1 minute ago, RedButMostlyBlue said:

We're lucky to still be in this, I hope we make the most of that good luck in the second half!

Our backline has been pretty great. But were smashed everywhere else, and the few times we got the ball, our i50 delivery not good, esp in that second quarter.

Umpiring some of the worst I've seen.

Brisbane are very good but we have missed enough easy shots to be in front, let alone the effect of the putrid umpiring. We need to come out fired up and make the first ten mins count. And Goodwin, fix up the clearances!

Not that I think we are at our absolute best, but I think even at our best we aren’t in the same league as teams like Brisbane. They are pretty slick through the midfield. Great stoppage work. 

Good to see they have Lynch for totally impartial special comments.?

6 minutes ago, forever demons said:

brayshaw and tracc are you trying,ask them goodwin

Tracs doing the most imo.

1 minute ago, big_red_fire_engine said:

Our backline was massive to hold up under that. Getting nothing clean in that quarter from our mids or much pressure from our half forwards. There mids are very good at negative first possession when we get it. Just need to get better value from the stoppages and and go back to more lowering our eyes into 50.

our backline was good but we're also flooding behind the ball.

1 minute ago, daisycutter said:

I've been listening on 3aw.

I've never heard commentators talk so much about free kicks, both those missed/not paid and those paid wrongly. they are totally perplexed by the umpiring. 

Unfortunately 3aw aren’t mainstream enough and can get the umpire bias on the agenda

1 minute ago, big_red_fire_engine said:

Our backline was massive to hold up under that. Getting nothing clean in that quarter from our mids or much pressure from our half forwards. There mids are very good at negative first possession when we get it. Just need to get better value from the stoppages and and go back to more lowering our eyes into 50.

Yep lucky our defenders held strong considering our midfielders applied zero pressure on the ball carriers. 

We have a major advantage with Max Gawn in the ruck. But we are getting smashed in the clearances. Fix that up and we have half a chance.

5 minutes ago, MaysSoreGroin said:

How the F is that 15m, and that one, and that one, and that one?

When the umpires department is led by incompetents, every kick looks further than 15m

3 minutes ago, Ham said:

Melbourne need to ask for a please explain by the AFL for this terrible umpiring.

Hate to disappoint, but it's like this every match, every week. A crisis, ignored by the AFL brass because ???? who the [censored] can work out what they're thinking.

Still in the game thanks to our stern defence. Absolutely need to raise the contested ball and clearances and cut out the odd stupid kick. Couldn't care less what the umpires are doing get over it, just really need to get our hands on the footy. 

1 minute ago, Dame Gaga said:

Good to see they have Lynch for totally impartial special comments.?

Another [censored]

absolutely hates Melbourne too. 

We don’t have the leg speed to go with them, I fear a blowout in the final quarter 

1 minute ago, praha said:

our backline was good but we're also flooding behind the ball.

That's because Brisbane's got the game set up in their forward half, which is what we'd prefer to be doing.

We have horrible system around stoppages, Brisbane are just walking it out of there. 

3 minutes ago, Pipefitter said:

Not that I think we are at our absolute best, but I think even at our best we aren’t in the same league as teams like Brisbane. They are pretty slick through the midfield. Great stoppage work. 

Their coach worked under Paul Roos...

5 minutes ago, Bonkers said:

We have a major advantage with Max Gawn in the ruck. But we are getting smashed in the clearances. Fix that up and we have half a chance.

Hes awesome in the hit outs as per usual.

However i feel his marking around the ground has become a barometer of our team.

Hes had one a qrt.

Last week it was four times that. Still he cant do it all. 

2 minutes ago, MF-C said:

need a spark - ain't over just not sure where it will come from 

hopefully Max, Tracc and possibly Viney 

Pickett in the middle??? Got to get him in the game

Just now, leave it to deever said:

Hes awesome in the hit outs as per usual.

However i feel his marking around the ground has become a barometer of our team.

Hes had one a qrt.

Last week it was four times that. Still he cant do it all. 

the umpires not paying chopping of the arms

Just can't see us winning this..

Brisbane are on another level unfortunately. 

7 minutes ago, Jaded said:

If one more commentator tells me it’s Jetta’a fault for leading with his head I will scream. 
Find me a more courageous player you pack of soft flogs sitting in your warm studio passing judgement. 
Jesus I can’t with this. 

To be honest Jaded he is leading with his head. It is brave but poor technique and to be honest, dangerous. Needs to change it.

Glad we have the HT break to regroup.  I reckon we show something this quarter.  Still probably lose we we cant roll over

Midfield got truely smashed that quarter

Carrying way too many at the moment. Pickett, Bennell, Brayshaw..  

Can someone explain what James Harmes role in the team is? is he tagging tonight?

Nathan Jones is finished, sadly, so Is Nev, great warriors, but a few yards off it.