Dr. Gonzo 24,467 Posted July 10, 2021 Posted July 10, 2021 Oh [censored] off Scott, geelong games feel too long because your team is boring to watch. I don't think anyone was complaining that our game on Thursday went too long. Always sooking about something, oh waaaa we have a 5 day break - yes every team has one. I also loved the article mentioning geelongs tough road trips in the lead up to finals without mentioning their last 3 games are in Geelong and they always play in Geelong in the last round. Absolute sook, sick of him whinging all the time. Gerard Whateley is slways pushing this agends too and if Brad Scott takes over Hockings role, look out. No supporters have said they want shorter games, have they? How about listening to your constituents instead of sooking coaches. 28 1 1 1 1 Quote
Engorged Onion 10,224 Posted July 10, 2021 Posted July 10, 2021 Two streams of thought 1) Not sure what his contract length is - but considering he is merely a custodian of the coaching role and keeping it warm for the next incumbent, (like all coaches are), and that the ageing list he has, wont always be an ageing list (it'll be replenished over the next few years), then perhaps he is thinking about the good of the game, not his own tenure. 2) Or not... 2 Quote
Mazer Rackham 14,971 Posted July 10, 2021 Posted July 10, 2021 1 minute ago, Engorged Onion said: 1) Not sure what his contract length is - but considering he is merely a custodian of the coaching role and keeping it warm for the next incumbent, (like all coaches are), and that the ageing list he has, wont always be an ageing list (it'll be replenished over the next few years), then perhaps he is thinking about the good of the game, not his own tenure. Your first hint that he is not thinking about the good of the game is the fact that he is an AFL senior coach. 3 Quote
Engorged Onion 10,224 Posted July 10, 2021 Posted July 10, 2021 3 minutes ago, Mazer Rackham said: Your first hint that he is not thinking about the good of the game is the fact that he is an AFL senior coach. I should have used a ? at the end of the first point! Quote
Fork 'em 7,052 Posted July 10, 2021 Posted July 10, 2021 3 minutes ago, Mazer Rackham said: Your first hint that he is not thinking about the good of the game is the fact that he is an AFL senior coach. 2 2 Quote
Jaded No More 68,976 Posted July 10, 2021 Posted July 10, 2021 He really is an insufferable whining sook. A big part of why Geelong is so unlikable. Just because your team is old enough to double dose on AZ doesn’t mean you get special concessions. This isn’t a pensioners club mate. 8 1 10 1 Quote
The heart beats true 18,201 Posted July 10, 2021 Posted July 10, 2021 The title of this thread is Murdoch click bait gold. I knew exactly what the story was about, who it was referring to, and how mad it would make me - before I even read the story. Congrats to all involved. 12 3 Quote
BDA 23,048 Posted July 10, 2021 Posted July 10, 2021 Hope the AFL make the quarters longer. It would be worth it to see Chris Scott's head explode 4 3 Quote
Rodney (Balls) Grinter 11,059 Posted July 10, 2021 Posted July 10, 2021 (edited) Gerrard Healy has also been pushing the shorter games barrow for a while this season too. Then there are those that suggest we should do away with the medical sub and just go to five on the bench. So many of these issues with the at times putrid look of the game style are because players aren't playing with high enough levels of fatigue. Our game has always been a battle between leg speed, speed of ball movement and endurance and it's one of the things that makes it so attractive in my oppinion. If the AFL were to capitulate to the likes of Heally and Scott and change the length of games in a season I would absolutely spit chips. I actually think the reduced game length unfairly took away an advantage from us last season and was probably a big part of the difference to us making finals or not. Really riles me. Just leave the bloody game alone. Edited July 11, 2021 by Rodney (Balls) Grinter 12 2 Quote
Graeme Yeats' Mullet 6,791 Posted July 10, 2021 Posted July 10, 2021 (edited) 5 minutes ago, Rodney (Balls) Grinter said: Then there are those that suggest we should do away with the medical sub and just go to five on the bench. Am waiting for this Then when a few players are out of the game for concussions, knees, etc there'll be calls for a 6th as a sub to remove the "unfairness" Déjà vu... all over again Edited July 10, 2021 by Graeme Yeats' Mullet 5 Quote
