Posted (edited)

What a fantastic win against West Coast - the club showed tremendous mental strength after a week of solid bashing in the media to beat the team 2nd on ladder and at their hostile home ground.

I recommend a close listen to Simon Goodwin's press conference.  He always makes a lot of sense if you listen carefully.

http://www.melbournefc.com.au/video/2018-08-19/rd-22-simon-goodwin-media-conference

"[Our supporters] have got a team they can really support"

There is a whole new generation at the club and they are only responsible for what happens on their watch, not what happened 10, 20 or 50 years ago. This new generation has been unfairly carrying the burden of lack of success over the ages.  They are only responsible for their own creation - and yes there have been failures e.g. 2017 R23, but there's been progress too - a lot more progress than failure.  We're a young team learning the hard lessons the hard way.

Losing culture is just in supporters minds - nowhere else. The club name is the same, the colours are the same, the supporters are the same - but the team is new. The biggest risk is supporters who have experienced disappointment over many years putting their own burden of poisonous negativity onto this group - you don't have to look far to find that here. We supporters need to show some mental strength and not jump off at the first sign of a speed bump.

I want to appeal to all Melbourne supporters to really get behind this team through thick and thin.  I'm very confident we're coming into a golden era for the club. 

Edited by Grapeviney
  • Like 26
  • Love 10

Posted

I was contemplating chucking it in but I'll give them another couple of weeks. Hopefully there is still snow on the fields at the end of September.

Posted

I guess I'll stick around now....

(I just pushed out a meeting with my biggest customer so I can be on the computer at 9am next Tuesday to buy finals tickets, because priorities!)

Posted

You get a stipend from the club mate ?

Posted

Think you are getting ahead of yourself 55

Every person who posts here (with the possible exception of TGR) supports the club.

You don't get to pick and choose how people voice that support, or indeed their disappointment.

I also think everyone knows we are headed for a quite successful period over the next several years.

Looking forward to a massive Dees presence in the stands in week 1 of finals.

Posted

This year has been fantastic and although we have lost a fair few close ones, we are competitive and we have absolute guns to watch. Also its near the finals and we (well me)  havent been obsessing about who we can get in the draft and the 10!!! players we need to get rid of. This is normally my life after about round 12.

I honestly think we have the best team in the AFL to support for the next at least 7 years. (I dont even think I will regret saying this).

The forever winter is over.

Posted
18 minutes ago, Fifty-5 said:

What a fantastic win against West Coast - the club showed tremendous mental strength after a week of solid bashing in the media to beat the team 2nd on ladder and at their hostile home ground.

I recommend a close listen to Simon Goodwin's press conference.  He always makes a lot of sense if you listen carefully.

http://www.melbournefc.com.au/video/2018-08-19/rd-22-simon-goodwin-media-conference

There is a whole new generation at the club and they are only responsible for what happens on their watch, not what happened 10, 20 or 50 years ago. This new generation has been unfairly carrying the burden of lack of success over the ages.  They are only responsible for their own creation - and yes there have been failures e.g. 2017 R23, but there's been progress too - a lot more progress than failure.  We're a young team learning the hard lessons the hard way.

Losing culture is just in supporters minds - nowhere else. The club name is the same, the colours are the same, the supporters are the same - but the team is new. The biggest risk is supporters who have experienced disappointment over many years putting their own burden of poisonous negativity onto this group - you don't have to look far to find that here. We supporters need to show some mental strength and not jump off at the first sign of a speed bump.

I want to appeal to all Melbourne supporters to really get behind this team through thick and thin.  I'm very confident we're coming into a golden era for the club. 

People may take the piss but I totally agree and took the same message away. Jones, Goodwin, Lewis and Melksham have all referred to the weight off their shoulders imposed on them by the club’s history that they ultimately have barely contributed to. 

The other Melbourne supporter in my office and I had a conversation with a non-footy colleague. The non-footy fan commented how it’s weird how footy fans refer to their clubs as “we” when they’re not involved in the actual playing. My other colleague pointed out that the supporters invest in their emotions in the club long before the current players arrived and will do so long after they’ve gone. It is actually *our* club. 

