Posted
9 minutes ago, chook fowler said:

Who would we get for pick 23?

I like Xavier O’Halloran or maybe Ned McHenry in that range. Maybe Curtis Taylor or Sam Sturt will be around, but with a couple of 2nd rounders and a couple of 3rds we must be some chance of getting into the 1st rd somewhere.

Posted
2 minutes ago, Dr. Gonzo said:

The bombers totally bent us over in the Melksham/Hibberd trades didn't they? And we got robbed trading up the draft to nab Oliver and Weideman. Plus Adelaide are riding high with those draft picks they acquired for an AA defender with born leadership qualities.

Have some faith for Christ's sake this administration has earnt it

?????

Posted
3 minutes ago, forever demons said:

yep

its a fact we played better without him,kick it to me i am not chasing that someone else get and then kick it to me

Posted

The Age article has us, hypothetically, getting May, KK and Pick 23 for Hogan.

It's not a sexy deal by any means, but we address two needs - a key back and outside run - while still potentially maintaining a very potent forward line, while also holding on to our first round picks for the next few years that we can use for further moves over the coming seasons.

It's a good outcome, although I can understand why people may see this as unders to begin with.

Posted
4 minutes ago, Dr. Gonzo said:

The bombers totally bent us over in the Melksham/Hibberd trades didn't they? And we got robbed trading up the draft to nab Oliver and Weideman. Plus Adelaide are riding high with those draft picks they acquired for an AA defender with born leadership qualities.

Amen to that, Doc.  Well said.

It's the same with the picks we will take to the draft.  We've been sensational in the mid to late picks over the last few years, and there's no reason why this won't continue in 2018.

Posted
1 hour ago, Lord Neville X Flash said:

Hopefully another team sweeps in and offers overs for May. 

Then we would not be so desperate to get Hogan out, and Freo would have to pay 5 and a future first rounder... Oh the look on Bell's face would be priceless 

My call has changed across the past few weeks, but now I am questioning if we really need May. He is a very good footballer - backman. We do have some real talent to develop but that is what good footy teams do and our talent has the game plans as part of their DNA. If OMac works hard on body weight, pace and muscle, and if Frosty can be polished just a fraction, and if two of our Casey defender-type fellas can take an upward step and challenge with credibility - we can have that backline - we can win the flag and summer is the time to get it done. Preuss is going to make some difference to our backline efforts for up to half of our game time and I'd reckon that is something that the FD has in mind, in particular.  Just ignoring our alleged reliance on May makes me feel more comfortable and would enable Bell the Smell an opportunity to live in ignominy for the rest of his footballing association. Not too sure that Jesse is going to throw aside his 'want-away' nature - if it is real -  so I have to keep outside this team evolution until I am better informed.

Posted
1 minute ago, Wiseblood said:

It's not a sexy deal by any means, but we address two needs - a key back and outside run - while still potentially maintaining a very potent forward line, while also holding on to our first round picks for the next few years that we can use for further moves over the coming seasons.

It's a good outcome, although I can understand why people may see this as unders to begin with.

THIS ?

Posted (edited)
28 minutes ago, EnterTheDragon said:

24 hours to go. A reminder to those who have bagged me out to keep space for dessert tomorrow night. Humble pie is made and ready slide into the oven.

Luckily I've forgotten what you say will happen.  But what saddens me is that anyone would take such pleasure in crowing when they turn out to be correct.   If you have inside info then there is no credit in being right.  If you haven't, then it is just an opinion in what was pretty much a 2 possibilities situation - will he or won't he.   I'm more interested in reading the pro and con arguments.

Edited by sue

Posted
Just now, Petraccattack said:

People saying we paid overs for Lever...   fmd.

Only because he got injured. Same people were saying he was a bargain when he was dominating before his knee. 

Posted (edited)
23 minutes ago, ChaserJ said:

It looks a tad unders, but that doesn't seem to bother us provided we get what we want.

Would be great if we also got say pick 29 from GC (even in exchange for our 46 or 54).

