Posted (edited)
56 minutes ago, Dr.D said:

I'm just annoyed that those demonlanders who wanted Oliver dropped are being conveniently quiet now whilst giving Oliver no credit for being in our best few players for 3 weeks straight. So bloody fickle. 

Probably our best drafted mid for 20 years.

Oliver butchers the ball by foot when under no pressure at all, sometimes in crucial moments.

He does it every game, but the most glaring example (which incidentally is where all this talk started) was a few games back vs Richmond.

I assume you actually watched that game rather than just look at his stats afterwards to determine his impact?

If so, surely you recall the moment late in the 4th when we were still in it, he gets a free in the middle, shanks the kick intended for Petracca straight to Rioil who swoops, gets it to Lynch who scores? And with that killing any chance we had for a win?

Plenty of eyebrows raised after that game....

https://www.afl.com.au/video/462040/oliver-embarrassed-tigers-are-home?videoId=462040&modal=true&type=video&publishFrom=1593935743001

https://7news.com.au/sport/afl/melbourne-demons-clayton-oliver-under-the-microscope-over-kicking-flaws-c-1146697

https://www.sen.com.au/news/2020/07/08/is-the-fundamental-flaw-in-olivers-game-a-liability-for-melbourne/

His kicking is my personal gripe and it's probably the gripe of most here that have any problem with Oliver.  

(Some may also argue that a lot of his handballs don't actually hurt the opposition which is why he is rarely tagged).

On balance though, is any of that worthy of him being omitted from the team?  No, probably not as the good he does far outweighs the bad.

That still doesn't change the fact that he butchers the ball by foot when under no pressure at all, and at times it has been very costly.

Thats not good enough for someone that is always in our best 22.

Keep going with your little crusade though.

Edited by JTR
fix link

Posted (edited)
2 hours ago, Siren said:

Jetta and Bennell will be outs 

Expecting to hear that Sparrow and Tmac are in. 

I'd like surprise Port - have some goodies I'd like to see ....

TMac, Sparrow, Tomlinson, Smith, Rivers IN

OMac, Jones, Jetta, Bennell, Harmes OUT

• TMac to CHB
  • Sparrow to Bpocket and rotated through the midfield
  • Tomlinson to Wing 
  • Smith to FFlk and rotated through midfield
  • Rivers rotated HBF, utility in support of TMac, tag on smalls.

Rotated midfielders may bring the likes of our consistent midfielders closer to goal for shots or passes - if they run hard enough. I am thinking of Clarrie and Gus, first in this regard.

Edited by Deemania since 56
Posted
1 minute ago, JTR said:

Oliver butchers the ball by foot when under no pressure at all, sometimes in crucial moments.

He does it every game, but the most glaring example (which incidentally is where all this talk started) was a few games back vs Richmond.

I assume you actually watched that game rather than just look at his stats afterwards to determine his impact?

If so, surely you recall the moment late in the 4th when we were still in it, he gets a free in the middle, shanks the kick intended for Petracca straight to Rioil who swoops, gets it to Lynch who scores? And with that killing any chance we had for a win?

https://www.afl.com.au/video/462040/oliver-embarrassed-tigers-are-home?videoId=462040&modal=true&type=video&publishFrom=1593935743001

https://7news.com.au/sport/afl/melbourne-demons-clayton-oliver-under-the-microscope-over-kicking-flaws-c-1146697

https://www.sen.com.au/news/2020/07/08/is-the-fundamental-flaw-in-olivers-game-a-liability-for-melbour 

His kicking is my personal gripe and it's probably the gripe of most here that have any problem with Oliver.  

(Some may also argue that a lot of his handballs don't actually hurt the opposition which is why he is rarely tagged).

On balance though, is any of that worthy of him being omitted from the team?  No, probably not as the good he does far outweighs the bad.

That still doesn't change the fact that he butchers the ball by foot when under no pressure at all, and at times it has been very costly.

Do you actually watch the whole game, or just looking for Oliver mistakes? 

Posted
Just now, Deemania since 56 said:

• TMac to CHB
  • Tomlinson to Wing 

Rotated midfielders may bring the likes of our consistent midfielders closer to goal for shots or passes - if they run hard enough. I am thinking of Clarrie and Gus, first in this regard.

Harmes out and Smith in?

and Brayshaw stays?

Also why Omac out? 

Not sure about all this mate 

Posted
1 minute ago, MF-C said:

Harmes out and Smith in?

and Brayshaw stays?

Also why Omac out? 

Not sure about all this mate 

It just seems stronger to me. Alternatives...

Posted
2 minutes ago, Deemania since 56 said:

• TMac to CHB
  • Tomlinson to Wing 

I don't know what you are smoking, but I wish I had some

Sparrow -back pocket? I doubt he has ever played there

Smith-rotate through midfield in what role

As for Omac out

Posted
7 minutes ago, Deemania since 56 said:

• TMac to CHB
  • Tomlinson to Wing 
  • Rivers rotated HBF, utility in support of TMac, tag on smalls.

It will be just the two changes from what I’ve been told. 

Posted
8 minutes ago, Siren said:

It will be just the two changes from what I’ve been told. 

Who, Bennell and Jetta out, both injured/managed? 

Posted
10 minutes ago, Satyriconhome said:

Do you actually watch the whole game, or just looking for Oliver mistakes? 

Says the guy who clearly didn't even read the entire post he was responding to and always has a perfectly balanced view on all our players... 

What exactly do you disagree with?  

Posted
1 hour ago, bing181 said:

Great to know. And seeing you spend your time in team meetings and in one-on-ones with Goody, you can let us know this week's team selection.

