Post Match Discussion - Round 1

31 minutes ago, Gorgoroth said:

Gawn was never going to kick that. Good fight back. Terrible we didnt curtail Selwood better and our selection of wagner was not even close to being right. 

After he kicked that pearler earlier, I had hopes. 

1 minute ago, Demon77 said:

Suspended? Are you talking about the incident when Vince had the ball and steamrolled the Cats player in our defensive 50 in the 3rd?

It looked high and it’s Vince and he plays for Melbourne. Probably 8 weeks suspension. 

Meanwhile Selwood won’t get looked at for the tunneling of Salem!

You reckon shills aren’t important?

Wattsy would’ve been handy wouldn’t he?

I just don’t know what Goodys doing with this team.

Leaves out high possession winners in Tyson and Brayshaw and includes plodders in Maynard and Wagner .

Lever looked like a skinny 12 year old.

We would’ve lost that by ten goals had Danger played

18 minutes ago, Forest Demon said:

if you want a scapegoat, Jordan Lewis is mine. Bought in for his experience, makes a mental decison to gob off at the ump and give up a goal. I can excuse skill errors, but that really pisses me off. 

yep he shouldnt have said a thing but the bloke tripped over his own feet.

the ump gave to 50m when Lewis just said "he tripped over his own feet"

its s*$t but leaders should just shut their mouths.

So the off season was spent doing what ?

Thought a skill like Kicking would be helpful 

Anyway, while some of you lo are looking for people to direct your anger at, i have a funeral to attend.

This is not a joke, im actually heading to a Thai temple to watch someone from my wifes family be incinerated.

Im disappointed we lost, but not remotely surprised. Forgive me for not carrying on like its the end of the world.

Forget today, finals, here we come.

No forward structure.

Not counting off Goodwin just yet, but he's done nothing to earn my respect thus far. 

Just now, Jaded said:

It looked high and it’s Vince and he plays for Melbourne. Probably 8 weeks suspension. 

Meanwhile Selwood won’t get looked at for the tunneling of Salem!

I couldn’t see from the other end if Vince got him high, it was marvellous regardless.

Thought it was a gripping and entertaining game of footy. Props to the usual bunch of drawing long bows from short sample sizes - no, we don't yet know if we are "same old Melbourne". Besides, I thought we showed spirit after half time to get back in the game and nearly clinch it.

Also an honourable mention to the usual "this is going to be a blowout" crew at half time in the match day thread. You guys seriously crack me up. You know who you are.

The Lewis 50 was a disgraceful example of leadership. However I thought his assistance in the back half of the ground was significant in our second half improvement. I don't know how to weigh the two factors off against each other.

The Gawn miss was a huge letdown, but the call above to drop him for it currently leads the race for the most absurd post in this thread. That would clearly be harmful to the team as he was on top all day, and there's no punitive/education benefit either: I suspect he may already realise he might have been better off kicking the goal and doesn't need to be dropped to get the point. Nobody misses on purpose.

Wagner has copped some criticism but I thought he lifted significantly in the second half. His pressure was first rate.

Petracca is going to be a star and Oliver already is.

Overall, very disappointed to have lost, but it hasn't done much to dent my optimism for this season.

3 minutes ago, Brownie said:

yep he shouldnt have said a thing but the bloke tripped over his own feet.

the ump gave to 50m when Lewis just said "he tripped over his own feet"

its s*$t but leaders should just shut their mouths.

He mouthed off twice. He made a snap decision to unload on the ump knowing full well it would cost him 50.

Unforgivable, regardless of whether the decision was right or wrong.

Gawn's miss cancelled out Menzell's. so that was a wash.  Otherwise, a stirling game from Max.

I assume the many long bombs forward were to exploit Harry's absence, but it did get a bit predictable.  Would love to see the stats on inside 50 marks

7 minutes ago, BrisbaneDemon said:

the Lions are no easy beats.

100% DANGER GAME

Lewis corralled the guy, wasn't holding the man.

Most of the guys who stunk in the first half came good in the second. 

Expect more from Hogan.

Maynard 7 tackles, but at what cost?

Even with Lever we still seem to be unable to handle key forwards.

... still coming to grips with Jetta losing a 1 on 1.

it is not the fact that we lost that worried me it was the failure to cover geelong when the ran and chipped. they had some many easy possessions because melbourne players did not chase, did not tackle well  and did not deliver into our forward line well enough to give our forwards a chance. A lot to improve. We had quite a few players who kicked points in the last who could have won it for us, we were just not good enough.

3 minutes ago, Demon Disciple said:

Come back to reality ding, not on today's performance.

NahDD we will still make it, dont worry.

Bookmark my post for round 23.

We will be there 100%

6 minutes ago, ding said:

Anyway, while some of you lo are looking for people to direct your anger at, i have a funeral to attend.

This is not a joke, im actually heading to a Thai temple to watch someone from my wifes family be incinerated.

Im disappointed we lost, but not remotely surprised. Forgive me for not carrying on like its the end of the world.

Forget today, finals, here we come.

My comeriserations Ding.

We will look to next week

I'm still not convinced that we've improved, or that we're a finals team.

Today's loss was much the same as last year's loss to Geelong. The out marked us, and were significantly more efficient with their inside 50s. We lost it in the same areas.

I still can't *see* us making finals. I'm sure we will. But there's very little to suggest we actually will. That is another game that goes into the "games we should have won" basket.

I'm with @Drunkn167 a really good game of footy that could hsve gone either way

Geelong were not as 'weak' as posters make out

Positives for me

We were in the game till the end

Omac took on a monster and broke even

We had a few blokes down on output and still only lost by a few points

The forward structure needs a tweak but still 90 points

I don't support the Bulldogs

7 minutes ago, Jara said:

No forward structure.

Not counting off Goodwin just yet, but he's done nothing to earn my respect thus far. 

He'll be shattered to know that????

1 minute ago, Satyriconhome said:

I'm with @Drunkn167 a really good game of footy that could hsve gone either way

Geelong were not as 'weak' as posters make out

Positives for me

We were in the game till the end

Omac took on a monster and broke even

We had a few blokes down on output and still only lost by a few points

The forward structure needs a tweak but still 90 points

I don't support the Bulldogs

I reckon OMac won easily

Great contest by the boys - some changes will help

Just now, praha said:

I'm still not convinced that we've improved, or that we're a finals team.

Today's loss was much the same as last year's loss to Geelong. The out marked us, and were significantly more efficient with their inside 50s. We lost it in the same areas.

I still can't *see* us making finals. I'm sure we will. But there's very little to suggest we actually will. That is another game that goes into the "games we should have won" basket.

Mate, im the chief [censored] of "Winners arent us",  but we will be there at the end of the season.

Today wasnt great, but it isnt the end of the world. We will play finals this year, mark my words.

Maynard to Ablett was not a smart move.

Really need to work on our hittinf of targets, especially into the F50.

Goodwin’s Game day coaching is questionable. Always is being out coached 

Melbourne can still not take enough contested marks 

Its a huge issue yet to be addressed

ANd we still have 4 or 5 players leaping for the ball

School boy football

This lot have laerned nothing

1 minute ago, jumbo returns said:

I reckon OMac won easily

Great contest by the boys - some changes will help

OMac butchered his first couple of involvements, but got a lot better after that.

Wagner the same.