It’s sobering to me to realise that the players feel that weight of expectation and past disappointment we supporters projecting. Hopefully they can feel unshackled from it for now. 

Posted

Through thick and thin, this team is a team I've fallen in love with. We have such a young core and will be up for at least the next 4 years. 

We have amazing personalities like Jones, Gawn, Trac. Will be supporting these boys even if we lose by 500 and miss finals on the weekend. 

Posted
17 minutes ago, faultydet said:

You don't get to pick and choose how people voice that support, or indeed their disappointment.

Yes, but the veil of negativity needs to be lifted, in fact consigned to the bin.

Posted
6 minutes ago, Neil Crompton said:

What are the odds of this happening this coming round:

- magpies lose

- swans draw with hawks

- we beat giants

Then we finish 3rd and play west coast again!

In that scenario we finish 5th (Haw 3rd, Syd 4th, MFC 5th, Coll 6th). It’s not possible for us to finish 3rd.

Posted

I was unemployed when I tipped in $300 to the debt demolition campaign.

And I have a general dislike of self-appointed cheerleaders giving sanctimonious little speeches which presume anyone, anyone at all on here is a soft supporter.

Not at all your best moment, Fifty-5.

• Shocked 2
Posted
40 minutes ago, Fifty-5 said:

Well said.  I first started following footy and the Dees in 81 a particularly poor year in our history.  Since then I’ve been exposed to a lot of the ups and downs of this club.  

I work in a particularly stressful and complex environment with often unrealistic time frames and stakeholder expectations.  For that reason alone I am glad that I can walk around with a grin on my face no matter how crappy work gets because for the first time in 12 years the team that I love and I have grieved and been through hell with is playing finals.

I had one particular person try to bring me down with his particularly inane perspective - like the better man I ignored him and walked away.   Winners are Grinners after all and this is the first time in over a decade that I can look forward to September!

Posted (edited)
1 hour ago, Demonland said:

I was contemplating chucking it in but I'll give them another couple of weeks. Hopefully there is still snow on the fields at the end of September.

Just had a look, there is heaps on Buller I reckon it will still be there GF day unless we get lots of rain. As for chucking it in I would rather an amputation. The scars that I carry from being a Melbourne supporter since the late 50'S define me. I could have been a well balanced friendly amiable person but instead I support Melbourne. 

PS I know you are taking the pizz

Edited by ManDee
Posted (edited)

MCC have already predicted 37,000 for Sunday, and that was the figure yesterday. 

Clearly we're up and about. Would be a welcome change to see 40,000+  turn up to the G against an interstater with few supporters. 

Posted (edited)
38 minutes ago, Neil Crompton said:

- magpies lose

- swans draw with hawks

- we beat giants

Third is impossible. 

Edited by Ethan Tremblay
Posted
5 minutes ago, ManDee said:

Just had a look, there is heaps on Buller I reckon it will still be there GF day unless we get lots of rain. As for chucking it in I would rather an amputation. The scars that I carry from being a Melbourne supporter since the late 50'S define me. I could have been a well balanced friendly amiable person but instead I support Melbourne. 

PS I know you are taking the pizz

I'm glad you included this. My honour was at stake. 

Posted

Nothing has changed yet. We made finals and that's great, but it means nothing. 40+ years of the emotional trauma that comes with being a demon is not going to be healed by just making finals. Only a premiership will begin to heal those wounds. A dynasty would go a long way to enabling a full recovery

Posted
1 hour ago, Fifty-5 said:

None of us have jumped off. But history is what we are. Last Sunday is now history. 

Deny the past if you want, it still exists. 

Make new history of course, make great history full of new heroes

but as it stands right now we are still without success in 54 years

Posted

Funniest thread in a long time ?

Posted
56 minutes ago, Neil Crompton said:

- magpies lose

- swans draw with hawks

- we beat giants

I give any odds you want. Can not happen.