30 minutes ago, Lord Nev said:

Or the Tassie Devils given the story about the team coming on in 2022...

If that was true (and if Dwayne says it I can't help but be suspicious) they'd already have to split loyalties between Hobart and Launceston, surely they won't want to confuse the issue even more with a third faction of fans. Not a great time to be - or about to be - a broke Victorian club that relies on handouts and selling games interstate.

55 minutes ago, Bring-Back-Powell said:

At least next year we'll be hosting the Queens Birthday and Anzac Eve.

Lets hope we have good early season form then to capitalise on this 

1 minute ago, DubDee said:

What a friggen rabble we are

It’s a complete beat up. 

Read the last line of the article, where it says every club that receives funding from the AFL presents to the commission on a rotating basis.

I assume we are just there to plead our case to retain pick 2

3 minutes ago, Demons11 said:

It’s a complete beat up. 

Read the last line of the article, where it says every club that receives funding from the AFL presents to the commission on a rotating basis.

I was about to post the same thing....

I hear we are asking for a few more NT games as the dollars are so nice.

Rumor is swirling that we are also changing our name to the Melbourne Nomads, and making our jumper all-white as it makes signalling surrender a bit easier. OFC that will happen only if our proposed merger with Gold Coast gets knocked back

We might also put our hand up for the China game from next year, and will be gifting any sponsorship money to relationship counselling so we can take over the mantle of "The Family Club"

:D

6 minutes ago, ding said:

I hear we are asking for a few more NT games as the dollars are so nice.

Rumor is swirling that we are also changing our name to the Melbourne Nomads, and making our jumper all-white as it makes signalling surrender a bit easier. OFC that will happen only if our proposed merger with Gold Coast gets knocked back

We might also put our hand up for the China game from next year, and will be gifting any sponsorship money to relationship counselling so we can take over the mantle of "The Family Club"

:D

I’ve been told Gold Coast didn’t support the merger as they don’t want to be associated with the Melbourne rabble. 

Edited by Ethan Tremblay

46 minutes ago, beelzebub said:

I would imagine the AFL are issuing a please explain.."we gave you everything. ..and you still [censored] it all up !! What gives??"

But the AFL didn't really give us everything did they bub?  It's just another footy myth.  More lies.

A myth that those with an agenda will happily believe.  You and others should take the time to read our annual reports.  10 profitable years from the last 11 doesn't make sense for a club that has been mostly poor on the field

But we've actually been well protected financially when taking into account the largesse amounts from Foundation Hero's,  Pokies ($4Million - $5Million net profit per year) and the NT money (800k per game)

But old habits die hard and we spent many years associating big financial losses with poor onfield results.  Or vice-versa

Having said all that I do have concerns about the income streams that can replace the Pokies money.  Hope they've got a good plan.

52 minutes ago, Demons11 said:

It’s a complete beat up. 

We sell games to NT and still need to be propped up by the AFL. 

Rabble

1 minute ago, Macca said:

But the AFL didn't really give us everything did they bub?  It's just another footy myth.  More lies.

A myth that those with an agenda will happily believe.  You and others should take the time to read our annual reports.  10 profitable years from the last 11 doesn't make sense for a club that has been mostly poor on the field

But we've actually been well protected financially when taking into account the largesse amounts from Foundation Hero's,  Pokies ($4Million - $5Million net profit per year) and the NT money (800k per game)

But old habits die hard and we spent many years associating big financial losses with poor onfield results.  Or vice-versa

Having said all that I do have concerns about the income streams that can replace the Pokies money.  Hope they've got a good plan.

The plan was to be successful on-field, make finals consistently and increase our membership based. Given our membership base will slip next season, I’d say we’ve already failed. I’m seriously hoping for a big-time rebound next season. 

55 minutes ago, Demons11 said:

It’s a complete beat up. 

Having thought about this a bit more, doesn't every club receive funding from the AFL? 

1 hour ago, Bring-Back-Powell said:

At least next year we'll be hosting the Queens Birthday and Anzac Eve.

No we won’t. Pretty sure we will get Anzac Eve but remain away on Queen’s Birthday so that from 2021 onwards we’re home in one and away in one each year. 

56 minutes ago, Demons11 said:

It’s a complete beat up. 

Agreed. 

A complete non-story.

I suspect the underlying purpose is to obtain finance from the AFL to assist our search for a definitive home base

10 minutes ago, Ethan Tremblay said:

The plan was to be successful on-field, make finals consistently and increase our membership based. Given our membership base will slip next season, I’d say we’ve already failed. I’m seriously hoping for a big-time rebound next season. 

