The Demonland Terms of Service, which you have all recently agreed to, strictly prohibit discussions of ongoing legal matters, whether criminal or civil. Please ensure that all discussions on this forum remain focused solely on on-field & football related topics.

Posted

DEBUGGED

Tom Bugg had one or two good moments early in the season but fell out of favour with the selectors and spent most of the year at Casey. He was delisted after the VFL Demons Grand Final defeat.

Date of Birth: 5 April, 1993

Height: 184cm

Weight: 84kg

Games MFC 2018: 3

Career Total: 96

Goals MFC 2018: 4

Career Total: 34

CDFC Games 2018: 18

CDFC Goals 2018: 15

Votes 2018 Keith 'Bluey' Truscott Memorial Trophy: 39 votes

Posted

I much preferred Bugg as a pesky tagger in his early years at the club, as opposed to the permanent forward role he played over the past two seasons. Either way his poor kicking prevented him from getting a regular game at AFL level, but he was a consistent contributor at VFL level. I could understand if he is a bit miffed that the likes of Garlett and Maynard continue at the club whilst he is out the door.

Posted
21 minutes ago, poita said:

I much preferred Bugg as a pesky tagger in his early years at the club, as opposed to the permanent forward role he played over the past two seasons. Either way his poor kicking prevented him from getting a regular game at AFL level, but he was a consistent contributor at VFL level. I could understand if he is a bit miffed that the likes of Garlett and Maynard continue at the club whilst he is out the door.

Theres a difference mate and its pretty simple, Garlett and Maynard are contracted and Bugg is not. 

Cant see why he'd be miffed at that.

Posted

Treated poorly by the Brains Trust.  The Lynden Dunn of 2018.  Dropped early on then unlike JKH, Garlett & others never given a second opportunity.  Could have been tried as a tagger, defender or wing.  Unlucky for mine & a better player than some still at the Club.

Posted

He had some potential and plenty of swagger. Had the knack of being in good positions for scoring chances but as he transitioned into a full time inconsistent forward coupled with 'the Fri night incident' it became clear he wasn't the future. I and many others did not have him in the 22 at the beginning of the season and to be honest never really considered him as a possible inclusion each week for example with the rest Spargo debate. 

Posted

Useless footballer nothing but a thug. Delisted good riddence

• 2 months later...
Posted
On 10/5/2018 at 9:57 AM, Cranky Franky said:

Treated poorly by the Brains Trust.  The Lynden Dunn of 2018.  Dropped early on then unlike JKH, Garlett & others never given a second opportunity.  Could have been tried as a tagger, defender or wing.  Unlucky for mine & a better player than some still at the Club.

Hasn't he gone to Carlton, He will be in the top ten there,

Posted

A living example how one small decision can be a ripple that becomes a tidal wave that effects the rest of your life.

Tom had spunk that was useful in doses. The 'You ready?' stuff with Johannisen I reckon won is that game before we ran onto the field as Easton Wood took his head off and replaced it with a bloody pumpkin. His team then followed suit as they spent all game trying to square up. Him shushing the Tiges cheer squad was provocative but I reckon put a bit of strut into our blokes.

However, the Mills hit went beyond the pale and he never recovered. Plus if you are a forward, you need to be able to kick goals.

I see him as the Blues new Jed Lamb. I just hope he has more sense than to carry on as big a peanut as Lamb did against us this year.

Posted (edited)

He has only dropped a few playing No.s to 40 at Carlscum.

https://www.foxsports.com.au/afl/unfinished-business-for-new-carlton-recruit-tom-bugg-after-enduring-tough-18-months-at-melbourne/news-story/bfa0199ed585ff4fb79913518ed9d33b

Reading the article, it also states that Carlscum have now recruited 11 ex GWS players (mostly thanks to sos) - perhaps they could rename Carlscum to the GWS reserves team.

...actually GWS's NEAFL team would probably beat Carlscum these days, so perhaps the GWS reject squad would be more appropriate.

Edited by Rodney (Balls) Grinter
Posted
10 minutes ago, Rodney (Balls) Grinter said:

Carlscum have now recruited 11 ex GWS players (mostly thanks to sos) - perhaps they could rename Carlscum to the GWS reserves team.

...actually GWS's NEAFL team would probably beat Carlscum these days, so perhaps the GWS reject squad would be more appropriate.

They are now officially known as Greater Western Carlton.

Posted

Buggy would be one of the first ones picked now at Princess Park after their preseason carnage. 

Posted

He was a rubbish player who was soft in the contest, had horrible disposal, and made poor decisions.

Don't confuse mouthy as being hard. 

Posted
On 10/5/2018 at 9:57 AM, Cranky Franky said:

Defender - nope. Skills not up to it and not strong in the contest 

tagger - sure, but we had Harmes

wing - yes, he made us better as a wing when he came to the club. I think he could’ve had a go there instead of Tyson last year, but he’s still only a stop gap.

Bugg’s fitness and vesatility are valuable for young sides but at the end of the day we’ve got 44 players on the list and aren’t a young side anymore. We should have better players in every spot Bugg could play.

