Posted

I would have dropped him this week anyway. Wonder if we refered it to save the selection drama?

**and yes I'm joking, but not about dropping him.

Posted
42 minutes ago, Ethan Trembley said:

The GC player was pulling Viney in, the only way Viney could separate himself and gain some purchase was to instinctively put his arm down and accidentally push off the player on the grounds throat.  Additionally, from the angle I saw it from, it appeared Viney’s elbow was in contact with the other players shoulder, therefore most of the force and weight would have been on that part of the player and not his throat.  

Case closed, I call for one of those dismissal thingy’s your Honour.

The force on the shoulder makes the action completely different to say if Viney had the full force of his forearm on the players neck. That the other player was holding Viney's jumper says to me it's nothing more than two players wrestling off the ball.

Posted

I don’t think you can compare it to a swinging elbow.

Its a deliberate attempt of grinding the point of the elbow into someone’s head.

If someone did that to my sons head on the footy field I’d be ropeable.

Its just a matter of how many weeks.

Posted
6 minutes ago, Dr. Gonzo said:

This kind of stuff happens all the time. "Acceptable" as in we should encourage it? Or "acceptable" as in it deserves a fine at worst?

I'd hate to see the outrage if one of our players actually did something malicious on the field. Supporters hate the club being seen as pushovers/spineless then are ready to hang a player the minute he shows a bit of mongrel. Back your players in FFS, the overreaction on this thread is appalling from so called "supporters".

I’m glad that as a supporter base it appears the majority are fully against thuggish behaviour. It’s unnecessary from Jack who is a leader of our club, his tackle leading up to it is a great example of controlled aggression and the sort of thing that he’s admired for. 

I back our players in all the way, but I won’t back thuggery. 

Posted
2 minutes ago, WA Demon Boy said:

Happens all the time???

Where? Who? When?

This act is extremely malicious - he was intending to do harm 

This isn't 'mongrel' - it's dirty a act that is a bad look on him, the club and the game

I'm not 'backing' any player that would ever do this. It's weak. 

Any previous example of this should have been punished with a week or more. Just a shame the tribunal are so inconsistent. . 

I'm a proud supported but perhaps you should lift your standards, brother 

You've never seen a player get into a scuffle on the field and push their forearm/hand down onto someone's face? Come on, it might deserve a fine but people talking about multiple weeks and causing serious injury are kidding themselves

I don't see it as dirty, gouging someones eye like Selwood did a few weeks back is dirty. Hitting someone when they're not looking is dirty. Stomping someone is dirty. Pushing someones face after they've pulled you down so you can't get on with the game is flirting with the rules and probably deserves a fine but the carry on here is like a knitting circle working themselves up into hysteria. I noticed it when it happened and pretty sure the umpire didn't even deem it worthy of a free kick. If people didn't already have a bee in their bonnet about Viney I'm sure it'd be nothing to see here. If May did this I guarantee the reaction would be much different.

Posted
4 minutes ago, Pates said:

I’m glad that as a supporter base it appears the majority are fully against thuggish behaviour. It’s unnecessary from Jack who is a leader of our club, his tackle leading up to it is a great example of controlled aggression and the sort of thing that he’s admired for. 

I back our players in all the way, but I won’t back thuggery. 

"Thuggery" give me a spell

Perhaps go and watch the under 12s this week instead, this is the pro's

Posted

9 pages long and you would reckon one of our stars is in trouble. Have plenty of players to cover Viney and most will win their own ball just as well as Viney and then the best thing they will deliver it better than Viney. No issue if he is rubbed out.

Posted (edited)
3 hours ago, WalkingCivilWar said:

GC player lying face down, head turned to the side. Jack’s elbow pressing into his face. Looked avoidable imo. 

Just looked at it again - wasn’t face down … knees are up, unless some sort of contortionist.  Stupid agro but nothing more. The MRO has again proven just what an *[censored] he is.  The “victim” got straight up and ran on unscathed. 

*CENSOR appears overzealous. The word I used was 1diot, nothing foul or abusive. 

Posted
Just now, monoccular said:

Just looked at it again - wasn’t face down … knees are up, unless some sort of contortionist.  Stupid agro but nothing more. The MRO has again proven just what an [censored] he is.  The “victim” got straight up and ran on unscathed. 

You’re right, he wasn’t face down. I posted that having only seen it once and it was just as the news broke. I stand corrected. 

Posted
4 minutes ago, Dr. Gonzo said:

You've never seen a player get into a scuffle on the field and push their forearm/hand down onto someone's face? Come on, it might deserve a fine but people talking about multiple weeks and causing serious injury are kidding themselves

I don't see it as dirty, gouging someones eye like Selwood did a few weeks back is dirty. Hitting someone when they're not looking is dirty. Stomping someone is dirty. Pushing someones face after they've pulled you down so you can't get on with the game is flirting with the rules and probably deserves a fine but the carry on here is like a knitting circle working themselves up into hysteria. I noticed it when it happened and pretty sure the umpire didn't even deem it worthy of a free kick. If people didn't already have a bee in their bonnet about Viney I'm sure it'd be nothing to see here. If May did this I guarantee the reaction would be much different.

