Posted
2 hours ago, 640MD said:

Game day.  Time to get a little expectant. The saints most times seem to have our measure.   It has been a long time since I just expected to beat the saints.

back as far as Moorabbin. Standing in the outer cheering when we scored and a little old lady kept hitting me on the head with her umbrella.  It’s hard to forget.

good luck to us all tonight, 

I remember the mud and toilet lines at moorabBIN.

That and Jakovich kicking a bag of 10 to win.?

Posted

We are too slow. Will have to choke the game up to be anychance.

Posted
3 minutes ago, dl4e said:

We are too slow. Will have to choke the game up to be anychance.

We are not to slow,how can you say Kossi ,spargo ,jordan oliver etc are slow

Posted
12 minutes ago, leave it to deever said:

I remember the mud and toilet lines at moorabBIN.

That and Jakovich kicking a bag of 10 to win.?

Not as bad as the toilet lines at the night footy at at the the old south melb ground,toilets always blocked up so you had to stand in [censored] to have one

Posted
Just now, Sir Why You Little said:

Tracc had a quiet game last week

Big one tonight 

He loves a big stage

Posted
4 hours ago, Whispering_Jack said:

So here’s hoping that there are no incorrect late umpiring decisions affecting the result  and the only ones ejected from Marvel Stadium tonight are the Saints.

Cant get worse than last nights fiasco at Kardinia Park. Geelong player caught 'bang to rights' in the Lions goal square and lazily tossed the ball to another afl pet and rushed through for the winning point. No free for a text book tackle. Geelong is a protected species and all thr playets know it.They have a distinct swagger down there at the cattery.

Rohan king hit Neale -Leigh Mathews' style..way off the ball .Should get 6 weeks. Media already playing it down as is that jerk Scott.

Posted
26 minutes ago, Sir Why You Little said:

Tracc had a quiet game last week

Big one tonight 

I reckon it’s really good that we’re considering 24 disposals and 2 goals to be a ‘quiet game’ for trac. If that’s what we consider average form for him then it goes to show how good he’s actually become.

Posted

Would love us to get these guys tonight, and I think we can. Our mids are hopefully going to be a bit sharper than last week as there were some cobwebs but we also need to run both ways. If we do turn it over I really worry that Viney, Oliver, Trac, Gus will be able to slow those speedy saints players down. 

Would really like to see Rivers on a wing, Jacko kick 2+ and Max to impose himself on Paul Hunter who has played 1 game

Dees by 14 

Posted

All aboard !

283.jpg

Posted

No worries at all

We’ll rip the Aints a new one and that kid King will wish he’d stuck to basketball when May gets through with him.

And yes......... I’ve got money on us. ( Well a good bottle of Shiraz actually!)

Posted
28 minutes ago, MF-C said:

Would love us to get these guys tonight, and I think we can. Our mids are hopefully going to be a bit sharper than last week as there were some cobwebs but we also need to run both ways. If we do turn it over I really worry that Viney, Oliver, Trac, Gus will be able to slow those speedy saints players down. 

Would really like to see Rivers on a wing, Jacko kick 2+ and Max to impose himself on Paul Hunter who has played 1 game

Dees by 14 

I want to see Gus dominate on the wing.  If he can shore up that other wing spot for us we are on our way.

Posted
5 minutes ago, Pickett2Jackson said:

I want to see Gus dominate on the wing.  If he can shore up that other wing spot for us we are on our way.

I like Gus, but he nor the coaches have this one right. I think he plays his best footy inside like most do on here. 

However, one thing he does have is footy smarts. So perhaps if we stick him there and don't keep chopping out this spot there he could mould into the role. 

It just hurts to see Smith and Phillips both have really strong games this year...either one would have looked amazing on that wing 

Posted
9 minutes ago, MF-C said:

I like Gus, but he nor the coaches have this one right. I think he plays his best footy inside like most do on here. 

However, one thing he does have is footy smarts. So perhaps if we stick him there and don't keep chopping out this spot there he could mould into the role. 

It just hurts to see Smith and Phillips both have really strong games this year...either one would have looked amazing on that wing 

Smith’s kicking was atrocious last night

Posted
8 minutes ago, MF-C said:

Smith or Philips would have been good but we missed out on them. We went very hard for Smith and he nearly chose us. Apparently we had a crack at Philips too but he wanted too much $. The reality is that they chose other clubs so I don’t understand why people use this to have a crack at the club. This situation happens to all clubs.

Gus warmed into the game last week and he did some very good things, especially delivering to the forwards. If he can gut run defensively imo he is well suited to the role

Posted
1 hour ago, MF-C said:

Dees by 14 

Have confidence in our mids because even the very top sides would love to have them: Oliver, Brayshaw, Petracca and Viney. Throw in some of our 'runners' new to the MFC and you have a combination to steamroll everyone. 

Posted
13 minutes ago, The Swimming Dee said:

Smith or Philips would have been good but we missed out on them. We went very hard for Smith and he nearly chose us. Apparently we had a crack at Philips too but he wanted too much $. The reality is that they chose other clubs so I don’t understand why people use this to have a crack at the club. This situation happens to all clubs.

Gus warmed into the game last week and he did some very good things, especially delivering to the forwards. If he can gut run defensively imo he is well suited to the role

I think if Gus can own this role then it will be a pat on the back to the coaching staff for sticking firm 

Anyways back to todays game...

Anyone else expecting Max to show some real mongrel against this young Paul Hunter today? Hopefully can drift forward and kick a few 

Posted

Hopefully we’ve got Langdon playing on the same wing as Brad Hill. That will be good to watch

Posted

The nerves have arrived.  A chance to be 2-0 with a couple of declining teams as our next 2 opponents and then a pretty nice draw after that (excluding the tough Richmond game).

We better not stuff this up. 

Posted
59 minutes ago, Pickett2Jackson said:

The nerves have arrived.  A chance to be 2-0 with a couple of declining teams as our next 2 opponents and then a pretty nice draw after that (excluding the tough Richmond game).

We better not stuff this up. 

don't think there's such a thing as a 'nice draw' really - competition looks so even across the board

it's definitely a massive game tho that's fer sure

Posted
2 hours ago, Bitter but optimistic said:

No worries at all

We’ll rip the Aints a new one and that kid King will wish he’d stuck to basketball when May gets through with him.

And yes......... I’ve got money on us. ( Well a good bottle of Shiraz actually!)

did you put the maid on it though? 

Posted

Watching Hawkins last night continue his dominance of stoppages by pushing his opponent out of the contest and taking possession in the ruck contest, wondering why Gawny doesn’t do more of this as a variation to taps that are proving way less than 50% chance of connecting. Following the rule change that allows ruckman to take possession at stoppages and be given the benefit of no prior opportunity, just seems an obvious tactic for someone of Gawns size to utilise. 

Posted
16 minutes ago, The Chief said:

Watching Hawkins last night continue his dominance of stoppages by pushing his opponent out of the contest and taking possession in the ruck contest, wondering why Gawny doesn’t do more of this as a variation to taps that are proving way less than 50% chance of connecting. Following the rule change that allows ruckman to take possession at stoppages and be given the benefit of no prior opportunity, just seems an obvious tactic for someone of Gawns size to utilise. 

there’s big difference in body shape here. Gawn hasn’t got the weight of Hawkins to do that at stoppages. The amount of times hawkins shoves the rucks in the bk at throw ins and gets away with it astonishes me. The geelong rucking subrule ie it’s in the back unless a. it’s a geelong player at kardinia park or b. it’s hawkins