Posted
3 hours ago, ProDee said:

Another one for the dummies.

Melbourne Demons

In: Jake Lever, Harley Balic, pick 31, pick 36, Adelaide’s 2018 third-round pick.

Out: Jack Watts, pick 10, pick 66, Melbourne’s 2018 first-round pick, Melbourne’s 2018 fourth-round pick.

Melbourne paid a lot to recruit Jake Lever but he will prove to be worth every penny – there’s no other player his age who is anything like him, and the Demons will find themselves a with a unique, elite player in their backline for ten years to come.

Harley Balic I like too and he came cheap. No complaints.

Unlike most I am guessing, I reckon trading out Jack Watts was a good call. He’s been little other than a headache for near on ten years and there’s a point where it’s just not worth the effort anymore.

Melbourne will have a quiet few years at the draft table but have assembled more than enough talent to take them to the pointy end of the ladder over the next decade.

The Crowd’s grade: B (52 per cent)
My grade: A

http://www.theroar.com.au/2017/10/20/roars-2017-afl-trade-period-report-card-every-club-graded-voted/

I agree with the sentiments here. That said, i think that i would euphemistically like to think that next year's position, attaining a Prelim would be a big decider on who we attract for a fuller, more fruitful 2019.

The draft table tickets positions might, for us next year, depend on who we have on the shortest/longest contracts at the present moment, and who we are trying to nail down longer. 

Posted
7 hours ago, chook fowler said:

Just an opinion. I guess time will tell.

YOUR OPINION IS FINE CF

Posted
On 19/10/2017 at 5:59 PM, DaveyDee said:

Overall I gave us an 8/10 with the only teams outscoring us being Essendon on 9/10 and Port 

What about Freo yes they lost a good young player in Weller but to get pick 2 and Matera in return was A+. The draft this year is still going to give you some good players down to around pick 40 what it lacks is the depth in the clear gun players after around pick 6.

Freo have 2 picks in the top 5 and also got their prime target in Wilson who will combine well with the Hill brothers 

Posted (edited)
On 20/10/2017 at 1:54 AM, A F said:

Lol. Get your hand off it, Steven. Where's OMac??? ? Definitely in that young core you allude to.

I'm not sure if you're jesting, but incase you're not, I disagree.

He is a speculative pick in the 50's who is young and developing but does not possess the talent levels or attributes of any of those players I mentioned. Mainly because they were all top 10 picks. (Bar Viney because of f/s and Lever because he didn't play any of his last underage year. Both would have been top 10 easily if not for those variables).

Oscar is in the 'maybe' make it camp atm.

On 20/10/2017 at 6:42 AM, Diamond said:

Wiedeman has been next to useless and there’s still a big question mark over Brayshaw with respect to concussion issues. 

It's Weideman. 

The list was based on high end talent. And both players were top 10 picks and were highly rated for a range of reasons.

I've said my piece regarding Sam many times already.

Supporters are incredibly short-sighted, impatient and generally clueless about Sam and the circumstances surrounding him as a player.

There are young and developing players like Oliver. And there are young and developing players like Jayden Hunt and Weideman.

Oliver leapt onto the scene and has been playing at an incredibly high level for someone his age. Going into Hunt's third year, he hadn't yet debut at AFL level let alone dominated a game at VFL. Do you understand why though? 

Probably not given your criticism of Weideman.

I'm not sure how many times posters need reminding, but Sam (just like Hunt with his back injury) was so far behind the 8-ball with his body and we've been lucky enough as a club to have the forwardline depth to keep him at Casey where contrary to some views, he's been developing nicely.

Going into his third pre-season and first full one, he will now be prepared to have a genuine impact at AFL level. I'm not saying he'll dominate, but his body will allow him to at least contribute at AFL level while he finds his feet and it's going to be a confidence thing before he starts performing on the big stage.

He has the perfect set of attributes to play as a power full-forward.

Posted

First round draft picks can be pretty important.  The 2017 Premiers 4 premium players were all 1st rounders.

AFAIK we already have 11 1st rounders (or equivalents) on our list.

Posted
11 minutes ago, Fifty-5 said:

First round draft picks can be pretty important.  The 2017 Premiers 4 premium players were all 1st rounders.

Who's arguing otherwise, Old ?

Posted
20 hours ago, praha said:

So we trade out Watts because of his standards, then force Vince, renowned for his standards and relationships at the club, into retirement, and bring in Rockcliff, a guy who before this year was a renowned locker room cancer. 

Makes sense.

Port had a great trade period, but they've brought in three guys who, despite all being extremely talented, are known for inconsistency. I think it's questionable that Port are now in flag contention.

Where were all these standards and elite trainers at the club when we lost Freo, Hawthorn, North and Collingwood? These games weren't lost because of our bad run of injuries mid year. 

What do any of us really know about Rockliff's behaviour off the field this year or any other. We hear interviews or read articles and just like stats we chose the ones that suit our narrative. 

