Posted

i thought hibberd was out for two, at least?

without knowing who did what at vfl level, hannan for jkh makes sense, and other than that...I would love to see kent or vdb in, but apparently the latter is still a couple of weeks away from having the footballing 'run' in his legs to be picked...

Posted
1 minute ago, DeeSpencer said:

1 good quarter v Freo, some much better patches against the Dogs. Not interested in how many goals he's kicked against bad teams earlier in the year, it's crunch time now and he looks uninterested. 

He doesn't demand the ball. Part of it is our team take a heap of bad options but a lot of it is the Watts problem. Once team mates know a player has lots belief they don't want to give it to them. If Garlett competes better at key moments and then calls for the ball, takes the game on and snaps some goals then he'll get the ball more. Agree he made some good positions, wheeling around to get on his right boot but he also did that a few times with the ball in dispute and didn't go and get it!

So you reckon drop our leading goal kicker when we are desperately looking for a way to capitalise on our entries? 

Posted
Just now, Dee1993 said:

So you reckon drop our leading goal kicker when we are desperately looking for a way to capitalise on our entries? 

Yes. 

Stack load of entries. How many of them go to Hogan? And what happens to them?

Tom McDonald marks or brings the ball to ground for the smalls. Melksham will compete. Petracca played much better across half forward. 

I wouldn't drop Hogan for ever but he's down on confidence and I'm tired of waiting for him to find it. I'd rather give Weids a go and see if the week off freshens Hogan up.

Posted
14 minutes ago, Skuit said:

I just can't work out what JKH brings to the team.  Or what they're expecting him to develop into.

JKH and Jeffy are about par right now in terms of what they are delivering (or not!).  Who do you replace them with?  We only have medium tall forwards like Kent and Vanders left in the McGoos.

Posted
1 minute ago, Rusty Nails said:

JKH and Jeffy are about par right now in terms of what they are delivering (or not!).  Who do you replace them with?  We only have medium tall forwards like Kent and Vanders left in the McGoos.

I thought Jeffy was OK JKH can pack his bags.

Posted
23 minutes ago, DeeSpencer said:

Yes. 

Stack load of entries. How many of them go to Hogan? And what happens to them?

Tom McDonald marks or brings the ball to ground for the smalls. Melksham will compete. Petracca played much better across half forward. 

I wouldn't drop Hogan for ever but he's down on confidence and I'm tired of waiting for him to find it. I'd rather give Weids a go and see if the week off freshens Hogan up.

How many chances do you want to give to Weids? Sadly he has failed the test each time he is given a chance. Too many times.

Posted
1 minute ago, Bobby McKenzie said:

How many chances do you want to give to Weids? Sadly he has failed the test each time he is given a chance. Too many times.

He passed the test in his early run of games, copped a bit of an injury, bought back in when he really wasn't needed as the third tall. And his recent run of VFL form has probably been as consistent as any patch of his career. He offers more than Tommy Mc in the ruck which has the added benefit of keeping Tom forward all game, he's clearly a better tackler than Hogan. Get him in as one of the 2 talls and I think he'll offer a fair bit. That said, it's not always about who comes in, sometimes you just have to break the cycle for a player and Hogan is in a cycle of poor games with bad habits.

Posted

JKH goes out sorry kid your in between VFL & AFL tough decision to be made 

Hannan, Kent or Vanders for mine

Posted (edited)

Agree with most comments.

We should have won that game, were the better side, simply were less accurate and lacked composure at the end. 90 seconds left when Trac marked on the wing. Should have simply run the clock down, maintaining posession with chip kicks backwards and sideways. Alas we have been in winning positions against quality teams so rarely in close games, that we have zero experience in milking the clock properly. Given the loss being under a goal, there wont be wholesale changes.

The sensationalist calls for Hogan, O Mac to be dropped... Never gonna happen. Smith, Vince, Lewis all did decent jobs. 