Edited by clark's kick
Spelling
Posted
7 minutes ago, Dr. Gonzo said:

In fairness, they (AFC) havent used the second pick for Lever yet, but the thrust of your argument is spot on IMO. (see my post in the previous page)

Posted
7 minutes ago, ChaserJ said:

I like Xavier O’Halloran or maybe Ned McHenry in that range. Maybe Curtis Taylor or Sam Sturt will be around, but with a couple of 2nd rounders and a couple of 3rds we must be some chance of getting into the 1st rd somewhere.

Xavier O’Halloran will be a steal this draft in my opinion, when Vandenberg was contemplating heading off, I thought this would be the replacement from the draft, just much higher foot skills than Avb

Posted
10 minutes ago, ChaserJ said:

Im a big fan of O'Halloran J.. classy mover who reminds me a lot of Shaun Higgins. I would be wrapt if he drifted out to our first pick.

Posted
5 minutes ago, Wiseblood said:

Great post. My only lingering doubt is what happens if Tmac or Weid (or both) go down for an extended period. We look a tall short. Although it seems like we'll also have a resting Gawn/Preuss down there.

Posted

Looking at 1 page in 30 for this thread and not missing much! FWIW:

Hogan for 5&6 - very good 

Hogan for 5&11 - okay

Hogan for 5,23&30 - okay

Hogan for 5 - feel screwed 

I’d still rather keep him!

Fast forward 24 hours, to put everyone out of their misery!!

Posted
10 minutes ago, Dr. Gonzo said:

Bit rough on Mr and Mrs Lever there .

As a Dr, @Dr. Gonzo you lean to the nature side rather than the nurture eh ? ?

Posted
1 minute ago, dazzledavey36 said:

Im a big fan of O'Halloran J.. classy mover who reminds me a lot of Shaun Higgins. I would be wrapt if he drifted out to our first pick.

Beat ya to it, but further want to put out that his agility is elite, his contested work is elite and his finishing is better than good. 

I really hope Melbourne end up with him as I think his skills not only translate to afl, but has 3-4 positions that he can play which will make him useful. 

Posted

If we end up with May, KK and a mid 20 pick for Hogan, it isn’t unders or overs.  It is taking care of business.  We will have improved the list as per our plans, and although Hogan is a player of high capability and potential, he may deliver us a flag by departing.  We will get stronger as a team, but lose an individual who could be brilliant.  We also save $1mio per year in cap, which will be useful spread elsewhere.

• Like 14
Posted
Just now, Rod Grinter Riot Squad said:

100 of them talking about the length of the thread and biscuits, another 78 taken up by ETD...

Sadly the detour to talking about coffee was short lived.

Posted
2 minutes ago, clark's kick said:

Great post. My only lingering doubt is what happens if Tmac or Weid (or both) go down for an extended period. We look a tall short. Although it seems like we'll also have a resting Gawn/Preuss down there.

I see what you're saying re: someone going down with an injury up forward, but I still believe we are blessed with lots of talent down there that we could cover it.  Trac plays tall, as do Fritsch and Hannan, while Melksham can win then ball in the air or at ground level.  Not to mention we have the capacity of resting Oliver deep forward and, as you say, Preuss can provide a contest down there and swap with Gawny as well.

I reckon we would adapt and overcome if that happened, but let's hope we don't really need to consider it.

Posted
5 minutes ago, ding said:

In fairness, they (AFC) havent used the second pick for Lever yet, but the thrust of your argument is spot on IMO. (see my post in the previous page)

That's part of the point though. One in the hand is worth two in the bush etc Fogarty looks like a good pick up but who they select with those picks is largely irrelevant. Fact is we went up they went down in 2018. If we lose Hogan and gain May and KK no-one will give a stuff in 12 months time if we win a flag. It will be sad to see Hogan go as I've really liked him since his debut (although the last 12 months I've cooled somewhat) but at the end of the day I support the MFC. If we're successful I don't really care who is wearing the laundry.