DeleteUser 638 Posted May 23, 2018 Posted May 23, 2018 9 hours ago, Petraccattack said: Off topic but AFL.com posted this...... something to get us more fired up about this game and the dream of playing finals again. http://www.afl.com.au/video/2018-05-23/classic-last-two-mins-1988-elimination-final Dad took me to that game. Was 10. 1 Quote
dee-tox 4,835 Posted May 23, 2018 Posted May 23, 2018 9 hours ago, Petraccattack said: Off topic but AFL.com posted this...... something to get us more fired up about this game and the dream of playing finals again. http://www.afl.com.au/video/2018-05-23/classic-last-two-mins-1988-elimination-final Can't watch it Petraccattack! Eishold, Yeats missing from close range... Most disappointment i've experienced at a football match. 1 Quote
Demons11 7,148 Posted May 23, 2018 Posted May 23, 2018 14 minutes ago, dee-tox said: Can't watch it Petraccattack! Eishold, Yeats missing from close range... Most disappointment i've experienced at a football match. I think you’re thinking of the 87 prelim 1 Quote
At Least I Saw a Flag 5,353 Posted May 23, 2018 Posted May 23, 2018 54 minutes ago, timbo said: Dad took me to that game. Was 10. I was there too. Nice goal by Gary "Brownless" Lyons. Lucky that Wrensted missed for WC. Quote
In Harmes Way 7,869 Posted May 23, 2018 Posted May 23, 2018 I remember this game vividly. I reckon that snap from Lyon went about 150m up (at the time). Everybody celebrating that goal so hard behind me they’re not even watching Wrensteads subsequent shot at goal. Great result en route to the grannie. Quote
Demon Dynasty 17,165 Posted May 23, 2018 Posted May 23, 2018 1 hour ago, dee-tox said: Can't watch it Petraccattack! Eishold, Yeats missing from close range... Most disappointment i've experienced at a football match. Yeater's shot was from 35ish and pretty much directly in front on the run. To be fair it was going straight through the goals initially (for the sealer) till the last 10 meters when a hand of god saw it miraculously (for the Dorks) do a 45 degree sharp left turn (from behind the goals) and go sailing through for a behind (half goal post height!). I was gob smacked in disbelief at the time. Yeater was one of the main reasons we made the finals that year and, while not a naturally gifted footballer, was one of the most consistent and gutsy defenders i have ever seen in my days watching the Demons (at least from the first half memories....a tad sketchy after half time in many cases....so some might take me up on that!). People tend to remember the last few minutes (Stynes, Eishold, Yeates), which unfortunately weren't great obviously. But we forget little things that may also have cost us the match like the late Sean Wight in the 1st quarter (i think) giving off a blatant lifted throw as he was going to ground which i'm pretty sure the Dorks goaled from. Also the last torp from the square (by Tuck?) was allowed to get out the back (not enough numbers up/back in what was effectively the last play of the day). Probably a few others during the course of the game etc. 4 Quote
M_9 2,216 Posted May 23, 2018 Posted May 23, 2018 7 hours ago, chook fowler said: You can’t leave it at that - a name please. JH. Quote
Demon Dynasty 17,165 Posted May 24, 2018 Posted May 24, 2018 (edited) Edit: duplicate fat finger Edited May 24, 2018 by Rusty Nails Quote
La Dee-vina Comedia 17,137 Posted May 24, 2018 Posted May 24, 2018 12 hours ago, Rusty Nails said: Yeater's shot was from 35ish and pretty much directly in front on the run. To be fair it was going straight through the goals initially (for the sealer) till the last 10 meters when a hand of god saw it miraculously (for the Dorks) do a 45 degree sharp left turn (from behind the goals) and go sailing through for a behind (half goal post height!). I was gob smacked in disbelief at the time. Yeater was one of the main reasons we made the finals that year and, while not a naturally gifted footballer, was one of the most consistent and gutsy defenders i have ever seen in my days watching the Demons (at least from the first half memories....a tad sketchy after half time in many cases....so some might take me up on that!). People tend to remember the last few minutes (Stynes, Eishold, Yeates), which unfortunately weren't great obviously. But we forget little things that may also have cost us the match like the late Sean Wight in the 1st quarter (i think) giving off a blatant lifted throw as he was going to ground which i'm pretty sure the Dorks goaled from. Also the last torp from the square (by Tuck?) was allowed to get out the back (not enough numbers up/back in what was effectively the last play of the day). Probably a few others during the course of the game etc. You can't say that. It's sacrilegious. Everyone knows it was the Norm Smith Curse. Quote
