Posted
12 minutes ago, deanox said:

In the OP out says the article states northeastern corner, but the image shown in the next post is the northwestern corner...

Can someone clarify?

The triangle adjacent to the Jolimont Station.

Posted
23 minutes ago, Cards13 said:

Where the MCG current is? And it’s a car park most weekends? That sacred site?

we'll just dedicate it that great indigenous game - marngrook - solved

Posted
34 minutes ago, DeeSpencer said:

You can run it across that corner of land and pretty much fit it in without losing many trees. The trees that would be lost could be replaced with native varieties. 

It would stop an area being used as a car park (a dying trend anyway) and replace it with an oval that can be used for a functional purpose whilst still maintaining a park feel.

Pretty much all you are doing is levelling an area of grass, fencing it and painting a few lines.

With the right approach it should be allowed to happen. 

Getting the funding, planning and design of the building over the train line should be the harder part of the project!

yarra park.png

Hopefully theres enough room to make the ground the EXACT size of the MCG.

Not an inch more or less.

Posted
12 minutes ago, Moonshadow said:

Comments below article in The Hun have some up in arms that the govt would be giving up public park space to a football club. Not really accurate at all, as it would value add to the park and only be used by club during training times. I'm guessing it would have a basic fence like Goschs. Assuming there is no building proposed on parkland and there are no decent sized trees involved, I can't see the problem. Goschs Paddock oval could even have its posts and fence removed to make it less of a sports ground.

Probably similar to what North have done at Arden St

Posted
12 minutes ago, hells bells said:

The triangle adjacent to the Jolimont Station.

Got it.  Ihad problems with Howe the image displayed on mobile so it looked cropped I could only see the NE corner.

Posted
9 minutes ago, Petraccattack said:

Hopefully theres enough room to make the ground the EXACT size of the MCG.

Not an inch more or less.

Addng to that,  if the oval cant be made to the exact dimensions of the MCG its not even worth doing the project or training there.

Posted (edited)

As long as there’s still enough hiding spots between the MCC and Jolimont Station after ten pints, for a wee I’m ok with it.

Edited by Beetle
Posted
40 minutes ago, Lucifer's Hero said:

Yarra Park is within the Melbourne City Council boundaries.  But I believe Yarra Park is Crown Land so owned by the Vic Gov.  Not sure if they need Council permits to change the use of Crown Land but the Gov would need to deal with managing public lobby groups etc.

God forbid that the state government owns or controls. If they have their dirty little claws in it, they will sell it to the highest bidder ( or the lowest bidder). They are the pawns of Satan and cannot be trusted. 

Posted (edited)
22 minutes ago, david_neitz_is_my_dad said:

Its pretty clear there isnt

Then find a new location.

Or perhaps we could replicate the dimensions to a smaller ratio of the MCG, like they did with Optus Stadium in Perth.

Edited by Petraccattack
Posted

Don't shoot the messenger guys, but as East Melbourne resident that lives a couple of hundred metres from the proposed development, I think this is going to be VERY difficult to get up, most particularly the office component which would place a 6 story barrier between East Melbourne and Yarra Park.  The oval may be more doable but even then, the residents have been campaigning for years that Yarra Park is just that....a park.  Not a car park, not a sporting field.   Furthermore, the civil works required to incorporate a level oval on what is a quite pronounced sloping piece of parkland would completely change the nature of the area.   I'll be very surprised if this gets traction.

Posted
1 hour ago, Moonshadow said:

Comments below article in The Hun have some up in arms that the govt would be giving up public park space to a football club. Not really accurate at all, as it would value add to the park and only be used by club during training times. I'm guessing it would have a basic fence like Goschs. Assuming there is no building proposed on parkland and there are no decent sized trees involved, I can't see the problem. Goschs Paddock oval could even have its posts and fence removed to make it less of a sports ground.

Large trees can be prepared, dug-up and transplanted, to new locations.