Is this official or what you want or wish for?

To replace $4Million - $5Million net profit from pokies would take a hefty increase in membership.  Unless they were the premium type and thousands of them.

Would have thought the club would invest the sale of the pokies into another revenue stream. 

Got anything official that you can direct us to ET?

2 minutes ago, joeboy said:

I suspect the underlying purpose is to obtain finance from the AFL to assist our search for a definitive home base

Finally someone who has a clue.

Good work as usual joeboy.

9 minutes ago, La Dee-vina Comedia said:

Having thought about this a bit more, doesn't every club receive funding from the AFL? 

Yep ... and some of the successful clubs can receive a larger dividend than the struggling clubs due to the complications associated towards those dividends.

Upwards of $10Million - $12Million per club per year when I last saw the figures.  With no real breakdown so almost impossible to make sense of it all LDvC

Probably done that way purposely is my cynical view.  The GCS & GWS would get close to $25Million - $30Million each per year IMHO.  The membership numbers for both clubs are inflated and what other revenue streams do both clubs have? 

23 minutes ago, Macca said:

Macca ... there is a variable distribution system and there is no doubt we benefit from it more than say West Coast or Essendon. Here's an excellent analysis:

Teams who receive the most structural support unsurprisingly includes the expansion teams GWS and Gold Coast, as well as the four small-market Victorian teams in St Kilda, the Bulldogs, North Melbourne and Melbourne.

The good news is that we are the best of the bottom four Melbourne clubs.

http://www.hpnfooty.com/?p=31622

26 minutes ago, Diamond_Jim said:

Macca ... there is a variable distribution system and there is no doubt we benefit from it more than say West Coast or Essendon. Here's an excellent analysis:

Teams who receive the most structural support unsurprisingly includes the expansion teams GWS and Gold Coast, as well as the four small-market Victorian teams in St Kilda, the Bulldogs, North Melbourne and Melbourne.

The good news is that we are the best of the bottom four Melbourne clubs.

http://www.hpnfooty.com/?p=31622

Yeah but the extra revenue in the dividend has factors such as when clubs like us are at a disadvantage with regards to the general draw,  blockbuster games,  free-to-air games etc

We get shafted and then they give us some extra dollars to shut us up.  Been that way for years.  The smaller clubs are kept at arms length and then made out to be on drip feed.

For instance ... the smaller clubs get lumbered with having to play extra home games against low drawing interstate teams.  Year after year after year.  Meanwhile,  the big clubs get to play each other on a regular basis.  Year after year after year.

Revenue gets effected because of the above - free-to-air exposure,  sponsorship,  visibility,  membership etc etc.

And the gullible footy public buy into it like it is somehow connected to a competitive edge. 

Then some of our own supporters who are angry towards our current on field plight buy-in as well.

There are a lot of lies in footy DJ - you should know that.

16 minutes ago, Macca said:

Yeah but the extra revenue in the dividend has factors such as when clubs like us are at a disadvantage with regards to the general draw,  blockbuster games,  free-to-air games etc

We get shafted and then they give us some extra dollars to shut us up.  Been that way for years.  The smaller clubs are kept at arms length and then made out to be on drip feed.

And the gullible footy public buy into it like it is somehow connected to a competitive edge. 

And our own supporters who are angry and hateful towards our current on field plight buy-in as well. 

There are a lot of lies in footy DJ - you should know that.

yep....bring on the 17 round fixture

Any chance we can put this on the agenda ...

68390145_10156317962011440_5359883842675015680_o.thumb.jpg.9d543f327c9593049fb19f8aaa0af9d0.jpg

Just now, Diamond_Jim said:

yep....bring on the 17 round fixture

Not going to happen DJ.

The big clubs wouldn't stand for it.  Their double-up blockbusters add a lot to their bottom lines'. 

In a general sense there is too much revenue at stake to ever see a 17 game season.

Meanwhile,  the gap between the small clubs and the big clubs gets wider every year. 

We as a club need to work the draft,  salary cap and coaching to our advantage.  I have always thought that a club like ours needs to at least have one of the best coaches in the system. 

But for the most part we continually appoint rookie coaches.  And that is not a knock on Goodwin,  it's just that a club like ours needs to find an advantage or 2. 

We are,  by default,  behind the 8 ball in so many areas.  Other clubs tick the boxes as a matter of course.  That won't be changing in a hurry either.

1 hour ago, titan_uranus said:

No we won’t. Pretty sure we will get Anzac Eve but remain away on Queen’s Birthday so that from 2021 onwards we’re home in one and away in one each year. 

Thanks for clarifying that.

Makes complete sense to alternate each year.