Thanks in advance.

Mate.

Nowhere have I even implied this kind of thing. You strike me as the kind who gets 'jealous' that occasionally people hear things about the footy club. A glance through Demonland would tell you it's not a rarity for posters here to know people with club information given it's based in a town most of us live. Really don't understand why people get so upset about this scenario, isn't it why you come here in the first place? Yet if it's something you don't agree with then all of a sudden it can't possibly be true.

You're welcome to have a look through things I've posted in this kind of vein to determine how reputable my information generally is, or you can just keep posting this kind of stuff if it makes you feel better.

Have a good one.

Posted (edited)

When’s the team announce? Or is it a new “surprise!” system? 

Edited by Mel Bourne
Posted (edited)
34 minutes ago, JTR said:

https://www.sen.com.au/news/2020/07/08/is-the-fundamental-flaw-in-olivers-game-a-liability-for-melbourne/

Notice how Gerard Healy on the couch and Gary Lyon haven't mentioned Clayton Oliver the last 3 weeks?  and Gerard even pointed out that he is having a great season. it's always very trendy to knock a player after a few shocking kicks. Weideman had 3 butchers of the ball on the weekend and that cost us 3 goals but because they were for goal, they get forgotten. 

knocking oliver because of his kicking is equivalent to saying nick riewoldt needed to be dropped because he had kicking yips that lasted several years. Oliver) has areas to improve in his game but to even mention them is a disservice to what he does offer. elite tackling, power at the stoppages and elite hands. Oh, buddy Franklin had no right foot? would you even bother mentioning it. I mean seriously some people are hard to please. 

Oliver is a jet. His kicking is marginally behind petracca at the moment. Petraccas kicking isn't great but his strengths this season far outweigh his kicking. 

Edited by Dr.D
Posted

Why do the teams come out so bloody late? The game is in 26 hours. Bah!

Posted

Surely if Sparrow is in, he's replacing Jetta.

I would be mildly disappointed if both Jetta and Brayshaw held their spots.

3 minutes ago, Dr.D said:

It's equivalent to saying nick riewoldt needs to be dropped because he had kicking yips that lasted several years. Its like, yeah ok he (or Oliver) has areas to improve in their game but to even mention them is a disservice to what he does offer. elite tackling, power at the stoppages and elite hands. Oh, buddy Franklin had no right foot? would you even bother mentioning it. I mean seriously some people are hard to please. 

Oliver is a jet. His kicking is marginally behind petracca at the moment. Petraccas kicking isn't great but his strengths this season far outweigh his kicking. 

Whilst I'm all for pumping up Oliver's strengths, I can't accept this statement.

IMO, Petracca's kicking this year (both at goal and in the field) have improved significantly whereas Oliver's have not. Oliver is still turning it over from relatively simple short kicks which he should, at his stage of his career, be more consistently making.

Posted
19 minutes ago, JTR said:

Says the guy who clearly didn't even read the entire post he was responding to and always has a perfectly balanced view on all our players... 

What exactly do you disagree with?  

If you look at all in and under midfielders, the disposal by foot can sometimes be all over the place, as they are constantly under pressure

Oliver may also fluff a kick or 2 a game with no pressure, with everything else he brings to the table,  I can live with this. You will also notice he makes concerted efforts to try and tidy up the mess he made

I personally don't watch the game for mistakes, or feel the need to go back and review to find mistakes, you obviously do, which you are entitled to do

Doesn't mean everybody has to agree with your opinion

Posted
44 minutes ago, chook fowler said:

Harmes will be the lucky one if he gets to play. Jones was much better than he was against the Lions.

Maybe the coach should play Harmes in his proper position as a tagger then his form may surprisingly come back chook. 

Posted
12 minutes ago, titan_uranus said:

Surely if Sparrow is in, he's replacing Jetta.

I would be mildly disappointed if both Jetta and Brayshaw held their spots.

Whilst I'm all for pumping up Oliver's strengths, I can't accept this statement.

IMO, Petracca's kicking this year (both at goal and in the field) have improved significantly whereas Oliver's have not. Oliver is still turning it over from relatively simple short kicks which he should, at his stage of his career, be more consistently making.

its not a big enough sample size. 7 games. Petracca put a blow torch to the ball for 5 years in front of goal and he has had his fair share of scrubbers this year. 

Posted
52 minutes ago, Satyriconhome said:

I don't know what you are smoking, but I wish I had some

Sparrow -back pocket? I doubt he has ever played there

Smith-rotate through midfield in what role

As for Omac out

Well he did actually. Played down back for SA in the under 18 championships.

Posted
7 minutes ago, Dr.D said:

its not a big enough sample size. 7 games. Petracca put a blow torch to the ball for 5 years in front of goal and he has had his fair share of scrubbers this year. 

I'm not talking about over their careers, I'm talking about right now.

Right now, Petracca's kicking is superior to Oliver's. I'm quite happy to disagree with you on that. 

Posted
2 hours ago, loges said:

While I love what he can bring to the side I think he had a pretty insignificant game on Sunday.

His influence was certainly down on the weekend, but I think we'll have to wear that a little bit as he continues to build confidence in his body and he gets some consistency back in his game.  If he didn't need the rest, which is the smart thing to do right now, I'd say he would be keeping his spot in the side.

Posted
1 hour ago, Deemania since 56 said:

• TMac to CHB

Will not happen for two reasons:

the backline is travelling OK partic since OMac has returned
TMac has been played as a forward for more than 2 years. No way will he be switched mid-season