Posted
14 minutes ago, Dr. Gonzo said:

images?q=tbn:ANd9GcTQwasvnV3U0YGchzs9ZDq

I hope Gaff didnt arrest his development

Posted

I agree with those who suspect he may not be the same. The pictures paint a tormented man. Obviously we don't know whats going on in his head but to a casual observer he still looks distressed. You have to wonder how that will translate into his on field performance going forward. We would be wary of a player with a physical injury. 

Posted
2 minutes ago, big_red_fire_engine said:

Frost?

I often speak of Chinese whispers.

It was Kent.  I said to my informant that "you said they played in the prelim", to wit they replied that they didn't say that.  They did.

Posted
Just now, ProDee said:

I often speak of Chinese whispers.

It was Kent.  I said to my informant that "you said they played in the prelim", to wit they replied that they didn't say that.  They did.

Must have confused the first game in Perth with the prelim. Wish they were switched myself...

Posted

From the AFL site with regard to both Lycett and Gaff:

“With West Coast's best and fairest on Friday, the same day as the free agency period is deemed officially open, both decisions could be made public inside the next 72 hours.”

Posted
24 minutes ago, McQueen said:

From the AFL site with regard to both Lycett and Gaff:

“With West Coast's best and fairest on Friday, the same day as the free agency period is deemed officially open, both decisions could be made public inside the next 72 hours.”

Gaff looked totally shattered. I wouldn’t be at all suprised if a decision is made public tomorrow. 

He needs to move on to wherever, before something snaps...

Posted (edited)
14 minutes ago, Redleg said:

Pro Dee's info appears correct if Damo is on the money. WC or North with the leaning to North.

there again, red, gaff's emotions about missing out on the flag yesterday may have ignited him to re-evaluate the merits of chasing the $$s versus playing for a flag contender for less money. his decision might become staying at meth coast for another flag or going to a club in the premiership window ......interesting time for gaff

Edited by daisycutter
Posted
1 hour ago, Sir Why You Little said:

Gaff looked totally shattered. I wouldn’t be at all suprised if a decision is made public tomorrow. 

He needs to move on to wherever, before something snaps...

Do the crime, do the time. 

But there’s no doubting this bloke must be feeling so low and probably nauseous after watching his mates premiership medals be hung around their necks. 

Poor bugger. 

Posted
1 hour ago, McQueen said:

Do the crime, do the time. 

But there’s no doubting this bloke must be feeling so low and probably nauseous after watching his mates premiership medals be hung around their necks. 

Poor bugger. 

Agree

Posted
On 9/24/2018 at 8:10 PM, chook fowler said:

Lewis, I hope

It'll be Tyson or Frost, I reckon.

Which means we are very advanced at getting players already.

Posted
On 9/28/2018 at 1:43 AM, EnterTheDragon said:

My understanding is we left the Gaff poker table some weeks ago. Buy in price way too high. 

He won’t be at the Dees next year.

Maybe before the Weide announced himself, and after Harmes announced his recent efforts.

Posted
7 minutes ago, DV8 said:

Maybe before the Weide announced himself, and after Harmes announced his recent efforts.

North are said to be offering $1.2m/year for minimum 5 years for Gaff. Even in today’s climate that is serious huge coin. If we matched it it would make him the highest paid player at the club by some margin. 

He’s a very good player but that is stupid money in my opinion. A figure that could really destabilise the payment balance to the rest of the list. Let North empty their wallet on him and let’s look at a guy like Dylan Shiel who would come about $300k/season cheaper, leaving us other options in the market.

Like others Gaff’s mental state also worries me. Those types of incidences - humiliating suspension for king hitting, missing out on a premiership medal after nine years of service - can do funny things to a man’s mind.

Not worth the risk at that price.

Posted

Gaff thread on Bigfooty is hilarious. North posters trying to shut down anyone who says he is going anywhere but North. Such insecure flogs.

Posted (edited)
2 hours ago, EnterTheDragon said:

North are said to be offering $1.2m/year for minimum 5 years for Gaff.

I doubt you'd find one Demon supporter who would want him on that contract.

North are so desperate to land anyone good.

Edited by Petraccattack
Posted
21 minutes ago, Petraccattack said:

I doubt you'd find one Demon supporter who would want him on that contract.

North are so desperate to land anyone good.

That's $2m a year for Gaff and Polec, if figures are correct. Then they are after Hall, probably another $500k.

They need to move players on. Hello Brayden.

Posted (edited)
12 hours ago, Demon from Sydney said:

Does the Eagles winning the Flag make it more or less likely that Gaff becomes available?

I missed a GF once through injury & have to say it made it easy to walk away the year after due to feeling no emotion to the Premiership....in fact it felt worse than losing 1.Who thinks now that he is more of a chance of jumping ship & who thinks it will push him into staying on at WCE?

I think he's already done, sorted... to where is the question.??

10 hours ago, Deeoldfart said:

In the post-match commentory on ABC radio, they said he had separated himself from others in the rooms, and was "crying his eyes out".

Could be hes's already signed on elsewhere, & so signed out from the eagles these last few weeks since the suspension.   If so, he has missed out on a lot.

It's highly likely the stress of contracts, caused his brain-fartt.

Edited by DV8

Posted
3 hours ago, EnterTheDragon said:

North are said to be offering $1.2m/year for minimum 5 years for Gaff. Even in today’s climate that is serious huge coin. If we matched it it would make him the highest paid player at the club by some margin. 

He’s a very good player but that is stupid money in my opinion. A figure that could really destabilise the payment balance to the rest of the list. Let North empty their wallet on him and let’s look at a guy like Dylan Shiel who would come about $300k/season cheaper, leaving us other options in the market.

Like others Gaff’s mental state also worries me. Those types of incidences - humiliating suspension for king hitting, missing out on a premiership medal after nine years of service - can do funny things to a man’s mind.

Not worth the risk at that price.

It wasn't a king hit anyway; it was a straight up punch to the chin..

A king hit is usually from behind, or at someone who isn't looking at you.  The haymaker from hell punch.

Gaff will be fine, once he moves forward.

Posted
51 minutes ago, tilly18 said:

Gaff's wife resigned from her job as a nurse Friday before the prelim final.

West Coast are no longer in the picture.

I thought his partner is a teacher at Corpus Christi College...

Posted
15 minutes ago, Lucifer's Hero said:

I thought his partner is a teacher at Corpus Christi College...

Definitely a teacher.

Posted

FWIW Tony Sheahan reported on his twitter feed that the Demons are back in the race for Gaff.  Usually a fairly speculative fellow, but he's put it out there.

Posted (edited)
7 minutes ago, Swooper1987 said:

FWIW Tony Sheahan reported on his twitter feed that the Demons are back in the race for Gaff.  Usually a fairly speculative fellow, but he's put it out there.

Tony Sheahan also reporting that Collingwood is working to secure May and  also looking at a deal for Beams.

Edited by Pinball Wizard