Collingwood vs Richmond

praha

Rumblings around the place this morning that Collingwood and Richmond will reopen the season.

How boring. How good would a Fight MND game between Melbourne and Collingwood have been? Is that even still going to go ahead?

9 minutes ago, praha said:

Rumblings around the place this morning that Collingwood and Richmond will reopen the season.

How boring. How good would a Fight MND game between Melbourne and Collingwood have been? Is that even still going to go ahead?

Will draw a huge sellout crowd at the 'G'...

10 minutes ago, praha said:

The AFL and channel 7 want as many eyes on the TV as possible. That rules us out at the moment. Until we can recapture late 2018 form regularly we are not attractive to the wider AFL community. 

MND is a great cause but after weeks of no footy the AFL wants to maximise the audience and we just don't cut it.

31 minutes ago, Demonland said:

The AFL and channel 7 want as many eyes on the TV as possible. That rules us out at the moment. Until we can recapture late 2018 form regularly we are not attractive to the wider AFL community. 

MND is a great cause but after weeks of no footy the AFL wants to maximise the audience and we just don't cut it.

This argument is a furphy...

Given there has been no live sport on TV for a while even a Casey v Frankston game would rate through the roof.

The AFL are so hooked on the compromised draw they just think its natural.

If ever there was a season where you could have a random draw this is it. As to when each match is played I concede that TV ratings have a say but there is no reason why they can't be announced say five weeks out. Logistics re stadiums and crowds etc are massively simplified so the usual arguments against forward notice don't apply

1 hour ago, rjay said:

This argument is a furphy...

Given there has been no live sport on TV for a while even a Casey v Frankston game would rate through the roof.

For the first half maybe but if it's not a close match then people will switch off. The AFL will be looking to pit two evenly matched teams. We would get belted by both Collingwood and Richmond based on 2019 form. Until we can prove that 2018 was not an aberration then we don't factor into evenly matched contests.

Even sport starved footy fans would turn off if we were getting done by 1/4 time. Blockbusters by the big clubs are an obvious starting point 

Edit. Come to think of it, and given current financial climate, I'm happy that we will start the season soon with MFC participating. In the madness of the last  couple of months, I half expected the AFL to use iso and shutdown as reasons to shake up the comp and remove what could argued as deadwood. If by the end of this year we finish in the finals (whatever that looks like), it would be a good platform to launch into 2021. Of course it would be great to win it in 2020, but this isn't a time for small clubs to be making demands or assuming that rules of fairness apply.

Edited by Moonshadow

Pies v tigers would probably be the number 1 requested game to watch at the moment given both clubs are at the top of their game at the moment.

Kind of glad it’s not us against Collingwood rd 2. However it might still be GWS which would just be as bad.

Edited by Bring-Back-Powell

11 hours ago, Demonland said:

The AFL and channel 7 want as many eyes on the TV as possible.

10 hours ago, spirit of norm smith said:

Agreed. Why give preference to big clubs. It shows the uneven nature of the competition. But what’s new!!

Channel 9 are about to sign a record deal for NRL TV rights. That leaves one bidder for the AFL TV rights. The AFL won't have so much leverage and are probably nervous and wanting to show Channel 7 the value they will get, ie eyeballs & ad revenue.

23 hours ago, Diamond_Jim said:

The AFL are so hooked on the compromised draw they just think its natural.

If ever there was a season where you could have a random draw this is it. As to when each match is played I concede that TV ratings have a say but there is no reason why they can't be announced say five weeks out. Logistics re stadiums and crowds etc are massively simplified so the usual arguments against forward notice don't apply

Correct tv rights/ratings continue to shape every season fixture thus compromising the draw! Eg Tigers played last 7 games in 2019 in Vic mostly @ the mcg why???

16 minutes ago, Hogan2014 said:

Tigers played last 7 games in 2019 in Vic mostly @ the mcg why???

Because teams such as Melbourne request home games against Richmond (and Collingwood) to boost gate receipts.

The only way to have Richmond playing away from the MCG is for Melbourne to be happy to host the likes of Gold Coast and Fremantle.

13 minutes ago, poita said:

Because teams such as Melbourne request home games against Richmond (and Collingwood) to boost gate receipts.

The only way to have Richmond playing away from the MCG is for Melbourne to be happy to host the likes of Gold Coast and Fremantle.

Agree .. that’s what  happens when you don’t play each other twice ... both Melb & Coll only beat 1 team in the top 8 in 2018 yet Pies finished to 4 separated by %  from WC who beat 5 teams in the top 8 . Perhaps a solution is to play each other once then top 8 play each other again to finalise their positions... the bottom 10 can play a round robin for prize money or draft picks .. this would make it a 24 game season for top 8 & ensure positions earned are fair.

Edited by Hogan2014

Anyone who's been listening to MMM's Hot Breakfast the last couple of weeks would've heard McGuire reporting on CFC v RFC as the first match back as if it were gospel.

Even if this fixture was already locked in behind closed doors, it's a great play by him to normalise this as the restart game amongst the footy public before the AFL could announce otherwise.

Mc Guire nominated this match and Lo it will come to pass. 

The AFL can save themselves a lot trouble every year and just get Eddie to tell them what he wants, that suits Collingwood.

No need for any pretence at a fair go for every team and a level playing field.

What's the bet that "trumped up" [censored] told the AFL to have the Collingwood and Carlton AFLW teams start that particular season with a match against each other.

27 minutes ago, pineapple dee said:

The AFL can save themselves a lot trouble every year and just get Eddie to tell them what he wants, that suits Collingwood.

No need for any pretence at a fair go for every team and a level playing field.

What's the bet that "trumped up" [censored] told the AFL to have the Collingwood and Carlton AFLW teams start that particular season with a match against each other.

The only way to stop it is to beat them..

Lets be honest, fans would watch the two proverbial flies crawling up the wall but no the inherent bias comes naturally to the fore.

Hawks and Bombers must be upset... the rest of us.....we know our place as do our sponsors

MFC... Sunday arvo game ??

I’m not too fussed about us not featuring in the first game but I really don’t want us to be relegated to the 1pm Sunday slot again. 

But we need to win again, 2019 undid so much of the hard work done to get respect again. We’re not big enough to fail and still get good treatment. 

I object to the word knbbbbbb being censored. What precisely is the objection to that ????  Especially when referring to Eddie Mc Guire.

17 hours ago, pineapple dee said:

People say Eddie is "good for football". In fact he is all about what's good for Collingwood, regardless of whether it's good for football overall.

14 minutes ago, Mazer Rackham said:

People say Eddie is "good for football". In fact he is all about what's good for Collingwood, regardless of whether it's good for football overall.

Not sure that the AFL really listen to him anymore. He's been blowing hot air for so long now most would know his agenda. Big difference to when the footy show was top of the ratings and he was Eddie everywhere. His reputation took a deserved beating over the Goodes affair,

He's good for a newspaper headline in the tabloids but Collingwood have marked time financially for a while now. Mind you by comparison to the MFC they aren't doing badly but if you put them up against the interstate power houses of Adelaide and WCE they are falling behind.

In a perverse way the lesser clubs could do okay this season if they are given decent TV exposure because they have the least to lose from crowd receipts not to mention membership refunds.

On 5/15/2020 at 9:57 AM, poita said:

We have to request to host them otherwise we never get scheduled home games against them