Posted

Last year Hutchy said his now-famous quote that Leon Cameron was in charge of a Ferrari and maybe wasn't the driver to get maximum performance from it (GWS)

I firmly believe the Dees are or will shortly with a couple of retirements become a Ferrari, but again yesterday with 17 more inside 50's, swans with 2 less players, playing injured players, lack of ability to counter smart game style mods by swans from mid-second quarter, not playing Frost earlier when Lever went down (like for like, sort of), begs this question.

I know I will get howled down but I sure hope the FD coaching team evaluate themselves as well as the players and don't waste the opportuiities coming up over coming seasons, and maybe still this one.

I recognise the team' s courageous efforts on the road this year (was at Adelaide Oval a few weeks ago) which confirms my view how good they can be, but erratic driving is costing us. 

One KPI in this regard will be how they perfom making tough list decisions in the off season.

FWIW - I really like the Coach but that's not the point 

Posted

More like Goody and the Electric vehicle

Too different and complex for him to drive No levers or buttons

Posted

Mate we are a dato180B

It will get there eventually but it’s not a comfortable ride and will shite itself just when you need it to find another gear.

Posted
2 minutes ago, Gorgoroth said:

Mate we are a dato180B

It will get there eventually but it’s not a comfortable ride and will shite itself just when you need it to find another gear.

My fear is this team thinks it's a 200SX !! ;)

Posted
2 minutes ago, beelzebub said:

Like my mates old rotary, great on the flat and downhill but as soon as stress or an incline was around it shat itself and broke down

Posted

Nobody but nobody can change the stinking losing culture of the Melbourne Club.  The club stinks it up every year.  Jackson and Co have given it their best.  The players at this club don’t want it badly enough.  They showed that yesterday.

Posted
6 minutes ago, chook fowler said:

Gogomobile or LeylandP76 

The Dart ??

P76....much maligned really. Not every car could carry a back up servo in the boot...or bale of hay...but hey ?

Posted (edited)
51 minutes ago, jackaub said:

More like Goody and the Electric vehicle

Too different and complex for him to drive No levers or buttons

43 minutes ago, brendan said:

Right now we are a clapped out VB Commodore 

33 minutes ago, beelzebub said:

30 minutes ago, chook fowler said:

Gogomobile or LeylandP76 

26 minutes ago, Mazer Rackham said:

The gearbox has seized and now it only works in second gear

There's a worrying squeaking noise coming from the back left wheel and blue smoke is coming out of the exhaust

Thanks guys.  You've given me a much needed laugh.

I'll settle for a well tuned car with no passengers!

Posted
1 hour ago, Soidee said:

The players at this club don’t want it badly enough.  They showed that yesterday.

This is exactly the problem. Melbourne players haven’t wanted success, REAL SUCCESS badly enough. They say they do, but talk is cheap, anyone can talk

Posted
8 minutes ago, Sir Why You Little said:

This is exactly the problem. Melbourne players haven’t wanted success, REAL SUCCESS badly enough. They say they do, but talk is cheap, anyone can talk

You would know , you certainly do enough of it on this site.

Posted
1 minute ago, drysdale demon said:

You would know , you certainly do enough of it on this site.

Hit the ignore button or go away. 

I have told you before

it’s not hard. 

Posted
2 hours ago, chook fowler said:

Gogomobile or LeylandP76 

Delorean. Look how that ended up.

Posted (edited)

See here's the problem ... our list has been overrated by many in the media,  many here and many other fans who buy into the hype.  We are just not that good. 

We've got about 11 bona-fide good footballers on the list who can be relied on and 3 of them are injured.  Gawn,  Oliver,  Brayshaw,  Jones,  Hogan,  Lewis,  T-Mac,  Salem,  Lever,  Hibberd & Viney.  

There are another 5 or 6 on the periphery but none of them can be called 'good' footballers in actuality.   Unless we go down the path of overrating again.  Potential is just that - potential. 

The real reason why we're not far away is that there are a stack of teams who are in the same boat as what we are ... except Richmond.  So we're close by default.

In all the time I've followed the club we've never once had a great list ... and that's largely the reason why we haven't had any success in the previous decades.  You'll never win with average or above-average unless you get very lucky. 

We need an injection of 5 or 6 good footballers before we can call ourselves a top 4 team.  In the meantime we are going to be thereabouts but not great.

Posted
2 minutes ago, Macca said:

See here's the problem ... our list has been overrated by many in the media,  many here and many other fans who buy into the bs.  We are just not that good. 

We've got about 11 bona-fide good footballers on the list who can be relied on and 3 of them are injured.  Gawn,  Oliver,  Brayshaw,  Jones,  Hogan,  Lewis,  T-Mac,  Salem,  Lever,  Hibberd & Viney.  

There are another 5 or 6 on the periphery but none of them can be called 'good' footballers in actuality.   Unless we go down the path of overrating again.  Potential is just that - potential. 

The real reason why we're not far away is that there are a stack of teams who are in the same boat as what we are ... except Richmond.  So we're close by default.

In all the time I've followed the club we've never once had a great list ... and that's largely the reason why we haven't had any success in the previous decades.  You'll never win with average or above-average unless you get very lucky. 

We need an injection of 5 or 6 good footballers before we can call ourselves a top 4 team.  In the meantime we are going to be thereabouts but not great.

That's it, we just don't have the right mix of players yet.

Posted

I feel like this club is my Volkswagen Golf from earlier this century. It nearly killed me a few times (some electrical fault), but my mechanic, Carlos, kept telling me it was just fine, and that the car wouldn't hurt me anymore...

Posted
4 minutes ago, drysdale demon said:

That's it, we just don't have the right mix of players yet.

The other teams who are where we are have the same sort of issues ... they lose games they should win,  put in average performances against decent opposition and then win games that offer great hope.   We are not alone but for some reason we've been pigeon-holed as a team that should be doing a lot  better.

The other weakness we have is that we can sometimes be very slow away from the stoppages ... but the only team that is consistently quick away from the stoppages is Richmond.  Hate to say but it's their flag to lose.   Their last 6 - 8 players picked are miles better than any other team.

As for our last 6 or 8 players picked ... collectively they are simply not good enough and only a couple/few of those 6 - 8 players have a chance at being bona-fide good footballers.  It's a bit hard to contend with that issue. 

Posted

Backline:
Quality players: Lever, Hibberd, Jetta, Salem
Maybe players: Frost, Oscar, Lewis, Joel Smith, Hunt (underdone), Vince, Pedersen, Wagner

Midfield:
Quality players: Gawn, Oliver, Viney, Brayshaw, Harmes, Jones
Maybe players: Fritsch (looks good but it's his first year), Tyson, JKH, Stretch, Maynard

Forwards:
Quality players: T Mc, Petracca, Hogan, Melksham
Maybe players: Spargo, Garlett, Vanders, ANB, Kent, Hannan, T Smith, Weids etc etc

4 of our best 14 out.
No reliable pure wingman
No reliable small forward
No reliable genuine stopping key defenders

It's not a ferrari. It's got a big engine but is missing luxury and some parts are downright dodgy. What does that make it?