URGENT ATTENTION: Major Site Update Will Require Email Address for Login and NOT Username. Please Ensure Your Email Address is Current.

Posted
8 minutes ago, ProperDee said:

As much as I love Nate Jones, he is no longer a best 22 player. I am certain that he knows that.

Jones out for Brown. Weideman no chance.

Jones was good tonight. Applied pressure and was involved in a few score involvements.

Melksham on the other hand was next to useless.

Posted
7 hours ago, Sigil said:

Blundstone Arena is a hole for football. 

BBB in for Milkshake.

It won’t be in Tassie : they will move it to Marvel in Melbourne owing to COVID. 

Posted

If (and this is a big if) I were to look at a change it would only be Melksham on the block. He was pretty unsighted for most of the night and if there were to be a “type” to come in it would be a forward. 

But what a position for the match committee to be in, trying to fit Ben Brown into the side!

Weid just seems unlucky, 10 goals in two games should see him a shoe in to get back into the firsts! Alas Tommy Mac is turning back time to 2018! ?

Posted (edited)

Without getting ahead of ourselves, the next 3 games are an ideal opportunity to try out different ideas - nothing drastic  just one or max of two at at time. 

At some stage we need to get Brown into the side so vs North is the ideal time, then let him settle into the team dynamics vs Sydney and Carlton before facing Bulldogs and beyond.

Ditto the next three weeks is a good time to rotate any young or sore players or to try out players in the VFL knocking on the door. 

So a few changes in the next few weeks will strengthen our selection flexibility.

Posted
9 hours ago, Youngwilliam said:

Spargo is playing selfless footy. He puts his body on the line in every contest. People have to stop looking at his stat's. Spargs role is not about winning the ball but making sure the ball doesn't leave the contest in the opposition possession. 

Not a bad situation in having Weids, Ben Brown, Chandler,  Harmes, Daw and Jetta waiting for their chance.

His tackle in the middle in the first qrt was inspiring.

Posted

We have one of the best full fwds in the competition who has proved he is back in form.

If Bbb does not come in against his old club then we may as well trade him.

Im sure he will get a look.

Out. Melksham.

In. B. Brown.

Go dees.

Posted
1 hour ago, Dees2014 said:

It won’t be in Tassie : they will move it to Marvel in Melbourne owing to COVID. 

That hasn’t been confirmed yet.

TAS government could still provide an exemption for North to come down to Tassie.

Posted

BBB will make us a better team, must find a spot for him this week. 

Posted

OUT :     Resting on our laurels after winning the "April premiership"

IN :         Playing life and death footy against the "easy beats" under us on the ladder

Posted

As well as playing very well on the field i have to give a shout out to the selectors. We've got every selection call right this season. I thought BB or Weid might come in this week but instead but we stuck with what got us to 5-0. complete vindication.

I think Melks is most at risk. I'm not a Melks hater and I know the qualities he brings to the team but he's had 2 poor games out of 3. If we are to be serious contenders this year we cannot tolerate below average performance. I think he should be replaced by BB.

Having said that, as well as having complete trust in the team, i also have complete trust in the selectors to make the right call and if that's an unchanged side I'll accept it.

Posted

Aside from the Brown/Weideman dilemma. We have some younger talent to consider getting game time into:

Sparrow, Chandler, Lockhart, Bedford, Baker, Petty

And some more experienced heads we can rely on:

Jetta, Mitch Brown, AvB, Daw

It feels extremely unusual to have this much depth

At some stage, we'll need to "manage" a few legs and rotate a bit of this through the side

Posted

Good week to rest a couple of sore boys, could Max use a lighter week? He’s looking a bit sore especially with Lynch and Riewoldt crashing into him last night and he has had back issues before.

Posted

Goodwin said in the post match presser that they’re continually looking to improve, be it personnel or method. It’s a pretty obvious point, but it does defeat my previous instinct of “don’t change anything while it’s working” when something else may work better. Breaking our forward structure totally seems an unlikely outcome to have to worry about.