Demon Dynasty 17,165 Posted May 24, 2018 Posted May 24, 2018 4 minutes ago, La Dee-vina Comedia said: You can't say that. It's sacrilegious. Everyone knows it was the Norm Smith Curse. Ah yeh.....silly me LDC! Quote
Demon3 2,541 Posted May 24, 2018 Posted May 24, 2018 13 hours ago, bingers said: I was there too. Nice goal by Gary "Brownless" Lyons. Lucky that Wrensted missed for WC. How original.. 2 Rs in Garry and no S in Lyon BTW. Quote
whatwhat say what 23,855 Posted May 24, 2018 Posted May 24, 2018 So the news has gone thru - T Mac down! Quote
Wiseblood 24,637 Posted May 24, 2018 Posted May 24, 2018 3 minutes ago, whatwhatsaywhat said: So the news has gone thru - T Mac down! Goodwin's media conference is coming up in a minute so I'm sure we'll hear more about it. Could just be precautionary. Quote
Brownie 6,086 Posted May 24, 2018 Posted May 24, 2018 9 minutes ago, whatwhatsaywhat said: So the news has gone thru - T Mac down! Noooooooo Quote
Wiseblood 24,637 Posted May 24, 2018 Posted May 24, 2018 Goodwin on T Mac: A small precaution to take him off the track. Should be right for the weekend. As it stands today, he'll play on Sunday. Sounds promising but I think the next few days will be telling in regards to how his foot feels. 1 Quote
Demon3 2,541 Posted May 24, 2018 Posted May 24, 2018 Big worry with T-mac injury.. depends a lot on if its the foot or the ankle., but we cannot afford to lose this guys for a long period.. he is now one of the most important members of the team, gives us what other teams struggle with and that is legitimate versatility. 1 1 Quote
whatwhat say what 23,855 Posted May 24, 2018 Posted May 24, 2018 He’s gone for scans Can’t see him playing Sunday, given that they’ll fly out Friday you’d expect Quote
Rod Grinter Riot Squad 5,681 Posted May 24, 2018 Posted May 24, 2018 21 minutes ago, whatwhatsaywhat said: He’s gone for scans Can’t see him playing Sunday, given that they’ll fly out Friday you’d expect They fly up here on Saturday morning Quote
Diamond_Jim 12,772 Posted May 24, 2018 Posted May 24, 2018 (edited) If T Mac doesn't play which is likely given the precautionary attitude they will almost certainly adopt I would play Hogan forward and try to use Pedersen or Smith in Hogan's upfield role. IMO Hogan's upfield play has been one of the big pluses this year but until Tom Mac returned we just couldn't kick goals (which is the aim in AFL). Edited May 24, 2018 by Diamond_Jim Quote
Wiseblood 24,637 Posted May 24, 2018 Posted May 24, 2018 6 minutes ago, Diamond_Jim said: If T Mac doesn't play which is likely given the precautionary attitude they will almost certainly adopt I would play Hogan forward and try to use Pedersen or Smith in Hogan's upfield role. IMO Hogan's upfield play has been one of the big pluses this year but until Tom Mac returned we just couldn't kick goals (which is the aim in AFL). We struggled to kick them against the Hawks in the wet, and then against the best defence in the league in Richmond. In our first 3 games we still had 29, 30 and 33 scoring shots, so it wasn't really an issue. The issues was more around our structure. We went with Hogan and lots of smalls, but now we're essentially playing three rotating talls with Gawn having a rest down there as well. It works really well and has allowed us to play great footy. Tom will be a big loss, but now that we've sorted out the structure of how we play I'm more confident that we have the capacity to cover him for any length of time. Quote
DV8 2,271 Posted May 24, 2018 Posted May 24, 2018 1 hour ago, Demon3 said: Big worry with T-mac injury.. depends a lot on if its the foot or the ankle., but we cannot afford to lose this guys for a long period.. he is now one of the most important members of the team, gives us what other teams struggle with and that is legitimate versatility. a stitch in time, saves Quote
La Dee-vina Comedia 17,137 Posted May 24, 2018 Posted May 24, 2018 1 hour ago, daisycutter said: tom IS our structure Daisy, did it take you long to work out how to use upper case on your device? 1 Quote