This is AFL - you don't deliberately force pressure on above the neck on the opposition in this sport mate. Not sure what you are watching?

I think there is a disparity between our standards which probably can't be aligned. 

If you think this isn't dirty then all the best to you. 

As for Viney vs other players doing it, for me personally, it doesn't matter who it is - they deserve weeks. 

Posted (edited)
13 minutes ago, Dr. Gonzo said:

"Thuggery" give me a spell

Perhaps go and watch the under 12s this week instead, this is the pro's

Yes thuggery. He is driving his elbow into the guys neck for longer than you usually see, it does happen almost every match but not usually for the length of time that he’s doing it. The GC player isn’t innocent, and I suspect that will form part of our defence but he didn’t need to do it.

FWIW I think it’s worth a 1 week suspension, perhaps he’ll get a fine but because there has been a media response on this and all too often the tail (ie the media) wags the dog (the tribunal) I can picture more weeks.  

Perhaps you can pull out some of your VHS’s tapes and watch the 80s to remind you of the “good ol’ days”. 

Edited by Pates
Posted
6 minutes ago, Docs Demons said:

9 pages long and you would reckon one of our stars is in trouble. Have plenty of players to cover Viney and most will win their own ball just as well as Viney and then the best thing they will deliver it better than Viney. No issue if he is rubbed out.

While I don't like the action of players wrestling off the ball, after Selwood being fined earlier this year for punching a defenceless player in the top of the head (while he was being held by another Geelong player) and then stomping on his leg, there is no way we should accept any suspension for a less serious incident.

Posted

Don't get me wrong, I'm not in any way defending what Viney did, but if Franklin could avoid suspension by referring to precedent, I'd be rolling out the Franklin footage along with the three other elbows to the head that did not result in suspensions, as well as Selwood gouging Dale's face at GMHBA which was also not a suspension.

if those were all fines but not suspensions, Viney's should be too. None resulted in anything more than minor injuries to their opponents and with the AFL's current (misguided IMO) focus on the outcome rather than the action, Viney's is no worse.

Posted
33 minutes ago, Dr. Gonzo said:

Oh come on. Forearm pushing someone down on the side of the face vs a cricket ball hitting you in the neck at 135km/hour

This is getting ridiculous

1. Politely suggest you look again, pressure was on the neck, not the side of the face.

2. A cricket ball and an elbow are not the same, what is the same is the area of the body where the pressure was applied.

Ridiculous you say, yes l agree whilst disagreeing.

Posted
33 minutes ago, Dr. Gonzo said:

This kind of stuff happens all the time. "Acceptable" as in we should encourage it? Or "acceptable" as in it deserves a fine at worst?

I'd hate to see the outrage if one of our players actually did something malicious on the field. Supporters hate the club being seen as pushovers/spineless then are ready to hang a player the minute he shows a bit of mongrel. Back your players in FFS, the overreaction on this thread is appalling from so called "supporters".

Can you point out other incidents like this from the weekend? Even maybe the last 4 weeks?

Posted
3 minutes ago, titan_uranus said:

Don't get me wrong, I'm not in any way defending what Viney did, but if Franklin could avoid suspension by referring to precedent, I'd be rolling out the Franklin footage along with the three other elbows to the head that did not result in suspensions, as well as Selwood gouging Dale's face at GMHBA which was also not a suspension.

if those were all fines but not suspensions, Viney's should be too. None resulted in anything more than minor injuries to their opponents and with the AFL's current (misguided IMO) focus on the outcome rather than the action, Viney's is no worse.

This I totally agree with. 

Posted (edited)
16 minutes ago, monoccular said:

*CENSOR appears overzealous. The word I used was 1diot, nothing foul or abusive. 

Censor also doesn’t have a great grasp on the English language. In a PM I received recently the poster used the phrase [censored] for tat and Censor censored [censored]. ?

There, Censor did it again!

Edited by WalkingCivilWar
Posted (edited)
12 minutes ago, WalkingCivilWar said:

Censor also doesn’t have a great grasp on the English language. In a PM I received recently the poster used the phrase [censored] for tat and Censor censored [censored]. ?

Idk how to delete a post. 

Edited by WalkingCivilWar
Double-posted and don’t know how to delete one of them.
Posted
3 minutes ago, WalkingCivilWar said:

It's a prurient American spell checker which won't let through words for a bird or a cat but will let through bugger and bastard.

Posted
3 hours ago, Dr. Gonzo said:

Jack Viney, Melbourne, has been charged with Serious Misconduct against Sam Collins, Gold Coast SUNS, during the fourth quarter of the Round 20 match between the Gold Coast SUNS and Melbourne played at Marvel Stadium on Sunday August 1, 2021.

In summary, he has been referred directly to the Tribunal and cannot accept an early plea.

Based on the available evidence, the incident was assessed as Serious Misconduct. The incident was classified as a direct referral to the Tribunal and the player cannot accept an early plea.

But Joel Selwood has body of evidence to support that it’s okay. 

Posted
50 minutes ago, Dr. Gonzo said:

Oh come on. Forearm pushing someone down on the side of the face vs a cricket ball hitting you in the neck at 135km/hour

This is getting ridiculous

And your ignorance speaks volumes.