Posted

James Harmes massive improvement, just meant there was no spot for Bugg anymore. 

No matter how hard he tried. I think he paid for the hit, it was a little sad it was all over, but James Harmes became elite at the same role. 

No hard feelings. Tomas is loved by many if his twitter account is accurate. 

Posted

Buggy was useful while we were building a stronger list and that others were coming on and becoming  excellent players. It showed as we finished the season in the finals. Although Buggy gave us some good moments and kicked multiple goal at times, he was also a tough nut which was a part of his game.  His skills were average at the very best and that wasn't enough for him to play a vital part in our best 22. So off he goes to a very average team.

Good luck to T.Bugg and l hope he does well for himself as he should get a game at  CGWS. 

Posted (edited)
1 hour ago, nosoupforme said:

Buggy was useful while we were building a stronger list and that others were coming on and becoming  excellent players. It showed as we finished the season in the finals. Although Buggy gave us some good moments and kicked multiple goal at times, he was also a tough nut which was a part of his game.  His skills were average at the very best and that wasn't enough for him to play a vital part in our best 22. So off he goes to a very average team.

Good luck to T.Bugg and l hope he does well for himself as he should get a game at  CGWS. 

Good summary.

I hold no real resentment of Buggy in his time at the MFC.  He gave good effort, was tough and an exuberant, colourful character, but as mentioned by yourself and many others, was just that fraction off the pace of making the new standard at the MFC, which is really the crux of it.   

I actually think most people have moved on from the Mills thing and it is being somewhat over played here. If the coaches saw more potential in him he would still be at the MFC rather than CGWS, with the Mills incident being just a side note.

Edited by Rodney (Balls) Grinter
Posted

I like Bugg, and I wish him well at Carlton.

He had limitations as a player, but he seemed to run hard (both ways), and always seemed respectful about, and appreciative for, his time at the Dees. He also seemed genuinely remorseful for the incident with Mills.

To put the boot into this dude on the way out is tres ordinaire.

Posted
On ‎1‎/‎2‎/‎2019 at 7:38 PM, ProDee said:

He was a rubbish player who was soft in the contest, had horrible disposal, and made poor decisions.

Don't confuse mouthy as being hard. 

On the contrary I thought he was a hard at the contest player who under the most trying circumstances made the best of team decisions

He was indeed unfortunate to miss many goals under extreme pressure

When Mills was holding onto his jumper in a most unsportingly act which was captured on tv Buggy simply replied with a backhanded fend off

That the reprisal was featured on tv was to be expected as it was bigger than anything Cassius Clay handed out 10/10 a perfect hit but it was neither premeditated or intentional

I thank Buggy for his time at the MFC and wish him well at his next club

" Don't confuse mouthy as being hard "

This pretty much sums up your contributions on here !

Posted
57 minutes ago, puntkick said:

He was indeed unfortunate to miss many goals under extreme pressure

He unfortunately missed a lot of easy shots on goal that you would expect a professional (or any level for that matter) footballer to kick.

Posted
51 minutes ago, rjay said:

He unfortunately missed a lot of easy shots on goal that you would expect a professional (or any level for that matter) footballer to kick.

Agreed. He had the ability to apply great pressure in the forward line and win the footy inside our 50. If he kicked more goals than he missed he might’ve played more regularly. His conversion was poor.

Posted (edited)
21 hours ago, Sir Why You Little said:

James Harmes massive improvement, just meant there was no spot for Bugg anymore. 

No matter how hard he tried. I think he paid for the hit, it was a little sad it was all over, but James Harmes became elite at the same role. 

No hard feelings. Tomas is loved by many if his twitter account is accurate. 

So Gaff is a violent thug, but Bugg's demise after his hit on Mills is sad and you have no hard feelings towards him? Not unexpected hypocrisy. 

Edited by Moonshadow
Posted
21 hours ago, Moonshadow said:

So Gaff is a violent thug, but Bugg's demise after his hit on Mills is sad and you have no hard feelings towards him? Not unexpected hypocrisy. 

Bugg gave an undisiplined backhand which has probably damaged his career. It was a bad thing to do and he has paid (still is)

Gaff lined up his opponent front on and gave him a full uppercut. He meant it. 

Far worse in my book. 

No hypocracy at all Moonie. 

Nice try though....

Posted
54 minutes ago, Sir Why You Little said:

Bugg gave an undisiplined backhand which has probably damaged his career. It was a bad thing to do and he has paid (still is)

Far worse in my book. 

Nice try though....

I think your memory is failing on this one. He was front on and it was no back hander. Punched him smack on the chin. The only difference was he did not break teeth or jaw. 

Posted
2 hours ago, Sir Why You Little said:

Far worse in my book. 

Nice try though....

Looks like an unprovoked, unexpected front-on hit to me. Bugg took Mills out, it was no backhander. I watched it live from that side of the ground, it was a dog's act. The injury to Mills wasn't as damaging as Gaff's to Brayshaw, but the action was much the same. Neither Bugg nor Gaff deserve "no hard feelings" or sadness. It's called 'consistency'.

20190104_171100.jpg