Posted
2 hours ago, chook fowler said:

Melksham is a protected species it seems.

In Melksham's contract:

Clause 1A - If you sign with us,you will never be dropped.

Melksham-Ok,i usually play 2 good games a year,so i'll sign.

Posted
37 minutes ago, bobby1554 said:

Tom is contracted until end of 2022, on pretty hefty coin. No one is going to take him on that basis. He has zero trade currency.

Straight swap for Hogan! 

Posted
2 hours ago, Dee man said:

Is the pace of Hunt, Pickett, Bedford and Baker compromised by the inclusion of Preuss? Maybe the plan is to play Preuss out of the square and the let the smalls do the chasing work for him.

We need someone to bring the ball to ground as it wasn't happening at all in the last match.  Also giving a chop out to Maxy who appeared absolutely knackered against the Swans.  Maybe Big M is doubtful and doesn't make the cut?  Unlikely but who are the emergencies i wonder.

Posted (edited)
2 hours ago, Wiseblood said:

Not a fan of the Preuss inclusion, but... I'd rather look at what I think are the positives.

Baker, Bedford and Hunt will bring some much needed pace to the side.  While they aren't big possession winners, they bring that dash and excitement we need.  Same goes for the inclusion of Pickett.  Some real pace, dash and hopefully pressure.

Hibberd back is really handy too.

Only disappointing aspect is no Lockhart - did he pee in Goody's tea or something?

2 hours ago, Redleg said:

Well we got the pace that many of us wanted, so we will see.

Pressure factor is just as critical with the Ins imv, especially up forward.

And if i may add to that.... the poise / finish.  Can the ins hit targets, kick to favoured side and/or convert at an AFL level for a change?  We will know about this time tomorrow evening i guess.

Posted

I reckon Brown's stiff to lose his spot to Preuss, who's not a forward and didn't show anything last year outside of a half of football vs Sydney the first time to suggest he can fit alongside Gawn.

Is there something up with Lockhart? Injury or discipline or something? How he's not getting a game right now is utterly beyond me, the more so given Smith held his spot.

Forward line abysmal but the usual scapegoats cop it (Spargo and Brown) whilst Melksham and Fritsch hold their spots.

Happy to see Bedford and Baker get a game, great to see Hibberd back, but on the whole these changes show we're struggling with form, fitness and cohesion. At this stage of the year, that's troubling.

Posted (edited)

this looks like a coach that no has frigging idea

Edited by jnrmac

Posted

7 changes ???

Looks to me like major panic !!!!!!

I'd expect this from a team that is mathematically out of finals and looking to play fringe players

Posted (edited)
20 minutes ago, Irish-Demon said:

7 changes ???

I'd expect this from a team that is mathematically out of finals and looking to play fringe players

I think it’s more of a case of having a four day break and playing in Cairns. At least that’s what I hope. Fresh legs and all that (although, they should have fresh legs after Thursday’s non-effort). 

Edited by Ethan Tremblay
Posted
1 minute ago, Ethan Tremblay said:

I think it’s more of a case of having a four day break and playing in Cairns. At least that’s what I hope. Fresh legs and all that (although, they should have fresh legs after Thursday’s non-effort). 

I hope you're right. It just seems like panic at this stage. I know we were brutal/depressing last week but too many changes make me very nervous. Love the fresh legs quote 

Posted
4 minutes ago, Irish-Demon said:

7 changes ???

To be fair, 3 of those were forced due to injury.

Of the remaining 4 (Wagner, OMac, Brown, Spargo), who would you have left in the side?

I could probably make an argument for giving Brown one more shot, but that'd probably be it.

Posted (edited)

Groundhog Day.

Another bunch of selection that smack of desperation, another must win game, another two weeks at least in lockdown, another fortnight in an alcoholic haze.

Deja vu all over again.

Happy Jack ain’t happy.

Edited by Happy Jack

Posted
2 minutes ago, JTR said:

Of the remaining 4 (Wagner, OMac, Brown, Spargo), who would you have left in the side?

I could probably make an argument for giving Brown one more shot, but that'd probably be it.

And we've still retained ANB and Smith (who shouldn't be in anyone's best 22).

And we've retained Fritsch and Melksham, both of whom are on ice thinner than paper.

I mean, it's not like we didn't have seven options for players to drop.

It's not surprising but, as I said, it is a sign we're struggling.

Posted
2 minutes ago, JTR said:

M.Hibberd, A.vandenBerg, K.Pickett, T.Bedford, B.Preuss, J.Hunt, O.Baker

It's the ins I'm scared of !

Lack of games ( Bedford, Hunt, Baker, Pickett )

Possible carrying injury ( Pig )

Unpredictable ( VB, Preuss )

Posted
1 hour ago, demon3165 said:

To help the Weed I would get Nick Riewoldt to have a talk with him have I listened to him explain what he did and how he went about it damm interesting, nothing to lose by doing it.

Would love this to happen, I like Reiwoldt’s analysis of for structure and running when he’s on fox footy. 

Posted

Brown unlucky. Lockhart still in the doghouse for some reason. The other changes are fair. Really looking forward to seeing Baker and Bedford.

The plan must be to rotate Max and Pruess forward. If nothing else Pruess will provide a presence up top that we lacked against the Swans. 

Posted
2 hours ago, Supermercado said:

Hard to do anything when four defenders go to you the moment the ball comes off the boot. They knew exactly what we were going to do forward and stitched it up perfectly. He had a bad game but could do with some help.

...but ... but wouldn’t an observant coach see that and change to option b or c or d?

Posted
1 hour ago, Hardley Benial said:

And after a few ramifications and ruminifications across D/land, (that's short for scotch & wine) we'll all come to peace and declare this was a non event of a season.

What! Surely we're a cognac club. (Sherry for the ladies.)

52 minutes ago, chook fowler said:

Genitalis or labialis?

Outed as a gonorrhoea expert

37 minutes ago, jnrmac said:

this looks like a coach that no has frigging idea

"Hail Mary! And if you're listening ... can you inspire me with a game plan? I understand your son has some connection with Peter Hudson?"

Posted

Is Lockhart injured? If he is not and we are playing Smith I cannot comprehend the thinking. Jetta another we should be playing ahead of Smith despite his deficiencies.

Posted
2 hours ago, Cards13 said:

Ooohhhh looky they’ve added “pace”, wowee. Doesn’t mean anything if the fast guys can’t get the pill and then if they do they have poor skills.
3 changes for injuries, and how the hell they picked Jones last week really asks some questions of the medical and coaching staff. 

That's my thinking too cards. Doesn't matter how quick you are if you can't get hands on the footy. Seeing the changes and then reading through this thread to think through it a bit I've gone and chucked a bit of money on the Dockers. They've weren't bad against the Tigers and have gone in with an unchanged lineup.