Why I won't be heart broken if Richmond bomb out in the finals

Posted

https://www.bigfooty.com/forum/threads/jordan-mcmahon-melbourne-fc-appreciation.1176042/

While they make a good point our draft failures, it still doesn't change the fact that these Richmond ferals have a pure hatred of the Melbourne FC, are jealous of our more affluent supporter base and want us to be a dismal failure.

Everyone raise your glasses to a straight set exit by Richmond.

After the bombers there one of my most hated teams. But the AFL wants them to make the GF,  just wait.

My heart will be  warmed by such a scenario , however, I dreamt last night that the Tigers won the game on virtually the last kick of the match after a Richmond player received the ball at centre half forward from a blatant throw from a team mate which the umpires ignored and kicked the winning goal. Sounds like a very plausible AFL scenario, so i'll trust it.

I doubt there is any Jealousy towards us. Since 1965 when Rchmond came to the MCG we have done nothing 

What is said about our drafting is sadly correct

Tanking did us no favours whatsoever

don't mind them to be honest.. def no hawthorn on the hate scale. prob cos they don't win either.. 

18 minutes ago, Sir Why You Little said:

I doubt there is any Jealousy towards us. Since 1965 when Rchmond came to the MCG we have done nothing 

What is said about our drafting is sadly correct

Tanking did us no favours whatsoever

Banish them to Docklands....

As much as I don't like Richmond I don't rate them at all. Happy to see Geelong get beaten and have to play Sydney

Essendon losing and Rich going out in SS would bring some restoration of happiness to my fortnight of disappointment 

1 hour ago, Bring-Back-Powell said:

https://www.bigfooty.com/forum/threads/jordan-mcmahon-melbourne-fc-appreciation.1176042/

While they make a good point our draft failures, it still doesn't change the fact that these Richmond ferals have a pure hatred of the Melbourne FC, are jealous of our more affluent supporter base and want us to be a dismal failure.

Not sure about them being jealous of our 'more affluent supporter base'.  If anything the shoe is on the other foot.  They have about 75,000 members and we have 42,000 and as a result they get priority fixtures (FTA slots, MCG games, big club opponents) and sponsors knocking their door down. 

All that equals 'Power Club'.  How I would love that to be us.

And as for they wanting us to be a 'dismal failure'...well what an I say...

A few weeks ago I was delighted at Rich going out in straight sets but after round 23 I feel no joy in crowing about them if they fail, afterall they have played finals in 4 of the last 5 years and will play at least 2 finals this year while we wallow in our agony. 

I just want us to succeed and don't care about any other team or their supporters.  No amount of failure by other teams will offset the pain of ours so will take no interest in these finals and finalists can all go jump!

Where is the reference to Richmond Supporters being jealous of our affluent supporter base?

i mean really, that is just crap

• Author
52 minutes ago, Sir Why You Little said:

Where is the reference to Richmond Supporters being jealous of our affluent supporter base?

They taking the [censored] out of the MFC component of the MCC members.

The alps references.

Basically the crap we cop from all other clubs with respect to a larger than normal section of  our supporter base.

It's jealousy in my book. The 'haves' and 'have nots' of society.

2 minutes ago, Bring-Back-Powell said:

They taking the [censored] out of the MFC component of the MCC members.

The alps references.

Basically the crap we cop from all other clubs with respect to our supporter base.

It's jealousy in my book. The 'haves' and 'have nots' of society.

I doubt anyone is jealous of our past 53 years. 

Pity may be shown by some, but most people still laugh at me when i tell them i am a life long Demon

i hate it, but there is not much i can say

2017 was just another year we [censored] up. 

$cully& Trengove for Martin is Comedy material if you step back

Barry Pendergast should have been sent to Guantanamo Bay by MFC Members

Richmond have always been my most hated side. I will be shattered if they manage to pinch the flag; especially in this even year.

Id love for them to derail Geelongs finals campaign.

But I still want them to not have won a finals since 2001.

A real catch 22.

2 hours ago, Bring-Back-Powell said:

I went to a posh school where there were lots of Melbourne supporters, but there were almost as many Richmond supporters. The Tigers have a very well heeled supporter base.

• Author
1 minute ago, Petraccattack said:

Id love for them to derail Geelongs finals campaign.

But I still want them to not have won a finals since 2001.

A real catch 22.

Geelong are the lesser of 2 evils I would've thought.

Plus Geelong could simply do what they did last year. Armchair ride into the prelim, only for their season to be over at qtr time (Vs Syd last year)

Hoping for some September horror stories after the August one we wrote ourselves.

My abiding memory from the late 60's when I first started to take notice of footy was of Royce Hart flying across in front of packs and taking mark after mark and kicking bags of goals against us. People like Roger Dean, kevin Sheedy,  Billy Barrot,  Richardson the elder, Dick Clay and  a half a dozen others who would always destroy us. It made a terrible impression on a little 8 year old kid !!

2 hours ago, Sir Why You Little said:

That'd be the effluent supporter base...

Edit: To stay on topic, hate the Tiges, hate all the others too. Not interested in this finals series one whit

Tigers fans are just pies fans with teeth.

Re scully trenners and martin - everyone would have taken scully and trengove at the time. Martin was seen as equally talented but a possible liability given his personality at the time and background.

Drafting is very easy in hindsight.

I can't fathom the idea of Richmond raising the cup this year. How many of these drought scenarios have to be broken before ours? It's agony.

Having said that I'm not going to be barracking hard for the straight sets exit. It takes too much energy and I've already expended that this year. I'm resigned to Richmond making it far in the finals, but would be happy if it didn't happen.

The whole final series is an anticlimax for me given our implosion. 

But happy for the Tiger fans. It's not 50 years but they have taken a battering for the last 30 odd years. And they are a fair dinkum VFL club born out of the depression and two wars. They are grass roots and authentic.  

Give me the pain of seeing the Tigers win and see another team climb over us (that we thought we were ahead of in development and finals terms). Rather that than the conceit of Geelong fans, the disgraceful Bombers, the ridulousness of the Eagles playing finals, the spoilt handout Franchise club  the gratuitous Giants, or the Buddy adoration club who expect to win another one. And don't start me on the abhorrent Crow fans and players like Tex and Eddie or to a lesser extent, Port fans. Let them stay at the AO and play one another every week.