On 10/10/2019 at 8:20 PM, TGR said:

There’s a reason why 17 clubs fancy themselves against Melbourne.

’”Put speed on the game” is the mantra in every oppo huddle.  Nothing to do with our ball movement!!!!!  You don’t think foot speed is important on defensive transition?  And you reckon you understand footy.  

You MFC supporters are ATAR smart because your folks and more likely grandparents sponsored your private school education and weekly tutoring.  We’re not street smart.  We’re not smart where it counts.  We’re comfortable with excusing failure, because anything contrary to it is counter to our DNA.  Bit like the libs with climate change:  deny the undeniable because at the end of the day, the islanders will be under water and the rich white man will be able to afford 3 phase aircon.

Understand footy?  Pfft.

What an A-hole.

On 10/12/2019 at 4:56 PM, Ethan Tremblay said:

It’s up to 4 phase air-con now, 3 phases are for the peasants.

Turn up your air-con TGR, you’re melting. 

When anyone talks about climate change, i get a sinking feeling.

On 10/10/2019 at 8:20 PM, TGR said:

’”Put speed on the game” is the mantra in every oppo huddle.  Nothing to do with our ball movement!!!!!  You don’t think foot speed is important on defensive transition?  And you reckon you understand footy.  

You MFC supporters are ATAR smart because your folks and more likely grandparents sponsored your private school education and weekly tutoring.  We’re not street smart.  We’re not smart where it counts.  We’re comfortable with excusing failure, because anything contrary to it is counter to our DNA.  Bit like the libs with climate change:  deny the undeniable because at the end of the day, the islanders will be under water and the rich white man will be able to afford 3 phase aircon.

Understand footy?  Pfft.

‘You’ MFC supporters, or ‘we’re’....seems like you’ve got an identity crisis. 

I have to ask, what are you even doing here?

On 10/11/2019 at 11:17 AM, TGR said:

What is the criteria?

- Makes me feel awkward?

- Makes me feel challenged?

- Makes me confront our cultural flaws?

- Makes debate a tad robust?

- Makes me defend supporting decisions that have invariably failed?

Guilty as charged.

Apologies to yourself and:

1. Wiseblood

3 hours ago
  2. AshleyH30

3 hours ago
  3. Demon Diva

Demon Diva

11 hours ago
  4. Dr. Gonzo

Dr. Gonzo

12 hours ago
  5. Neil Crompton

13 hours ago
  6. A F

A F

13 hours ago

Strawberry fields for ever.

pTGR

Eh? What are you blabbering on about?

On 10/10/2019 at 5:20 PM, TGR said:

Understand footy?  Pfft.

78FFC4DA-BE74-41BB-845B-09864EDE9E51.gif

Welcome Adam. good gig if you can get it at MFC. No one really expects you to improve or work too hard on your game. No great need to kick or handball on non preferred side. Just go to training, be best 22 and you will have a few fans here. If you crack a game in the finals with us you will even be a hero. 

3 minutes ago, Dr.D said:

we just got slower. nice work goodie

Took you two weeks to put that analysis together..?

Just now, TeamPlayedFine39 said:

Took you two weeks to put that analysis together..?

so you dont like the timing of my post? 

he's basically a Tom McDonald clone of the backline. a headless chook

8 minutes ago, Dr.D said:

so you dont like the timing of my post? 

he's basically a Tom McDonald clone of the backline. a headless chook

But he doesn’t play in the back line?

He didn’t cost us anything - what’s the particular problem with signing him as a FA?

Edited by Gawn's Beard

Admittedly I haven't seen a lot of Tomlinson, but I've been interested to see various media outlets describe him & Langdon as helping to solve our outside run issues. 

Langdon, I can see that, but Tomlinson? The KPPish size guy who was pinch hitting in the ruck during the finals?

51 minutes ago, JTR said:

Admittedly I haven't seen a lot of Tomlinson, but I've been interested to see various media outlets describe him & Langdon as helping to solve our outside run issues. 

Langdon, I can see that, but Tomlinson? The KPPish size guy who was pinch hitting in the ruck during the finals?

The KPP sized guy who played on a wing, and instead of going to the bench pinch hit in the ruck, during finals. 

Edit: here is an article describing him in GWSs top 3 endurance runners. https://m.afl.com.au/news/2018-01-17/running-men-whos-your-clubs-endurance-king

Edited by deanox

He will be a nice link player for us.  He doesnt get a lot of touches but he takes a lot of marks as he works hard to get into space.

He wont set the world on fire but hes a professional role player.

On 10/12/2019 at 1:29 PM, one_demon said:

Still not convinced he can be an effective wingman

Can we revisit this mid season please. 

On ‎10‎/‎8‎/‎2019 at 10:21 PM, deanox said:

I watching the AFL player tracker (live player GPS position during matches) during the finals to see where players from top clubs were moving. It was interesting to watch Tomlinson constantly take the "fat side" wing, dropping just behind the play in the hole. His role seemed to be a defensive winger, whose fast movement to position and aerial ability prevented the opposition from switching play, stopped a loose man getting space out the back. 

He found his way forward, trying to slip behind defense when GWS attacked: as he was on the far wing, he wasn't making the play but he was forcing opponents to match up on him and defend, so they couldn't be elsewhere. 

He isn't a high possession winner but his positioning seemed critical to defending and to providing options in attack. 

I also watched him compete against Grundy. Not fantastic but held his own, better than our pinch hitters do. 

this superbly summed up what we don't do well and why I think Thomlinson will be valuable. He naturally takes up the spare ground and stops easy ball on the outside. a lot of winning is what happens off the ball and cutting off easy options, so the opposition has to take risks. Langdons pace and outside run will help as well.

• Demonland unpinned this topic
  • 3 months later...

vs Hawks tonight   - 32 possessions, 10 marks, 5 tackles.   Wowee!

Maybe this guy was stuck in his ways at GWS.  He was always in the same old role there and they never really gave him any responsibility.  Perhaps he has a whole new level to go to.

And  we got him for free.  Could be the steal of the century.

Played 99% game time. Not bad for someone who was injured with a calf most pre season. Fitness clearly not an issue. 

Was great tonight , can play.

I can see him for the most part rubbing to and down the wing but also had the ability to swing a game either forward or back. I'm already a fan get, around him ?

On 10/19/2019 at 8:37 AM, Moonshadow said:

What an A-hole.

Excellent post with reference to your quote. Good pick up and hopefully a good piece of the puzzle. 

On 8/5/2019 at 9:43 PM, olisik said:

Another fringe player to clog our list. No for me.

hmmmmm...................

• Author

Gun.

Commentators were praising him for running Scully ragged on the wing.