Posted
54 minutes ago, Copuchas said:

Don't shoot the messenger guys, but as East Melbourne resident that lives a couple of hundred metres from the proposed development, I think this is going to be VERY difficult to get up, most particularly the office component which would place a 6 story barrier between East Melbourne and Yarra Park.  The oval may be more doable but even then, the residents have been campaigning for years that Yarra Park is just that....a park.  Not a car park, not a sporting field.   Furthermore, the civil works required to incorporate a level oval on what is a quite pronounced sloping piece of parkland would completely change the nature of the area.   I'll be very surprised if this gets traction.

lets-shoot.jpg

Posted
1 hour ago, Copuchas said:

The Pullman and other buildings opposite the station are 10+ stories, and the RACGP building directly opposite the proposed site is 6 stories. If the Government gives the approval to build above the train tracks I don't see a reasonable argument against a 6 story building. Covering over the train lines should mean increased pedestrian access.

I don't think this piece of land slopes nearly as much as some of Yarra Park but it would be a challenge. It's a matter of selling the oval as a part of the park and as a community facility. I know East Melbourne residents are a certain type but there's Fitzroy Gardens, Treasury Gardens and the rest of Yarra Park to be enjoyed as purely park spaces. With apartments going up all over the city of Yarra and population booming the strong argument should be made that they need ovals. Council's can create parks from acquiring properties or re purposing car parks. Unless they have a huge vacant area they can't do that for an oval.

Posted
3 hours ago, Diamond_Jim said:

In your dreams... The annexation of public parkland (sure we call it a car park) for an elite sporting code...

Even over in Royal Park there was enormous pushback to the hospital expansion.

Good ambit claim

How would it be annexing public parkland? It would improve it if anything. A beaut mint condition footy oval that lik goschs paddock is open to the public for use

Posted
1 hour ago, DeeSpencer said:

The Pullman and other buildings opposite the station are 10+ stories, and the RACGP building directly opposite the proposed site is 6 stories. If the Government gives the approval to build above the train tracks I don't see a reasonable argument against a 6 story building. Covering over the train lines should mean increased pedestrian access.

I don't think this piece of land slopes nearly as much as some of Yarra Park but it would be a challenge. It's a matter of selling the oval as a part of the park and as a community facility. I know East Melbourne residents are a certain type but there's Fitzroy Gardens, Treasury Gardens and the rest of Yarra Park to be enjoyed as purely park spaces. With apartments going up all over the city of Yarra and population booming the strong argument should be made that they need ovals. Council's can create parks from acquiring properties or re purposing car parks. Unless they have a huge vacant area they can't do that for an oval.

Agree on all of that. I add that on game days hundreds of kids and families would use it to kick the footy pre and post game like they  do on that oval between Hisense and Rod Laver arenas (which ironically used to be one of several footy grounds in that spot).

Local residents might be  rich and powerful but may not get a say depending on planning decisions. 

Posted
3 hours ago, hells bells said:

The one in DeeSpencer’s sketch is correct.

Do you know if the goal to goal axis Dee Spencer has proposed is correct hells bells? 

Posted
5 hours ago, hells bells said:

The article is pretty close to the mark.  There is a commercial element the development of the Victrack site too. Lots of water to go under the bridge though.

I'm not sure if I've got this, but I would hope there'd be a commercial element to the precinct we would own and could then exploit for profit. This is what we've always needed and in the MFC heartland. Fingers crossed. Another one for @Chook in Perth. Kudos again, mate. Wonder if the Sun went public after Chook's post yesterday. It wouldn't be the first time...

Posted
4 hours ago, pineapple dee said:

God forbid that the state government owns or controls. If they have their dirty little claws in it, they will sell it to the highest bidder ( or the lowest bidder). They are the pawns of Satan and cannot be trusted. 

That would be the Federal Government you're thinking of. You know, the ones trying to privatise the ABC, having already handed Murdoch tax-payer-funded Telstra. That's a great organisation now isn't it? The more you privatise, the less customers get. It's all about cutting costs.

Posted
7 hours ago, Diamond_Jim said:

One has to try but it's not a good time to be asking.

Look at the complaints State governments are getting regarding stadium developments in Melbourne and Sydney.

To make these schemes work you need to take a complex that has a cost to Council and say we will maintain it in return for using it for x hours and then it is public space for the remainder. Yarra Park doesn't meet the criteria.

Gosch's paddock on the other does albeit that it is not a great site. Another example is the Magpies with the old greyhound track.

The Sydney stadium tear down rebuilds are not an apt comparison

those are lib gerrymandering to their scg trust mates and built on shoddy business cases apparently

ie tearing down apparently perfectly serviceable stadiums

in NSW we view that as extremely injudicious use of $