Posted
1 hour ago, Deemania since 56 said:

Yep, I'm with you, raDee(laide), living in Seaford and missing the home of football from whence the mighty Dees originate. This city is a hellhole for news, information (etc) of the MFC, and having to tolerate the incestuous football wisdom of the Adelaidean footy fraternity. Still, this site helps, heaps - except for one or two contributors who cloud the horizon with irrelevant one-upmanship; however, these types are few. Going to miss the Adelaide games in 2019  against Crows and Port. Carna Dees!

Having lived in SA, I know exactly what you mean. 

A beautiful place, great food, wine, and the best beaches in the country if not the world. 

However, its a time warp and incredibly inward looking on all things. 

As for footy, nothing exists other than the SA teams. Blow by blow descriptions of training sessions and media coverage of the most minor details. 

Victoria is Mexico and Victorians are Mexicans.  We don't exist. 

A huge cultural difference.

SA is a world apart from the rest of the country.  

Posted
7 hours ago, hemingway said:

My God, May and Preuss look like two tough hombres.

Not to be messed with. 

You would want them on your side. 

We have one hell of a tough outfit.  

Bring on Michael Long.

Posted
Just now, pikeout said:

Bring on Michael Long.

And Leigh Matthews

Posted
11 hours ago, hemingway said:

Having lived in SA, I know exactly what you mean. 

A beautiful place, great food, wine, and the best beaches in the country if not the world. 

However, its a time warp and incredibly inward looking on all things. 

As for footy, nothing exists other than the SA teams. Blow by blow descriptions of training sessions and media coverage of the most minor details. 

Victoria is Mexico and Victorians are Mexicans.  We don't exist. 

A huge cultural difference.

SA is a world apart from the rest of the country.  

You can tell when the carpenter drives the nail straight and square. Totally agree with you.

Posted (edited)
17 minutes ago, Deemania since 56 said:

You can tell when the carpenter drives the nail straight and square. Totally agree with you.

The other thing 56 as you understand these things:

Its a favourite place of residence for folk from the old country. Its hard to pick the Poms from the locals with that odd clipped dialogue. The other group that deserve a special mention is the group of lazy inept tradesmen from the old country.  How to rip off customers and do the least amount of work is a fine art.

And the brain drain from Adelaide to Perth, Sydney and Melbourne started decades ago, well before the term brain drain was invented.

The Crows supporters are the worst. Give me Port Adelaide any day.

The locals as a rule are very courteous but distant. .

Apart from that it is a lovely place and wonderful holiday destination. The Fleurieu Peninsula is one of the most beautiful places on the planet. Special mention to Kangaroo Is. 

Edited by hemingway
Posted
21 hours ago, Satyriconhome said:

Already had 2 ruck craft sessions in the open with Greg Stafford

Yeh, but craft sessions are significantly different to playing time in the twos. A bloke as tall as he is will definitely be taught to ruck, I’m merely stating that I’d say he would play more forward than ruck this year. 

Posted
11 minutes ago, Mad_Melbourne said:

Yeh, but craft sessions are significantly different to playing time in the twos. A bloke as tall as he is will definitely be taught to ruck, I’m merely stating that I’d say he would play more forward than ruck this year. 

I highly doubt also he'll get thrown straight into main rucking role at Casey.

All hes doing with Stafford is just working and getting a great deal of education on his ruck craft. He'll play majority of next year up forward with spurts in the ruck as a reliever. He's still very slight and needs to put on a fair bit of weight, so give it 2-3 years and he could def take over as the number 1 ruck at Casey, and few games in the seniors for the dees.

Posted
5 minutes ago, dazzledavey36 said:

I highly doubt also he'll get thrown straight into main rucking role at Casey.

All hes doing with Stafford is just working and getting a great deal of education on his ruck craft. He'll play majority of next year up forward with spurts in the ruck as a reliever. He's still very slight and needs to put on a fair bit of weight, so give it 2-3 years and he could def take over as the number 1 ruck at Casey, and few games in the seniors for the dees.

Agree with this. He'll play as a forward, do some rucking in forward ruck situations such as ball ups deep in the forward line and throw ins. Might do some relief ruck work. No need to throw him to the wolves. He's a project player blessed to be learning the craft from Stafford and Max and as an understudy to Pruessy.

Posted
12 hours ago, hemingway said:

Victoria is Mexico and Victorians are Mexicans

We're south of their border? Bizarre.

Posted
4 minutes ago, Demonised said:

We're south of their border? Bizarre.

They are South Australians, what do you expect?

