This is catchy!

images.jpeg-1.jpg.f466f267401356e2b42b48d716c13961.jpg

We could just use Hawks:

- Dynamic: Will will be amazing in patches and horrendous in others, you will never know what to expect

- Respectful: We will respect the right of opposition teams to pull apart our game plan at will and never shall we waver in our belief that we need more inside mids

- Selfless: Every other club comes first

- Supportive: When our supporters are loosing their mind due to our on field performance, we will empathize with you and tell you we are hurting to

- Relentless: We will handball at every opportunity and will relentlessly put our own under pressure

Mission statements are just another example of corporate wankery invading sport... 

They dont do a damn thing to improve performance, and the vast majority of employees couldnt tell you what their organizations Mission Statement was.

We dont need one. Actions speak louder than words so the saying goes.

More like missionary position most of the time. 

1 hour ago, monoccular said:

You a traditionalist mono?

17 hours ago, Moonshadow said:

"To get to Mt Buller by round 10"

Mate if there was snow then, I’d be there

21 hours ago, ding said:

Mission statements are just another example of corporate wankery invading sport... 

They dont do a damn thing to improve performance, and the vast majority of employees couldnt tell you what their organizations Mission Statement was.

wrong. mission statements may be "wanky" but a clear one has buy-in, is easy to understand, and is inspiring.

29 minutes ago, praha said:

wrong. mission statements may be "wanky" but a clear one has buy-in, is easy to understand, and is inspiring.

They provide no measurable benefit that i know of. "Buy in" cant be scientifically measured because its based on feeling, not facts. 

Be happy to read any research you know of that shows they have a positive benefit to any organization who institues them.

Glad you agree that they are "Wanky" though :)

20 hours ago, monoccular said:

Well Mono, I reckon we supporters actually copped it ..... err.... shall we say ….. the other way.

On 8/25/2019 at 12:07 AM, Beetle said:

C35FA663-AD83-4EC5-93FF-8E4E7B97E99D.jpeg

Now that's funny. Well played sir.

• Author
On 8/25/2019 at 2:30 PM, ding said:

Don’t agree it’s what a club/organisation stands for & values etc! It’s what all their decisions they make should be referenced to if not what do you stand for??? Agree getting buy in from all isn’t adhere to & in the case of a footy club if players don’t buy in say F off!

17 minutes ago, Demonsone said:

Don’t agree it’s what a club/organisation stands for & values etc! It’s what all their decisions they make should be referenced to if not what do you stand for??? Agree getting buy in from all isn’t adhere to & in the case of a footy club if players don’t buy in say F off!

Yeah but it doesnt mean that at all. It is what the Management of an organization tells their potential customers they stand for regardless of whether or not they mean it.

Pick a random number of fortune 500 companies and read them..... Practically all generic waffle.

An organization isnt just its leadership/management, its the employees who make the difference.... the same employees who dont know, and most likely dont give a stuff what their management says they "stand for". If you could show me a single organization of reasonable size, where more than 5% can tell you the mission statement is i would be genuinely shocked. The vast majority of employees couldnt care less if they had a Mission Statement or not. Its corporate wankery.

P.S. Tell me honestly if you think we would have won premiership in the last 10 years if we had a mission statement, because that is the only reason we exist... to win premierships.

P.P.S. Companies stand for profit. Profit for the owners and profit for the investors. Remove the profit and no amount of flowery Mission Statements will save it. The only "organization" who could write a genuine mission statement is probably a non-profit/charity because they wouldnt have to lie about money not being the main aim.

On 8/25/2019 at 10:23 PM, Moonshadow said:

You a traditionalist mono?

Mono might only know two ways,  up...... and  down.

• Author
9 minutes ago, ding said:

Yeah but it doesnt mean that at all. It is what the Management of an organization tells their potential customers they stand for regardless of whether or not they mean it.

Pick a random number of fortune 500 companies and read them..... Practically all generic waffle.

An organization isnt just its leadership/management, its the employees who make the difference.... the same employees who dont know, and most likely dont give a stuff what their management says they "stand for". If you could show me a single organization of reasonable size, where more than 5% can tell you the mission statement is i would be genuinely shocked. The vast majority of employees couldnt care less if they had a Mission Statement or not. Its corporate wankery.

P.S. Tell me honestly if you think we would have won premiership in the last 10 years if we had a mission statement, because that is the only reason we exist... to win premierships.

P.P.S. Companies stand for profit. Profit for the owners and profit for the investors. Remove the profit and no amount of flowery Mission Statements will save it. The only "organization" who could write a genuine mission statement is probably a non-profit/charity because they wouldnt have to lie about money not being the main aim.

Honestly .. I’ve supported the club my whole life & member for 20yr+ .. we have been a rudderless club for decades & Watch Norm Smith in 65 when he was sacked & his own words “we are slipping as a footy club” Peter Jackson is the only CEO I’ve been confident, Pert time will tell . All of our fixes prior to PJ were just band aid approaches .. we don’t have a proper home base.. look at the pies home base!  So what do we stand for if you don’t have a mission statement for your club?

Edited by Demonsone

On 8/25/2019 at 2:00 PM, ding said:

looks great on the website though.

45 minutes ago, ding said:

Lets see if they're writing all this razzamatazz when there ride with Clarko ends and are down the bottom.

47 minutes ago, Demonsone said:

Honestly .. I’ve supported the club my whole life & member for 20yr+ .. we have been a rudderless club for decades & Watch Norm Smith in 65 when he was sacked & his own words “we are slipping as a footy club” Peter Jackson is the only CEO I’ve been confident, Pert time will tell . All of our fixes prior to PJ were just band aid approaches .. we don’t have a proper home base.. look at the pies home base!  So what do we stand for if you don’t have a mission statement for your club?

You stand for what you personally stand for. That doesnt change by writing it down using far more words than you need to, to impress other people. You either stand for it or you dont. Words can suggest you "stand for" anything. Actions show the real truth. That doesnt mean you failed to "buy in", it probably means you are happy to collect your paycheck each week, and leave the wanky [censored] to middle management types who are all for climbing the ladder by using Rah-Rah statements to stand out.

Mission statements are worthless word salad.

56 minutes ago, ding said:

You stand for what you personally stand for.

Quite right, Ding.   And if you don't stand for something, you'll fall for anything.