Rockliff has 2-3 years of good football left and his best is better than Vince's, compare their output this year

Ive always said Port was the wrong choice for Watts but it was probably his only one. 

Posted
48 minutes ago, ProDee said:

Who's arguing otherwise, Old ?

With 11 already, trading a couple of unknowns for one with guaranteed return is good work.

Posted
1 hour ago, stevethemanjordan said:

This is the line that stood out to me the most:

"Lever just had the best season of any key defender under the age of 24 since 2010."

If anyone continues to argue that we paid overs then I'll assume they don't know what they're talking about.

Posted (edited)
1 minute ago, Wiseblood said:

"Lever just had the best season of any key defender under the age of 24 since 2010."

If anyone continues to argue that we paid overs then I'll assume they don't know what they're talking about.

"But he's not a keyyyyy defenderrrrr"

Shut the hell up.

Posted
Just now, stevethemanjordan said:

If that's the argument they use to support their view then you know you've already won.

Posted
On 19/10/2017 at 5:03 PM, sydneydee said:

Terrible trade week for us. 

I am still filthy at the Watts trade for a packet of chips.

Seriously? .

1 team wanted watts. Geelong lost interest.  What does that tell us.? Good call by the club. 

Posted
43 minutes ago, Demon17 said:

Seriously? .

1 team wanted watts. Geelong lost interest.  What does that tell us.? Good call by the club. 

Overall I am happy with Lever although we should have kept our resolve for a 1st and 2nd rounder. Watts trade was a terrible decision and terrible outcome for the club. A rookie decision by a rookie coach. 

Watts value to our club is more than his onfield performance. He brought loyalty and the kids loved him. What worries me is that Goodwin is not a motivator of men and couldn’t get the best out of Watts. I don’t buy the salary cap relief excuse given we are paying some of his salary for the next 2 years.

Balic doesn’t excite me but hopefully I will eat humble pie on this one. 

What we needed in this trade period was a couple of outside mids with pace and kicking skills. I stand by my assessment in was a terrible trade week. 

Posted
5 hours ago, stevethemanjordan said:

3 hours ago, Wiseblood said:

3 hours ago, stevethemanjordan said:

Shut the hell up.

3 hours ago, Wiseblood said:

If that's the argument they use to support their view then you know you've already won.

Steven and Wise in another edition of "Representing other people's arguments as stupid and pointless for easy dismissal."

As 'talking head' debate shows go - this is actually one of the better ones...

Posted
14 minutes ago, rpfc said:

Steven and Wise in another edition of "Representing other people's arguments as stupid and pointless for easy dismissal."

As 'talking head' debate shows go - this is actually one of the better ones...

Stupid and pointless?  Not at all.  

They're just wrong.

Posted
48 minutes ago, sydneydee said:

What worries me is that Goodwin is not a motivator of men and couldn’t get the best out of Watts.

You've come to this conclusion because of one player ?

Posted
5 hours ago, Fifty-5 said:

Adelaide's grand final team didn't have one top 10 pick from memory.

Posted
50 minutes ago, ProDee said:

You've come to this conclusion because of one player ?

Did you watch our Round 23 match? 

Posted
9 minutes ago, sydneydee said:

Did you watch our Round 23 match? 

So you've come to this conclusion based on one game ?

Just expand a little and I won't have to play "Simon says".

Posted
1 hour ago, ProDee said:

So you've come to this conclusion based on one game ?

Just expand a little and I won't have to play "Simon says".

This is my concern from observing his actions over the year. Clearly you feel he has motivated the team over the year so could you help me understand the following:

1. Our poor first quarters where half the team doesn’t show up

2. Our performance against the bottom 4 teams

To me this is a motivation / mindset issue that he has not addressed. 

Posted
On 20/10/2017 at 1:38 AM, dpositive said:

I won't ask  in 3years I will ask at the end of next season!

I will match Port Adelaide and dDemons which the Watts trade has made compulsory.

if Hinkley gets an increased output from Watts Motlop and Dixon to add to his team which was so narrowly defeated in the finals nd gets an improvement which our side which could not beat North nd Collingwood to play in those same final does not achieve I will be again disappointed, a condition which I have become inured to.

I thought that we were entering a period that would finally benefit from utilising the skills of Watts in a team of increasingly improving diverse features, with a united and overpowering desire to win a premiership. They  can do it without Watts so now need to show that.

If Port deny us I will be beyond furious and demand a more comprehensive explanation from Goodwin and fellow coaches than We have received so far.

Inteesting season 

Narrowly defeated ...huh...they had no injuries..played a home final ...didn’t really beat a top 8 side ...footy God’s smiled on them all year & they couldn’t beat WC...worst loss of the final series !!!

Posted

I have received a point for what was considered an abusive response to Prodee  - I thought what I said was reasonable given the provocation.

i don't need this so I am retiring from demonland. I have enjoyed the banter over the years. All the best to you all. Go Dees.