Big cats
Big day out
Big girls don't cry
Big kahuna
Big trouble in little china
Big yellow taxi

All adds up to the biggest omen ever: big win to the Demons

Posted

If anyone wonders what Billy's been working on to round out his game since last in the seniors I reckon the clues are in Plapps player review and the general stats.

Billy Stretch: Billy had 24 disposals, including 17 contested possessions, eight tackles and 14 clearances. Looking at those numbers alone – it gives you a really clear understanding of where Billy’s strengths are. His work in and around the stoppages were really good. His contested work really tested the opposition and when he had the ball, it was a real highlight. Billy’s ability to take us forward was also a real positive. I thought he was the pick of the players. - See more at: http://www.melbournefc.com.au/news/2017-06-22/vfl-player-review-round-nine#sthash.D8c4e2Wg.dpuf

• Like 15

Posted

Pleasantly surprised they went with Stretch. Really hope he's able to string a few good games together, I have high hopes for him.

Posted (edited)

Contested possessions is a pretty silly stat to pick someone on.

Hardball gets? Yes.  But a loose, bouncing ball in 25 m space away from opposition and an in and under clearance handball are both considered a "contested" ball according to champion data. 

Edited by deanox
Posted
11 minutes ago, deanox said:

Contested possessions is a pretty silly stat to pick someone on.

Hardball gets? Yes.  But a loose, bouncing ball in 25 m space away from opposition and an in and under clearance handball are both considered a "contested" ball according to champion data. 

14 clearances is a LOT.

Posted

Billy Stretch is gonna be a 200 game player for the club.

Has already shown himself to play good footy AFL level, and odds are that whatever hes been working on with Casey will make him a better player. Hes a very hard working kid. glad hes back in the team.

Posted

I really want to see what he does that puts him ahead of opposition players. Everyone else in the 22 have grabbed games by the scruff of the neck in one facet or another... even guys like Harmes have shown there's nothing they can't do athletically. Bugg has shown great smarts and workrate, as well as good inspiration for when you have a wall you need painted.

I remember Billy's commanded maybe 2-3 games in his time, picking up kicks running off a wing or half back. But is that all? Good user without being prodigious? I'm interested in what people think he'll become, in terms of type.

Posted

Glad to see Stretchy back in. I thought it was a mistake when he was dropped...but then we started winning a whole bunch, so I guess the moral of the story is that the football department knows what its doing.

Posted (edited)

Slow and steady from the FD.

It's a big game, but Puffing Billy was always there about and Maximus is a big in even after ten weeks out. I like the changes because it shows belief in the winning group and they won't make changes unless absolutely necessary.

Will be interested to see if they play Pedo up back or TMac tho. Preference is Pedo in the forward line assisting Petracca up a different wing for marking contests tho for forward entries.

Edited by Sigil

Posted

Good teams find a way. Another great test for us against the flat track bullies over in the west. Big outs for both sides, can Gawn contribute enough to even out the loss of Jones and Watts. 

Watts is such a key, kicks goals, sets them, is an outlet, can head back and stop goals, drive the ball out of defence and go into the ruck.

Posted
8 minutes ago, Cards13 said:

Good teams find a way. Another great test for us against the flat track bullies over in the west. Big outs for both sides, can Gawn contribute enough to even out the loss of Jones and Watts. 

Watts is such a key, kicks goals, sets them, is an outlet, can head back and stop goals, drive the ball out of defence and go into the ruck.

We do look a bit weak up forward without Watts up there. 

Lets hope he and the Hulk both return for Friday night footy next week. 

Posted

I reckon we might see more time than people think with Gawn forward. He takes great clunkers... and we know Goody's worried about 6 day breaks. If he spends 50% game time forward and we go back to sharking opposition ruckmen... might be a good thing.

Posted
2 hours ago, Nasher said:

Pleasantly surprised they went with Stretch. Really hope he's able to string a few good games together, I have high hopes for him.

He has an attribute that several others in our side don't, he has good disposal. 

I also have high hopes for him. 

Posted
50 minutes ago, Dappa Dan said:

I reckon we might see more time than people think with Gawn forward. He takes great clunkers... and we know Goody's worried about 6 day breaks. If he spends 50% game time forward and we go back to sharking opposition ruckmen... might be a good thing.

Agree with this we can expect TMac in the ruck and Pedo up forward as well possibly all 3 rotating 

Posted

With Watts and Jonesy out these were probably the best changes I could hope for. It probably also eased the headaches the selectors would've had. 

For team balance this works, Gawn moves into the no 1 ruck role (duh), Pederson moves into a full forward/ruck role with TMac chopping out at times. Pederson is give an opportunity to show his worth in a different way to what we have seen in recent weeks. I hope he's given a bit of license to role the ground as a CHF/FF and can be a strong target to kick to up he ground. 

Stretch coming in for Jones is a reward for consistency at Casey, he's 100% earned this call up. While a sentimental part of me wishes Trenners got a chance, I think Stretch offers more at this point. I'd like to see Petracca given some time in the middle, his explosiveness could give us something at the midfield. 

I've tipped WC, but I really think we can win this. WC have some key players out as well and we've had an excellent spread of goal kickers. 

I expect he'll be a bit scratchy but it'll be so good to see big Maximus out there. I think the boys will feed off his eagerness to be out there. How good would it be if first tap, straight down the through of Viney who runs and kicks a goal!? (Probably a "tell him he's dreaming" moment!)

Posted

Yep.. thought so

Posted

Thrilled to see Billy back in the side. I thought he was very unlucky to be dropped after the Richmond loss, but it seems he has righted some wrongs in the VFL and is set for another crack. 

Posted

Glad they went with Stretch instead of reading Demonland and having an emotional kumbaya by adding Trengove. Far more important an in with Stretch.

Posted

im confident we will win this   maybe 1 or 2  goals   even a point would be nice go dees 

Posted

Just to let everyone know I asked Billy whether I would be watching him at Box Hill or Perth, answer Perth, I ask the tell me coz I don't shout from rooftops before official

Also he has as Plapp put  been working on inside and contested work

Posted
20 minutes ago, Satyriconhome said:

Just to let everyone know I asked Billy whether I would be watching him at Box Hill or Perth, answer Perth...

Great mate, thanks for sharing.

Posted
38 minutes ago, deespicable me said:

Looking forward to Viney running straight past the ball and cleaning up Shuey with a shoulder bone to the head.

Looking forward to Viney running straight at the ball and grabbing up the Sherrin and kicking a goal from the 50.