Skip to content
View in the app

A better way to browse. Learn more.

A full-screen app on your home screen with push notifications, badges and more.

To install this app on iOS and iPadOS
  1. Tap the Share icon in Safari
  2. Scroll the menu and tap Add to Home Screen.
  3. Tap Add in the top-right corner.
To install this app on Android
  1. Tap the 3-dot menu (⋮) in the top-right corner of the browser.
  2. Tap Add to Home screen or Install app.
  3. Confirm by tapping Install.

Tasmanian AFL Team

I lived in Tassie twice, and can tell you they love their footy. The north/south divide is very real, so I reckon they will need to play home games in both Hobart AND Launceston. Not sure how it would work but can't see a way around it.

The main arguments against have always been around business model/finance/sponsors etc... - can Tassie sustain the huge financial beast that is an AFL club? Hopefully they have worked that out.

As for the name, the Devils rings true, but there has always been conversation around giving due homage to their convict heritage.

12 hours ago, Nascent said:

Fantastic news, but for selfish reasons I hope they won't be nicknamed the Devils. 

Knowing the AFL, they'll probably call them the Jets or the Mets or the Dodgers. They might even call them the Yankees. Or the 49ers. Or the Jazz.

11 hours ago, Rod Grinter Riot Squad said:

Nah, send North Melbourne down there, rename them South of Melbourne, should satisfy the Launceston and Hobart divide

North Antarctica. Keeps the heritage and suits the climate.

1 hour ago, Mazer Rackham said:

Knowing the AFL, they'll probably call them the Jets or the Mets or the Dodgers. They might even call them the Yankees. Or the 49ers. Or the Jazz.

Apple Isle Mariners. Has a nice ring to it :laugh:.

Or the Tasmania(n) Spirit. 🤮

Edited by Nascent

well at least we are at the right end of the ladder for the mass of early draft picks that will be heading across Bass Strait.

Can see a few clubs wary of losing marquee players anxious to top up their bank balances.

Would be interested to see what would have happened draft wise over the last five years had they been in existence and given preferential access to Tasmanian draftees.

Hopefully the Government gives them a "free clean"stadium like Geelong has or I can't see them ever breaking even.

The splitting of home games between Launceston and Hobart while understandable politically will never work longer term.

And of course which Melbourne teams will be sent South after the eight odd interstate teams are slotted to play down there

3 hours ago, Rodney (Balls) Grinter said:

I've got no problem with them being called the Devils.  I think it's by far the most natural and logical thing for them to be called and one that their population down there could all rally behind, which is important, because as a lover of the game more broadly, I think Aussie Rules needs Tassie to have a team and for it to succeed as a club.

If the league is big enough to have Crows, Magpies, Eagles and Hawks, Lions, Tigers, Cats and Dogs, then I think it would be fine to have Demons and Devils.

In fact I'd look forward to having an evil battle of the underworld against a potential Tassie team.

I think you're right and of course the branding would revolve around the animal and be distinctly different. Devils and Tigers makes most sense and it won't be Tigers. 

Wouldn't surprise to see a Cartoon Tasmanian Devil stylised with little devil horns though.

Perhaps they can get the license from looney tunes.

1483746916_images(8).jpeg.21f6eaa87936acfe9cb36e0f5120de8c.jpeg

Edited by Nascent
Doubled up words

1 hour ago, Maldonboy38 said:

As for the name, the Devils rings true, but there has always been conversation around giving due homage to their convict heritage.

We already have Collingwood, Port Adelaide and Freo

Edited by Jontee

Pretty sure “Devils” is licensed to another outfit - baseball

If/when it goes ahead, it’d have to be the Devils; which is fine by me as there is as much similarity between a Devil and a Demon as there is a Lion and a Tiger.  

Would be a huge investment on behalf of the AFL and the State Government and player retention could be a big issue.  Convincing Millennials and Gen Xers to move to a state with warm fires, beautiful wines and delicious cheeses is a far different prospect to retaining 23yo, cashed-up professional athletes.

Tassie Piners, Tassie Thylacines, Tassie Wombats, Tassie Penguins Tassie Devils

Still think relocating North Melb and calling them the Tassie Kangaroos is the best option

4 hours ago, Maldonboy38 said:

I lived in Tassie twice, and can tell you they love their footy. The north/south divide is very real, so I reckon they will need to play home games in both Hobart AND Launceston. Not sure how it would work but can't see a way around it.

Yep Tassie is definitely a state of 2 halves. Rivalry almost matches the dislike shared between the north and south islands of NZ. 

It can’t be the ‘Devils’. Apart from the fact the Devil is the head demon and can’t be pluralised, it’s too close and has too much in common with Demons. The Tasmanian Thylacine’s is growing on me. 

Edited by Ethan Tremblay

8 hours ago, Jibroni said:

We have too many teams already, relocate North or Gold Coast

Dont think you’d like the other part of what i was told in that case 😬

forget to also mention that the new team will enter the league in 2025 

3 hours ago, daisycutter said:

could be the tassie pademelons

If that’s pronounced ‘paddy-melons’ then yes, this. 

Given the date this was posted, I had just assumed this was just another of 'those' stories...

On 4/1/2022 at 11:25 PM, DemonOX said:

It’s not naïveté rpfc. What club are tassie invested in, is it the Hawks and NM u are referring to.?

If so I’m sure the Tasmanians would rather support their own team ( or have them as their second team)  than a couple of ring ins

I know it’s a different sport but the Jack Jumpers get good support locally. 

21 hours ago, Nasher said:

I support for Melbourne. Always have, always will.

Just about everyone I know is in the same basket for whatever filthy team they go for.

This is what I mean - they are already watching footy and a lot are investing financially to their team. They are not growing the game very much; not like the northern teams or the Women’s game.

13 hours ago, Stiff Arm said:

The Abel Tasmans

Hobart Hoes

Tassie Kissing Cousins

Tassie pinots (sponsor naming rights)

While Kissing Cousins is most appropriate with some banjo accompaniment for their theme song, Tassie Convicts with Chains as theme song runs it close!