Posted
16 hours ago, Jumping Jack Clennett said:

If only he hadn’t dropped that sitter dead in front early in Q1. 
I’m sure we’d have won.

( to say nothing of Pickett missing from 10 m out straight in front.) I 

Needs more aggression i think,  'JJc'.

I think get him in the gym and build him up more.  I think that might help him to attack harder.   And more confidence.

Posted

I don't think you can possibly drop Fritsch when you are expecting him to play one out on a bloke that can just push him out the way.

He needs space to run and jump at the ball, our game plan is to take up space by pressing really hard forward.

He is being coached into the abyss

Posted
1 hour ago, Win4theAges said:

Bennell; In   Fritta; Out

Weed; In   Melk; Out

can't drop Fritta? 

TF are you on about? Melk yes but Fritta is our only decent player up forward right now 

Posted
22 minutes ago, MF-C said:

can't drop Fritta? 

TF are you on about? Melk yes but Fritta is our only decent player up forward right now 

Hunts a better set shot and looks more dangerous atm, he's kicked for straight and applies more pressure times are tough MF-C 2.7 goals aint cutting it in my book, we need another big body.

Its either one of these four Hannan ( just came in) ,Hunt ( most dangerous), Melk (Input on the slide)or Fritta (Wasteful) this dynamic is not working for us atm. 

Bennell by all reports is straight back in plus another key tall Imo Fritta has been wasteful and Melk has the fumbles.

Posted (edited)

Forward set up.

Hunt/Oli    Weideman   Kosi

(Can Swap)

Hannan    McDonald   Ben/Trac/Gus

Like to see oliver and Brayshaw rotate through there aswell, oli's getting stale inside the contest.

Edited by Win4theAges
Posted
18 hours ago, jnrmac said:

They have all gone backwards.

Happens when you have a coach that confuses the [censored] out of them. They're like rabbits in the headlights with no idea what to do. So scared of making mistakes.

There is no initiative at all. He's trying to make them into Goodwin robots. They are failing badly.

He has the personality of a wet lettuce and it reflects how our team plays. If I was listening to him day in day out I would tune out as well.

i'm starting to think you are right on the mark, jnr

Posted
5 hours ago, daisycutter said:

i'm starting to think you are right on the mark, jnr

They don't just magically lose their talent

Posted
47 minutes ago, rjay said:

Being played out of position...simple.

And what exactly is his position? All very well to say he is a flanker adding a third option to two key forwards, however we do not have two key forwards! One can’t run out of sight on a dark night, and the other would rather be somewhere else. So the coaching group have no choice but to utilise his talents wherever they can, as a key forward focal point. Unfortunately for Bayley that is the position he is in at the moment. Not his fault because he does not have the physical attributes. But please enlighten me what you would do otherwise.

Posted

put him where he can do something - not where he demonstrably can't.  Put him where his physique gives him a chance.  Then we might have one more successful forward.  It's not his fault we don't have a big forward, and it makes no sense getting him to try to be what he's not.  Of course he'll lose confidence

Posted

The club obviously have a strategy for how the forward line should function, very different to previous years.  This is a significant tweak to our style, and has to be learned.  Frittata will be an asset up front, but also being the kick into the 50.  Suggest we give it a little time to see if it can work before ditching it all - the interruptions have been massive to getting a change like this to work.

We also need the forwards to be accountable and apply massive defensive pressure.  I think this has been missing, and allowed Geelong to waltz out with kick to kick.  Forwards being accountable for their opposition numbers and applying pressure and they would have had to go long up the line.  Also, the pressure has to work to retain forward 50 entries, not just let it bounce straight back out with no shot on goal.

Fritta needs to apply that pressure and lead to better places.  It will come, I believe. 

Posted

The problem with Fritsch is we don't have two of him.

He had one average game. At least he cracks in. He'd be sensational if we had two competent talls in the forward line.

Posted
1 minute ago, ignition. said:

The problem with Fritsch is we don't have two of him.

He had one average game. At least he cracks in. He'd be sensational if we had two competent talls in the forward line.

He's had 3 average games mate.

Posted
17 hours ago, old dee said:

Yep he is a good half forward. He ain't a FF or CHF.

Do the positions make a lot of difference in the forwards these days? The game is played like a rolling rugby union maul. 

Posted
12 minutes ago, President Dee Trump said:

Do the positions make a lot of difference in the forwards these days? The game is played like a rolling rugby union maul. 

Mores the pity, it is almost unwatchable in its current state 

Posted
15 minutes ago, President Dee Trump said:

You're kind of right there 'Trump'...

...and it's always hard to really know by watching the tele and listening the experts who tell us what we already see.

Reckon they could fill us in on what we don't see but I guess they are too busy watching the action rather than doing their job..on a tangent.

...but back to your point, he seems to be gettting caught deep to often for my liking.

I would rather see Tommy in here.

Posted
On 6/30/2020 at 2:00 PM, BW511 said:

I don't think you can possibly drop Fritsch when you are expecting him to play one out on a bloke that can just push him out the way.

He needs space to run and jump at the ball, our game plan is to take up space by pressing really hard forward.

He is being coached into the abyss

We are in heaps of strife when your full forward is really a slender HFF.  Plus he misses more set shots than he should. Conversion rate Ratsheeeit! The coaching brains trust at MFC in the last two years is nearly as bad as the NEELD Years. Now that's saying something!! 

Posted
16 minutes ago, picket fence said:

We are in heaps of strife when your full forward is really a slender HFF.  Plus he misses more set shots than he should. Conversion rate Ratsheeeit! The coaching brains trust at MFC in the last two years is nearly as bad as the NEELD Years. Now that's saying something!! 

You could say Goodwin is Neeld with slightly better players.

Posted
9 hours ago, buck_nekkid said:

We also need the forwards to be accountable and apply massive defensive pressure.  I think this has been missing, and allowed Geelong to waltz out with kick to kick.  Forwards being accountable for their opposition numbers and applying pressure and they would have had to go long up the line.  Also, the pressure has to work to retain forward 50 entries, not just let it bounce straight back out with no shot on goal.

We are also hopeless at guarding space. Geelong showed how easily they could zig zag their way through it. Zone defence is utterly futile if you cant guard space.

Posted

Early mistake Gawny made as a rookie captain was to pick Fritter for the Coleman .

No young player needs that sort of pressure .

Posted
2 hours ago, DeeZee said:

Early mistake Gawny made as a rookie captain was to pick Fritter for the Coleman .

No young player needs that sort of pressure .

I don't think that's playing on him, I was a little annoyed at Gawn nominating him though because Max actually needs to take a couple of things more seriously. Honestly I think he did it because people see him as a character and he enjoys doing silly things.

Fritta shouldn't be used as a FF, that's the big issue here. Against medium body players he can do well, against the bigger players unless he gets separation he gets beaten most times. When you talk about pressure on a young player @DeeZee I feel like that's the big mistake we've made, making him as our main forward target.