Posted
4 minutes ago, Bitter but optimistic said:

Well it was a”donation “ Rusty and coin has been a bit tight at The Manor of late

Hopefully The Maid still has a job?

Posted
2 hours ago, chook fowler said:

It would be classic Dees to blow today so it is a good test to see how mentally tough they really are. Could be season defining.

Why oh why do I see Toby Greene or worse a nondescript play outa their skin and we dont turn up ! That would be so utterly Melbourne. I of so little faith.lets see

Posted
1 hour ago, rollinson 65 said:

Never need to post these days. It all gets said better than I could say it. 

Let's harken back to the Northey days, when we had finally shrugged off the easybeats tag and had belief.

Langdon reminds me of the Febey twins. There is only one of him, but it always looks like two of him out there. 

PS Rumours of my death have been greatly exaggerated, but the nusing home staff have learned better than to let me watch the dees games live. Too many solid objects thrown at too many screens.?

Got my 50 year MCC membership earlier this year. Wondering if that trumps my 50 year ban from the members.  ?

Well Posted there Rollinson 65!

I'm with you on the great Swoopwer.

My Northey take away is of teams that were never prepared to lie down or be beaten till the end. 

Last week I saw the team challenged twice and deal with it professioanlly. Small sample size as they say but I felt the saints game would be some sort of marker for this season. I expect the same today at Canberra and be 3 - 0 by 8.30 AEST.

Posted
Just now, picket fence said:

Why oh why do I see Toby Greene or worse a nondescript play outa their skin and we dont turn up ! That would be so utterly Melbourne. I of so little faith.lets see

Don't underestimate how deep the scars are!  I have never been confident before a game and I don't think I ever will be.

Posted
12 minutes ago, PaulRB said:

With Saints going down to the hapless Dons, and the Blues towelling up Freo, I’m getting an uncomfortable feeling that beating both means little, and we may be in for a shock today...

Gotta start well.

Go Demons.

Totally incorerct assumption here PaulRB. - although undertsandable.

The issue this season is that once the Dees beat you, you stay beaten for at least another few weeks.

Seriously, the saints would have pencilled in the game last week as a win - Rude shock .

Posted
32 minutes ago, Bitter but optimistic said:

I've just been enjoying the Romsey sun while slurping down 4 stubbies of Jameson and cola that one of my acolytes left behind. It's rubbish but alcoholic - the sort of stuff that @picket fencewould rate as a very fine brew.

Time to open a shiraz and start my pre game routine.

I note that a few above are less than confident.

Bah to that! I've loaded up on Sportsbet - my nethers tell me we're a good thing today!

I imagine your nethers have made many of your life decisions over the years. Don’t lead us wrong today!!

Posted
6 minutes ago, dazzledavey36 said:

Excellent way to bring Melksham back in. 
IF he gets a run he is expected to impact. 

Posted
13 minutes ago, Bitter but optimistic said:

Well it was a”donation “ Rusty and coin has been a bit tight at The Manor of late

I guess it could've be worse uncle.  There's always Dewar's!  

Posted
34 minutes ago, Bitter but optimistic said:

I've just been enjoying the Romsey sun while slurping down 4 stubbies of Jameson and cola that one of my acolytes left behind. It's rubbish but alcoholic - the sort of stuff that @picket fencewould rate as a very fine brew.

Time to open a shiraz and start my pre game routine.

I note that a few above are less than confident.

Bah to that! I've loaded up on Sportsbet - my nethers tell me we're a good thing today!

Hey Uncle I am down at Chez Picket Fence coastal retreat at Inverloch and was just thinking exactly the same thing, a cleansing " Little Giant" Barossa Shiraz 2018 will go down well with the Fillet Mignon im about to consume pre game??

Posted

If we come out flat, I’ll be looking to Trac, Viney, Gawn, May, Oliver, Lever, Jetta to lift us. That is why you gave leaders and gun players. You earn your money to correct the ship

i wont be blaming the bottom 6

Posted
3 minutes ago, picket fence said:

Hey Uncle I am down at Chez Picket Fence coastal retreat at Inverloch and was just thinking exactly the same thing, a cleansing " Little Giant" Barossa Shiraz 2018 will go down well with the Fillet Mignon im about to consume pre game??

I'm at Cape Paterson , Picket, you might hear me from there

Posted

Any chance of Hunt going to Greene? Has the athleticism but may be challenged with the smarts. Hard to see who else could go with Greene.

Posted
6 minutes ago, picket fence said:

You’re all class picket!

I reckon we’ll be drunkenly singing the song about the same time

Make sure you’re in tune!

Posted
2 minutes ago, layzie said:

Any chance of Hunt going to Greene? Has the athleticism but may be challenged with the smarts. Hard to see who else could go with Greene.

May to Greene. Fast enough and tough enough.

Posted
33 minutes ago, PaulRB said:

With Saints going down to the hapless Dons, and the Blues towelling up Freo, I’m getting an uncomfortable feeling that beating both means little, and we may be in for a shock today...

Gotta start well.

Go Demons.

Yep. Still think we're favourites but it looks like we've snuck past the bottom couple of sides, aside from North.

Looking for a clinical performance, this evening.

Anyone attending that can give a weather update?

Posted
4 minutes ago, ManDee said:

May to Greene. Fast enough and tough enough.

Don't mind it at all. Maybe Tomlinson to Himmelberg as well. Finlayson out helps 

Posted
16 minutes ago, Sir Why You Little said:

Excellent way to bring Melksham back in. 
IF he gets a run he is expected to impact. 

Yep he'd better play better than any game last year.

Gimme Hibberd any day.

Posted
41 minutes ago, PaulRB said:

Gotta start well.

Go Demons.

Yes it a worry both Freo and Saints woeful. 

Posted
3 minutes ago, Deesprate said:

Yes it a worry both Freo and Saints woeful. 

Luckily the Giants lost to both 

Posted
Just now, DubDee said:

Luckily the Giants lost to both 

Good point?

Posted
1 hour ago, dworship said:

Currently enjoying a convivial at the Kingston prior to the game. Judging by the team colours on display we should out number GWS support by 3 to 1. Mind you Mrs DW and I make enough noise to drown out 40 oppo supporters 

Give em a few load BALL calls for me?

Posted

At least they haven't got Mumford to thugerise Max this year. The endorsement of that game from the AFL was a disgrace

Posted

If we win today it will be the first time since 2005 with a 3-0 start. Buts it’s like us to stuff up a great opportunity. I hope not.