game after Port v Geelong gets the best crowd.

Sydney v GWS may get as few as 5k unless they give out free tickets.

I think both games will sell out in Launceston.  Tasmanian supporters are starting to give the AFL the middle finger when rubbish roster matches are scheduled down here (see Saints vs Freo last weekend).  But having a finals match down here, especially with Franklin and Green involved, I think you'll see a pretty decent turnout.

Posted
20 minutes ago, Rossmillan said:

The original intention of the bye was to satisfy quarantine arrangements imposed by WA, surely if the teams go there Early that won’t be necessary.  The only wildcard is if port play a prelim at home.

I get the impression that the AFL want to complete the season ASAP and, as such there'll be no bye. 

I reckon all 5 remaining matches (after this weekend) will be played at Optus.

Same quarantine conditions for all teams. 

Neutral ground for all teams is a bonus.

Posted
1 hour ago, In Harmes Way said:

Agree. Keep it in Adelaide. If WA wants it, stop being such w——kers about it. [censored] em. 

Posted
50 minutes ago, BigFez said:

I think both games will sell out in Launceston.  Tasmanian supporters are starting to give the AFL the middle finger when rubbish roster matches are scheduled down here (see Saints vs Freo last weekend).  But having a finals match down here, especially with Franklin and Green involved, I think you'll see a pretty decent turnout.

I thought I heard that both games sold out in minutes... but I have also heard that Tassie is one of the only states with no Anti-scalping legislation in place, and that scalpers may have bought up pretty quickly too :/

The Swans have a healthy following in Tassie, I think more from those who were South Melb supporters of old....

Posted
On 8/22/2021 at 9:43 AM, spirit of norm smith said:

Watched the full game of Lions v Eagles yesterday. Must have known that it’d be Dees v Lions. 

Lions have scoring power in Daniher (45 goals) Cameron (47) McCarthy (34) Mcstay (28) and Bailey (28). Cockatoo and Coleman looked dangerous yesterday. 
Highest scoring team v our best defence.
Huge game v May Lever Smith Salem Smith Bowey Rivers. (likely to miss Hunt again)  

Tough contested midfield a lot like ours.
Oliver Trac Viney Harmes Brayshaw Langdon. 
Zorko Neale Lyons Mccluggage Robinson Berry.  
No backwards steps from either team here. Monster midfield battle. 

One KEY ISSUE - red alert DANIEL RICH  yesterday had 29 disposals 24 kicks  874 metes gained  “Great”. He was so damaging.  Need to somehow negate him through a Neal-Bullen or Melksham style accountable half forward.  It could be the difference. Rich is their quarterback alongside Birchall. They get into their hand for kicks inside 50 or disposal in kick outs. Rich can break the zone with 60+ metre kicks. 

Gawn v Mcinerney    Master v Apprentice   It’s a big battle and Maxy showed how important he is. This could be where we win the game.   
Jackson  v Fullerton . The young supporting rucks  very similar athletes. Love to see LJ bring his 2nd effort footy back in the finals  

Our enigmatic forwards v a disciplined lions defence.  Kozzzzzy is the wildcard here and our best shot at breaking them. He was the difference earlier in the year.  Adams Ahchee Andrews Lester Birchall Starcevich.   Brown Tmcd Fritsch Spargo Kozzy.   It’s well matched. 

It’s going to be a huge test ahead. Each week we get closer. Bring it on. #DeesBelief2021

Quick discussion.  

How do we stop Daniel Rich effectiveness on the contest. 

I assume we will have Neal-Bullen be accountable and use his elite running to get up and back.  
Lions may try to use Ah Chee on Neal-Bullen to negate his aerobic ability and they will try to keep Rich free of an opponent.  

Interested in how this game of footy-chess plays out!!

Posted
1 hour ago, M_9 said:

I get the impression that the AFL want to complete the season ASAP and, as such there'll be no bye. 

I reckon all 5 remaining matches (after this weekend) will be played at Optus.

Same quarantine conditions for all teams. 

Neutral ground for all teams is a bonus.

?? If port wins, they will DEMAND a home preliminary final 

Posted
1 minute ago, spirit of norm smith said:

?? If port wins, they will DEMAND a home preliminary final 

They can GAGF. If we can’t have a home ground then everyone should be on neutral ground. 

Posted

Can we just get rid of the bye given that Melbourne is no hope of hosting the GF?

Also, Max's wife is due to give birth in September. I wonder if he'd pull the pin on the finals series to be there with his wife, given that it would be near impossible to fly in/fly out at the drop of a hat?

Posted (edited)
2 hours ago, Bring-Back-Powell said:

Can we just get rid of the bye given that Melbourne is no hope of hosting the GF?

Also, Max's wife is due to give birth in September. I wonder if he'd pull the pin on the finals series to be there with his wife, given that it would be near impossible to fly in/fly out at the drop of a hat?

Regarding Max's wife giving birth, I am pretty sure he's mentioned that she is due in early November. During the Spring Racing carnival time. 

Edited by DemonWorshipper
Posted
32 minutes ago, DemonWorshipper said:

Regarding Max's wife giving birth, I am pretty sure he's mentioned that the she is due in early November. During the Spring Racing carnival time. 

This is correct

Posted

Pretty sure it was mentioned on 360, to get out of their slump Brisbane actually set a couple of their players to rough up the opposition. Hope we are ready.

Posted
2 hours ago, Ouch! said:

I thought I heard that both games sold out in minutes... but I have also heard that Tassie is one of the only states with no Anti-scalping legislation in place, and that scalpers may have bought up pretty quickly too :/

The Swans have a healthy following in Tassie, I think more from those who were South Melb supporters of old....

Wouldn't surprise me to see a few expensive tickets floating around towards the end of the week, but when the bombers played the hawks in Launnie earlier in the year that also sold out virtually immediately and I didn't hear too much chatter about scalpers.  We genuinely love our footy down here, and whenever there's a decent game it'll pack out.   I just wish they'd lift the cap.  10,000 isn't enough.