Posted
1 hour ago, hemingway said:

The other thing 56 as you understand these things:

Its a favourite place of residence for folk from the old country. Its hard to pick the Poms from the locals with that odd clipped dialogue. The other group that deserve a special mention is the group of lazy inept tradesmen from the old country.  How to rip off customers and do the least amount of work is a fine art.

And the brain drain from Adelaide to Perth, Sydney and Melbourne started decades ago, well before the term brain drain was invented.

The Crows supporters are the worst. Give me Port Adelaide any day.

The locals as a rule are very courteous but distant. .

Apart from that it is a lovely place and wonderful holiday destination. The Fleurieu Peninsula is one of the most beautiful places on the planet. Special mention to Kangaroo Is. 

A font of correct information, Hemingway. Of course, one cannot argue the points over here; one is left to suffer in contrition and humility but ain't it just great when the Dees knock off the Crows and similarly, elicit the harsher nature of post-game Port Power supporters after a massive - or any -  loss to the Dees. Are these two teams being protected by the AFL next season with no games at the Adelaide Oval - and only one game against Port; no game/s against the Crows? 

Posted
1 hour ago, Demonland said:

Agree with this. He'll play as a forward, do some rucking in forward ruck situations such as ball ups deep in the forward line and throw ins. Might do some relief ruck work. No need to throw him to the wolves. He's a project player blessed to be learning the craft from Stafford and Max and as an understudy to Pruessy.

Casey needs to recruit a ruckman IMO.  If plan A is to play Gawn and Preuss in the 1s, who is going to ruck at Casey?

For the record I am not an advocate of another ruckman on the MFC list.

Posted

Apologies if I missed it in this thread but does anyone know whom Wayne is referring to in this tweet?

5D6EDCD2-BDC7-4D25-8C4F-6FD8CEF849BD.png

Posted
On 12/5/2018 at 11:00 AM, La Dee-vina Comedia said:

Every time I go to Adelaide I have to remind myself to put my watch back 30 minutes plus 20 years.

Geez I liked Melbourne 20 years ago.  Less congestion, could afford a decent house, less crime, less traffic.  Is Adelaide really that good?  I’ll have to visit.

Posted
6 hours ago, Watson11 said:

Geez I liked Melbourne 20 years ago.  Less congestion, could afford a decent house, less crime, less traffic.  Is Adelaide really that good?  I’ll have to visit.

Yes my dear Watson, except that I would say it’s like growing up in Melb in the 60s.  It is expanding on the edges but it really is just a big country town. Just visit Adelaide on the weekend and wander the empty streets. Sunday is still a day of rest. If you pine for less congestion, lower house prices, and white australia (apologies to the Sudanese in the North) it’s the place to be. And if you like food, wine, beaches, festivals it is paradise. And there is also some alternate behaviour that may appeal to some on this site. It is also the murder state of Aus, with macabre, grizzly murders a speciality. Given the number of power shortages in the State, you have a lot of opportunities to get up to mischief in the dark. However, if they know one thing, the mighty South Aussies know how to organise festivals. They are brilliant. Tour Down Under, Clipsal, Womad, Fringe, the list goes on. And unlike Melbourne you don’t have to queue as there are not many people. But even in Paradise, you need to escape. It is just far to nice. 

I love Melbourne but it has become a gridlocked, congested city, with road rage, anger and impatience waiting  around every corner. It is no longer placid or peaceful.  

It is Paradise Lost. 

Adelaide by comparison is Paradise incarnated. It’s just that it’s football supporters are insufferable. The rest of the population are so nice you want to scream. But you do have to explain everything in longhand. A direct question is rude so rather than  bowl a yorker you have to bowl a leg break around the legs. It does feel that the World has left Adelaide behind. But there again there are no terrorists, no anxiety, no worries. It is the most underrated holiday spot in Australia if you include the Adelaide Hills, McLaren Vale, the Clare, the Barossa, Kangaroo Is. 

Just a pity about the footy. 

• 11 months later...
Posted

I apologise that I brought this thread up.

But this was the first pre season training session that we had the whole squad back in December 3rd 2018.

Looking back we had an incredible 15 blokes in rehab. Compared to about 5 or 6 today?

Also Steven May does look quite thick in some of the photos that were put in this thread. Compared to recent photos where he's looked really trimmed up now. Obvious that he's worked a lot harder on his fitness over the break.

Posted (edited)
On 12/5/2018 at 11:00 AM, La Dee-vina Comedia said:

Every time I go to Adelaide I have to remind myself to put my watch back 30 minutes plus 20 years.

My memories of Adelaide comprise weird crime (Snowtown and petting zoo) and Rundle Mall providing a sense of what it must have been like working on the set of Deliverance.  My only fond memory was watching the Bachelors From Prague at Le Club Foote.

Edited by hardtack