Posted
14 minutes ago, dee-tox said:

Can't watch it Petraccattack! Eishold, Yeats missing from close range... Most disappointment i've experienced at a football match.

I think you’re thinking of the 87 prelim

Posted

I remember this game vividly. I reckon that snap from Lyon went about 150m up (at the time). Everybody celebrating that goal so hard behind me they’re not even watching Wrensteads subsequent shot at goal. Great result en route to the grannie.

Posted
1 hour ago, dee-tox said:

Can't watch it Petraccattack! Eishold, Yeats missing from close range... Most disappointment i've experienced at a football match.

Yeater's shot was from 35ish and pretty much directly in front on the run.  To be fair it was going straight through the goals initially (for the sealer) till the last 10 meters when a hand of god saw it miraculously (for the Dorks) do a 45 degree sharp left turn  (from behind the goals) and go sailing through for a behind (half goal post height!).  I was gob smacked in disbelief at the time.

Yeater was one of the main reasons we made the finals that year and, while not a naturally gifted footballer, was one of the most consistent and gutsy defenders i have ever seen in my days watching the Demons (at least from the first half memories....a tad sketchy after half time in many cases....so some might take me up on that!).

People tend to remember the last few minutes (Stynes, Eishold, Yeates), which unfortunately weren't great obviously.  But we forget little things that may also have cost us the match like the late Sean Wight in the 1st quarter (i think) giving off a blatant lifted throw as he was going to ground which i'm pretty sure the Dorks goaled from.  Also the last torp from the square (by Tuck?) was allowed to get out the back (not enough numbers up/back in what was effectively the last play of the day).  Probably a few others during the course of the game etc.

Posted
7 hours ago, chook fowler said:

You can’t leave it at that - a name please.

JH.

Posted (edited)

Edit: duplicate fat finger

Posted
12 hours ago, Rusty Nails said:

Yeater's shot was from 35ish and pretty much directly in front on the run.  To be fair it was going straight through the goals initially (for the sealer) till the last 10 meters when a hand of god saw it miraculously (for the Dorks) do a 45 degree sharp left turn  (from behind the goals) and go sailing through for a behind (half goal post height!).  I was gob smacked in disbelief at the time.

Yeater was one of the main reasons we made the finals that year and, while not a naturally gifted footballer, was one of the most consistent and gutsy defenders i have ever seen in my days watching the Demons (at least from the first half memories....a tad sketchy after half time in many cases....so some might take me up on that!).

People tend to remember the last few minutes (Stynes, Eishold, Yeates), which unfortunately weren't great obviously.  But we forget little things that may also have cost us the match like the late Sean Wight in the 1st quarter (i think) giving off a blatant lifted throw as he was going to ground which i'm pretty sure the Dorks goaled from.  Also the last torp from the square (by Tuck?) was allowed to get out the back (not enough numbers up/back in what was effectively the last play of the day).  Probably a few others during the course of the game etc.

You can't say that. It's sacrilegious.

Everyone knows it was the Norm Smith Curse. 

Posted
4 minutes ago, La Dee-vina Comedia said:

You can't say that. It's sacrilegious.

Everyone knows it was the Norm Smith Curse. 

Ah yeh.....silly me LDC!

Posted
13 hours ago, bingers said:

I was there too. Nice goal by Gary "Brownless" Lyons. Lucky that Wrensted missed for WC. 

How original..  2 Rs  in Garry and no S in Lyon BTW. 

Posted
3 minutes ago, whatwhatsaywhat said:

So the news has gone thru - T Mac down!

Goodwin's media conference is coming up in a minute so I'm sure we'll hear more about it.  Could just be precautionary.

Posted

Goodwin on T Mac:

A small precaution to take him off the track.  Should be right for the weekend.  As it stands today, he'll play on Sunday.

Sounds promising but I think the next few days will be telling in regards to how his foot feels.

Posted

Big worry with T-mac injury.. depends a lot on if its the foot or the ankle., but we cannot afford to lose this guys for a long period.. he is now one of the most important members of the team, gives us what other teams struggle with and that is legitimate versatility.

Posted (edited)

If T Mac doesn't play which is likely given the precautionary attitude they will almost certainly adopt I would play Hogan forward and try to use Pedersen or Smith in Hogan's upfield role.

IMO Hogan's upfield play has been one of the big pluses this year but until Tom Mac returned we just couldn't kick goals (which is the aim in AFL).

Edited by Diamond_Jim
Posted
6 minutes ago, Diamond_Jim said:

If T Mac doesn't play which is likely given the precautionary attitude they will almost certainly adopt I would play Hogan forward and try to use Pedersen or Smith in Hogan's upfield role.

IMO Hogan's upfield play has been one of the big pluses this year but until Tom Mac returned we just couldn't kick goals (which is the aim in AFL).

We struggled to kick them against the Hawks in the wet, and then against the best defence in the league in Richmond.  In our first 3 games we still had 29, 30 and 33 scoring shots, so it wasn't really an issue.  

The issues was more around our structure.  We went with Hogan and lots of smalls, but now we're essentially playing three rotating talls with Gawn having a rest down there as well.  It works really well and has allowed us to play great footy.

Tom will be a big loss, but now that we've sorted out the structure of how we play I'm more confident that we have the capacity to cover him for any length of time.

Posted
1 hour ago, Demon3 said:

Big worry with T-mac injury.. depends a lot on if its the foot or the ankle., but we cannot afford to lose this guys for a long period.. he is now one of the most important members of the team, gives us what other teams struggle with and that is legitimate versatility.

a stitch in time, saves