Posted

“He has that awareness that we’ve seen over the years from the (Scott) Pendlebury-types,” Richardson said. 

“He never wastes the footy, he doesn’t look brilliant with ball in hand technically, but it always works.

“If I can give you a quick story that perhaps summarises what he’s like.

“When (Max) Gawn went out of the team towards the back end of last year, ‘Jacko’ came in as the main ruck, did his hammy early in the game … it ended up being a pretty significant injury.

“He played the whole game out and was just outstanding. In fact, he got the Rising Star nomination on the back of it. So that’s what he’s like.

“He’s an ultimate team player. He’ll never get really big numbers because as opposed to pealing off to receive, he’s more likely to go and block or do something that would be for the benefit of others.

“He’s a special player. He loves the contest, he’s clean in contest and he executes in contest. 

“We like the way he’s tracking.”

Luke Jackson is starting to look like the football unicorn.

That moment late in the game where we had two ruckmen combining for a running play on the wing/half-forward flank (Demonland's current highlight video) gave me a good laugh but it was also the moment I finally digested the idea that we are legitimate premiership contenders.

When people talk about great teams they always talk on the two levels - on the one hand praising the completeness and work ethic and depth, on the other hand describing things about that team which were genuinely outstanding and unmatchable.

Richo describes Jackson in both those ways and right now it also applies to the club as a whole.

7 minutes ago, Luther said:

Dogga is something special.

Inspired selection at number 3 I think we'd have taken at 2 over Noah Anderson. I remember at the time when we lost pick 2 wondering why we rolled over, it's obviously because we were always going to pick Luke at 2 - brilliant.

Scott's the sort of guy that will make sure that Jackson is "watched"

This guy could be anything but I won’t be happy until we extend his contract. I think he is only signed till end of next season? 

26 minutes ago, Earl Hood said:

This guy could be anything but I won’t be happy until we extend his contract. I think he is only signed till end of next season? 

Good young players don't leave clubs playing in GF's Earl. 

13 minutes ago, Dr. Gonzo said:

He reminds me a bit of a young Schwarz minus the leap.

Which is saying something because Jacko has a handy vertical, but pre ACL Schwarz was special.

I think back to the Hell and Back doco last year where they discussed the draft, when they were talking about Dogga they acknowledge that he’s be a pick that might raise some eyebrows but they also saw what he could be. An upside that is unlike any player I think we’ve seen come through this club. 

It was an inspired pick, and LJ has rewarded that faith in spades so far. 

40 minutes ago, Dr. Gonzo said:

Hands are not as good yet.

You are right old Dee but he has a number of other traits that more than make up for it, he is also 4cm taller, has a good engine and still only 19. LJ is going to be something special.

I can still remember the commentary on here in October/November 2019. NOBODY wanted to draft this guy. I struggle to remember even one poster who did. It seemed like a ridiculous call to take him. We had a prime Max Gawn who'd just got his third AA guernsey, Preuss was only one year into a lucrative four year deal, and this Jackson kid would take five years to come good if he was going to come good at all. Then we had the potential go home factor as the cherry on top.

Fast forward not even two years and he's already a crucial part of our premiership tilt. I'm sure not even JT could have predicted he'd be this good, but he deserves enormous credit for making such a ballsy call. He was right and we were all wrong, again.

1 hour ago, Dr. Gonzo said:

That's  a really good comparison. Both super athletic, super competitors, love to be where the football, crazy good lateral movement for talls and big x factor.

Interestingly Schwarter was also gun junior basketballer. 

By leap do you mean LJ doesn't have Schwarter's leap or vice versa? 

4 minutes ago, No Plan B said:

I can still remember the commentary on here in October/November 2019. NOBODY wanted to draft this guy. I struggle to remember even one poster who did. It seemed like a ridiculous call to take him. We had a prime Max Gawn who'd just got his third AA guernsey, Preuss was only one year into a lucrative four year deal, and this Jackson kid would take five years to come good if he was going to come good at all. Then we had the potential go home factor as the cherry on top.

Fast forward not even two years and he's already a crucial part of our premiership tilt. I'm sure not even JT could have predicted he'd be this good, but he deserves enormous credit for making such a ballsy call. He was right and we were all wrong, again.

That's blatantly not true at all. 

Not often (if ever) my mates compliment a demons player but during the last game I got this from a mate

"That Jackson looks a [censored] pick up. not sure he is athletic enough for a big man"

*dripping with sarcasm

I think Dogga is a bit better when the ball hits the ground, but doesn't yet have the Ox's physicality circa 1994.

The bloke became a monster post his knee injuries, but he still had a fair bit of condition on in his breakout year. Not body fat, but muscle to smash through packs when needed. Alas, that's all he could do once he did his knees.

That being said, Dogga is 19, and has started to change his body shape considerably in just 12 months. Heaven help the opposition once he hits 24.

Don't be surprised if in later years that they put him on the wing at stages in games should his tank continue to develop. Putting him up forward is more a preservation technique now, but he can be used as a real attacking weapon that standard wingers won't be able to compete with in the air. 

Edited by Colin B. Flaubert

8 minutes ago, dazzledavey36 said:

That's blatantly not true at all. 

There may have been some exceptions but this board was definitely cold on Jackson. I remember that much. His pre draft highlights vid was pretty ordinary plus all the reasons I listed above. 

12 minutes ago, No Plan B said:

There was a few of us who were keen, especially those that went to the pre-draft meeting that the club ran. We got to see footage that wasn't readily available and that JT and his department had.

He looked sensational and it was obvious that he was going to be the goods but those there had to sign a confidentiality agreement so we couldn't disclose any of this. 

It was a certainty that we were going to take Kozzi as well.

1 minute ago, Dante said:

There was a few of us who were keen, especially those that went to the pre-draft meeting that the club ran. We got to see footage that wasn't readily available and that JT and his department had.

He looked sensational and it was obvious that he was going to be the goods but those there had to sign a confidentiality agreement so we couldn't disclose any of this. 

It was a certainty that we were going to take Kozzi as well.

I definitely remember there was a big shift after we actually selected him and his post draft highlights came out. But apologies for painting everyone on here with the same brush. I will unashamedly admit and I didn’t want him at all. 

1 hour ago, jumbo returns said:

Lock him in and lock in young Rivers too

Both are amazing

Personally I reckon Rivers is right up there with him, and after a few more seasons withMAY and Lever will be THE defender in the AFL. 

I personally wanted no one else