KLV 1,768 Posted July 11, 2021 Posted July 11, 2021 2 hours ago, Dr. Gonzo said: Oh [censored] off Scott, geelong games feel too long because your team is boring to watch. I don't think anyone was complaining that our game on Thursday went too long. Always sooking about something, oh waaaa we have a 5 day break - yes every team has one. I also loved the article mentioning geelongs tough road trips in the lead up to finals without mentioning their last 3 games are in Geelong and they always play in Geelong in the last round. Absolute sook, sick of him whinging all the time. Gerard Whateley is slways pushing this agends too and if Brad Scott takes over Hockings role, look out. No supporters have said they want shorter games, have they? How about listening to your constituents instead of sooking coaches. Thanks for writing this for me Dr G. Saved me the trouble ? 1 Quote
KLV 1,768 Posted July 11, 2021 Posted July 11, 2021 1 hour ago, The heart beats true said: The title of this thread is Murdoch click bait gold. I knew exactly what the story was about, who it was referring to, and how mad it would make me - before I even read the story. Congrats to all involved. Excellent post, my thoughts exactly 1 Quote
In Harmes Way 7,869 Posted July 11, 2021 Posted July 11, 2021 With Steve Hocking moving to Geelong CEO and his brother as Geelong coach, there’s two conflicts of interest for Brad Scott to be given the AFL footy boss role. On this basis, lock it in 2 3 1 Quote
Jaded No More 68,976 Posted July 11, 2021 Posted July 11, 2021 (edited) Just now, In Harmes Way said: With Steve Hocking moving to Geelong CEO and his brother as Geelong coach, there’s two conflicts of interest for Brad Scott to be given the AFL footy boss role. On this basis, lock it in Expect a new rule to come in. “Age concession”. Extra rotations and an additional sub for any team playing a side with an average age of 30 or above. Edited July 11, 2021 by Jaded 2 1 Quote
In Harmes Way 7,869 Posted July 11, 2021 Posted July 11, 2021 Chris Scott laments that the best 22 should be out there playing every week. What he’s ignoring is that he should be trading some of his dinosaur aged best 22 to have a balanced age profile. As an example, the Hawks made some difficult decisions over the last 5 years to do exactly this. You can’t change the rules to suit the list you’d like to have. 3 1 Quote
Brownie 6,086 Posted July 11, 2021 Posted July 11, 2021 With the lower scores again this year, the AFL are due to do something stupid with the rules again. Maybe shorter quarters and longer breaks to squeeze more ads in? Knee Jerk time is near. 1 Quote
Grapeviney 9,929 Posted July 11, 2021 Posted July 11, 2021 2 hours ago, Better days ahead said: Hope the AFL make the quarters longer. An extra quarter would be good, too. 5 x 40 min quarters. 6 Quote
Redleg 42,140 Posted July 11, 2021 Posted July 11, 2021 The extra 60 rule is coming in too. Any Victorian team that is based more than 60 k’s from Melbourne, each season, gets an extra top 10 draft pick, a guaranteed 10 games at their home ground, 5 extra fees in front of goal each game, 25 more rotations each game, 19 allowed on the ground in each game, 25% more on the salary cap and unrestricted father/son and NGA players as well as anyone who says they once visited Geelong or have even heard of it. Also a finals wild card if they miss the 8 and a captain’s protest, to be used in any losing final, to have the result reversed. 4 1 4 1 Quote
Kent 2,920 Posted July 11, 2021 Posted July 11, 2021 does any body really listen to this sad self absorbed bastard Quote
Brownie 6,086 Posted July 11, 2021 Posted July 11, 2021 (edited) 45 minutes ago, Grapeviney said: An extra quarter would be good, too. 5 x 40 min quarters. I would love that. Half time would confuse the **** out of BT. His fat head would explode Edited July 11, 2021 by Brownie 5 Quote
Left Foot Snap 2,605 Posted July 11, 2021 Posted July 11, 2021 (edited) 1 hour ago, Brownie said: With the lower scores again this year, the AFL are due to do something stupid with the rules again. Maybe shorter quarters and longer breaks to squeeze more ads in? Knee Jerk time is near. Well we found the Jerk!! Ps. Also credit to Kumamoto_Ken for the image originally Edited July 11, 2021 by Left Foot Snap Credit for image Quote
rjay 25,424 Posted July 11, 2021 Posted July 11, 2021 1 hour ago, Kent said: does any body really listen to this sad self absorbed bastard I do 'Kent'... When he said that you should never listen to coaches when they are talking the good of the game. It's always in self interest. I thought on this occassion he was spot on. 1 Quote