JKH however, is just so ordinary. Not even close to being at AFL level and has little potential for improvement imo. Out for someone - Hibberd if fit, but doubt it, so probs Hannan or Kent.

Id love for Vanders to come in, but doubt that given Goody's comments re match fitness. Hopefully the week after.

Going tall in forward line hasnt worked in the past, we just get cut to shreds when the ball hits the deck, so im not keen on Weeds at this stage

Edited by Maluski

Posted

The big change I would make is to bring back the real 'DeeSpencer'...

This season has either done his head in or an imposter has stepped into the avatar.

He was a reasoned poster in the past & even when I didn't agree with him I could at least follow the logic.

Seems to be making some pretty extravagant calls of late.

Posted

I have a feeling JKH will get one final game next week to see if he makes it. Laid some tackles, got more involved and got more of the footy than he has in the past, but doesn't win 1v1s and [censored] himself in clutch moments. He's not good enough, but he'll get one more game to prove himself IMO.

Tyson might make way for Hannan or VDB though, otherwise, I'd go the same team again. Make them repay the supporters and club for falling this week.

Posted

Tyson stays as Viney's relacement. As long as he plays inside, that is fine by me.

JKH, sorry mate, but you are done. Vanders in for him if he is holding up ok.

Will never happen as he has a golden ticket, but I would bring Kielty in for OMac as well.

Posted
5 hours ago, Rusty Nails said:

JKH at least applies pressure!

Posted
5 hours ago, A F said:

I have a feeling JKH will get one final game next week to see if he makes it. Laid some tackles, got more involved and got more of the footy than he has in the past, but doesn't win 1v1s and [censored] himself in clutch moments. He's not good enough, but he'll get one more game to prove himself IMO.

Tyson might make way for Hannan or VDB though, otherwise, I'd go the same team again. Make them repay the supporters and club for falling this week.

I agree with you on JKH.. i actually thought his pressure and tackling was quite good.. that last kick for goal though he had much more time then i think he expected. 

Posted
1 hour ago, Forest Demon said:

Tyson stays as Viney's relacement. As long as he plays inside, that is fine by me.

JKH, sorry mate, but you are done. Vanders in for him if he is holding up ok.

Will never happen as he has a golden ticket, but I would bring Kielty in for OMac as well.

I watched Casey yesterday and I don’t think Keilty will come in.  O Mac was left exposed last night, Hawkins had free runs at the ball and the delivery was very good to him.  We sorely missed Hibberd and Lever last night, with their ability to intercept and take up space. 

Vanders had 17 tackles last night but he is only 3 game in from a very long lay off.   I would say his match fitness may still need some work.  

Posted
8 hours ago, Clint Bizkit said:

Garlett out.

As much as I hate Bugg kicking behinds after doing all the hard work, he has more potential to win us a game (see north game, 4 goals, 1 behind)  than Garlett atm so would be happy to see that swap. 

Posted
1 hour ago, Demons11 said:

I watched Casey yesterday and I don’t think Keilty will come in.  O Mac was left exposed last night, Hawkins had free runs at the ball and the delivery was very good to him.  We sorely missed Hibberd and Lever last night, with their ability to intercept and take up space. 

Vanders had 17 tackles last night but he is only 3 game in from a very long lay off.   I would say his match fitness may still need some work.  

Agree 100%. Hogan would kick a bag if A he knew how to lead hard, B if they could kick it with precision to him like we do to the the opposition spare man in defense every week.

We’re asking O’Mac to take the #1 forward each week, then being lazy with our whole ground defense, then blaming him when he gets beaten. Doesn’t seem logical to me

Posted

Can someone list Hawkins aside the bags of goals kicked on OMac this year by key forwards? 

Assuming no Hibberd to return. JKH for Kent and Tyson for Hannan (would love to see AVB but I suspect another game needed at least). Tyson played pretty well but he played basically as another inside mid on the narrow GMHBA and we will need more run in Adelaide.