The outs would have to come from Melksham, Spargo and Jones. I don’t think it will be Jones yet. Looking at the heat map, both Melksham and Spargo got the majority of their touches on the wings and flanks - they are playing low possession roles at high half forward. Melksham is a class user of the ball but with some questionable defensive efforts while Spargo is a terror defensively, but doesn’t get the ball enough, with 6 disposals this week. I don’t think the choice is obvious. But if one of them goes, we’re replacing an i50 deliverer with an i50 receiver - no doubt it changes the mix. One of TMac or Fritsch have to get out of the forward 50 and move high in order to maintain the balance if that were to happen.

I thought Weid would come in after last week, but now I think it has to be Brown. At the end of the day he’s a 60 goal a year forward at his best, and he’s playing well. Weid’s form warrants selection too, but there’s no room, TMac is holding him out of the side at present. Tough for him, but that’s how it goes when the seniors are flying.

Glad I’m not on the selection team this week. 

Posted
10 hours ago, Demonland said:

Who comes in and who goes out for our first danger game of the year?

Hope your saying that after round 20.

Posted
6 minutes ago, Nasher said:

The outs would have to come from Melksham, Spargo and Jones.

Spargo got a mention from Goody in the post-match, I reckon they're happy with what he's doing atm. Seems to be playing the kind of role that isn't reflected well in stats and numbers.

Posted
10 hours ago, Jaded said:

Out: Melksham

In: Brown

We didn’t get a 60 goal a season forward to win games for Casey. It’s time. 

What's the rush we are 6-0 and have beaten both gf's from last year?

Posted
1 minute ago, Lord Nev said:

Spargo got a mention from Goody in the post-match, I reckon they're happy with what he's doing atm. Seems to be playing the kind of role that isn't reflected well in stats and numbers.

Comes back to the point made by Jayden Hunt as relayed by jnrmac - high half forward is a feast-or-famine role by nature.

Spargo’s value to the side is defensive effort. It’s a strength and he helps is trap the ball in. I still think there is a bar for minimum number of times for being involved in a possession chain though and 6 is below it for mine.

Posted

If anyone needs a spell after last night's game it's one of our on ballers. I'm thinking Viney or even Oliver. 

A lot of heavy work done in there last night and we could do a minimum of unbalancing that way.

Posted

Only change i'd consider is if Harmes is passed fit to play, i'd swap him for Melksham 

Posted
2 minutes ago, Nasher said:

Comes back to the point made by Jayden Hunt as relayed by jnrmac - high half forward is a feast-or-famine role by nature.

Spargo’s value to the side is defensive effort. It’s a strength and he helps is trap the ball in. I still think there is a bar for minimum number of times for being involved in a possession chain though and 6 is below it for mine.

Another thing i'd like to note regarding this, our conversion inside 50 has drastically improved, Spargo is a huge part of that. outside Salem i'd say he's the best decision maker at the club, and his passing over 30 meters is elite

Posted

We need a FF. 

Jackson's being playing great around the ground and a fwd competitor but he's not a fwd (yet). 

Tmac is best suited to CHF. 

We have been making do because our other areas are so dominant. 

Time to cash in with a dominant FF. 

BBB or Weid in for a managed Jones. 

Maybe Sparrow in for Melk. 

Posted
4 minutes ago, Patches O’houlihan said:

Only change i'd consider is if Harmes is passed fit to play, i'd swap him for Melksham 

Harmes comes through the VFL and eventually replaces Jordon when he tires for mine. No hurry on that one.

Posted

We’re really do find ourselves in a great position.  6&0 playing some great footy and with a full healthy list to pick from. 
If we can keep a healthy list and play like we did last night we are going to be a big threat come the end of the year. 

I’d start to look at managing players game time over the coming weeks. We won last week without our best performing forward and back. I don’t mean mass changes just a couple each week to reward players playing well at Casey and keep everybody fresh and get valuable time into players not in the team yet. 

Four games coming that we should be favourites in followed by 3 more difficult games before the bye. I’d let Burgess and fitness team have a big say on ins and outs over the coming weeks.