WA Demon Boy 966 Posted April 11, 2021 Posted April 11, 2021 21 minutes ago, dazzledavey36 said: Steven May was released from hospital last night. well that's very positive 1 Quote
roy11 4,076 Posted April 11, 2021 Posted April 11, 2021 21 minutes ago, dazzledavey36 said: Steven May was released from hospital last night. More so the Hospital was released from Steven May. 2 8 Quote
WA Demon Boy 966 Posted April 11, 2021 Posted April 11, 2021 I bet he will be back sooner than expected He's crazy tough 2 Quote
siam juntaRus 92 Posted April 11, 2021 Posted April 11, 2021 Didnt realise Spargo looks badass! Love it. Quote
AllMyTeamsAreWank 564 Posted April 11, 2021 Posted April 11, 2021 44 minutes ago, dazzledavey36 said: Steven May was released from hospital last night. You would think if it was really serious he would need to stay a few days for surgery. Fingers crossed! 2 1 Quote
chook fowler 19,772 Posted April 11, 2021 Posted April 11, 2021 1 minute ago, AllMyTeamsAreWank said: You would think if it was really serious he would need to stay a few days for surgery. Fingers crossed! he was seen with a white stick and a dog. 3 1 1 Quote
Pickett2Jackson 3,904 Posted April 11, 2021 Posted April 11, 2021 47 minutes ago, dazzledavey36 said: Steven May was released from hospital last night. So either he needed no surgery, or surgery is delayed. Or he had surgery immediately. We need to know damn it!! Quote
AllMyTeamsAreWank 564 Posted April 11, 2021 Posted April 11, 2021 (edited) 5 minutes ago, chook fowler said: he was seen with a white stick and a dog. I'd still put him in our defence with the cane over past greats such as Tom Gillies. The dog could probably stand in for James Sellar as well. Edited April 11, 2021 by AllMyTeamsAreWank Quote
DubDee 26,674 Posted April 11, 2021 Posted April 11, 2021 56 minutes ago, dazzledavey36 said: Steven May was released from hospital last night. Fantastic news! Rules out some of the worst outcomes you would think. Unless he looked like Hannibal lector upon release Quote
In Harmes Way 7,869 Posted April 12, 2021 Posted April 12, 2021 9 minutes ago, siam juntaRus said: Didnt realise Spargo looks badass! Love it. Bit of Harvey Keitel about him? 1 Quote
monoccular 17,760 Posted April 12, 2021 Posted April 12, 2021 6 hours ago, Nasher said: Indeed. I don’t doubt it was accidental, but as you said, it was careless, which to me implies avoidable, and the injury appears to have been severe. I think Hawkins should be facing suspension. Edit: according to the MRP guidelines, it would fall under the “unreasonable contact to the face” offence, graded “careless”, impact “severe” (or at the very least “high”), contact “high” (as opposed to body), which carries a penalty of 3+ weeks, or 2 if it gets graded as high instead of severe. If that ain’t severe, dunno what is And careless is generous: reckless more appropriate 9 minutes ago, Pickett2Jackson said: So either he needed no surgery, or surgery is delayed. Or he had surgery immediately. We need to know damn it!! Surgery would be delayed. Too much swelling. Quote
Jaded No More 68,976 Posted April 12, 2021 Posted April 12, 2021 Even if surgery was delayed due to swelling, if his injury was very severe he would remain in hospital. Especially if they were worried about damage to the eye or if he needed very strong pain management. Fingers crossed he is on the mend. 4 Quote
Young Blood 2,642 Posted April 12, 2021 Posted April 12, 2021 Bracing for this first photo of the eye after hearing on SEN this morning and this forum that it looks pretty gruesome. Quote
Ouch! 2,276 Posted April 12, 2021 Posted April 12, 2021 11 minutes ago, monoccular said: If that ain’t severe, dunno what is And careless is generous: reckless more appropriate Surgery would be delayed. Too much swelling. I agree, about maybe being reckless, May had him by the jumper and was slinging/bringing him to the ground, Hawkins flung his arm up after disposing the ball, which might be partially balancing himself, but he seemed to know where May was if you watch his eyes. Match review won’t cite Hawkins, but these things happen a *lot* with Hawkins! Just sayin... 1 Quote
John Crow Batty 8,892 Posted April 12, 2021 Posted April 12, 2021 20 minutes ago, Ouch! said: I agree, about maybe being reckless, May had him by the jumper and was slinging/bringing him to the ground, Hawkins flung his arm up after disposing the ball, which might be partially balancing himself, but he seemed to know where May was if you watch his eyes. Match review won’t cite Hawkins, but these things happen a *lot* with Hawkins! Just sayin... Him and Mummy have a lot in common. Quote
Gawndy the Great 9,011 Posted April 12, 2021 Posted April 12, 2021 48 minutes ago, Ouch! said: I agree, about maybe being reckless, May had him by the jumper and was slinging/bringing him to the ground, Hawkins flung his arm up after disposing the ball, which might be partially balancing himself, but he seemed to know where May was if you watch his eyes. Match review won’t cite Hawkins, but these things happen a *lot* with Hawkins! Just sayin... Would that act cause that much damage though? I think there may have been a bit of intent with the swing. Did he intend to break his face - I don’t think so, but he should be sited for recklessness. Quote
DeeZee 7,496 Posted April 12, 2021 Posted April 12, 2021 Hawkins has a history of raising the elbow, he is getting very good at masking it in the contest. 1 Quote
Wells 11 5,502 Posted April 12, 2021 Posted April 12, 2021 7 minutes ago, Jaded said: Looks horrific ? holy [censored]! Quote
At Least I Saw a Flag 5,353 Posted April 12, 2021 Posted April 12, 2021 If May had caused this injury to Hawkins, would he be cited? I think we all know the answer to that. 5 1 Quote
DeeZee 7,496 Posted April 12, 2021 Posted April 12, 2021 Fingers crossed there’s no bone breakage Quote
Redleg 42,156 Posted April 12, 2021 Posted April 12, 2021 31 minutes ago, Jaded said: Looks horrific ? Just got to love this guy. Hope it's worse than it looks and no socket or eye damage. Get well soon, we need you back Steve. 1 Quote
Garbo 1,567 Posted April 12, 2021 Posted April 12, 2021 10 minutes ago, DeeZee said: Fingers crossed there’s no bone breakage Probably hard to tell till swelling goes down how bad it is Quote
Nasher 33,686 Posted April 12, 2021 Posted April 12, 2021 5 hours ago, titan_uranus said: I reckon there's absolutely nothing to what Hawkins did and IMO if it wasn't a Melbourne player on the receiving end, and possibly if it was anyone other than Hawkins, not a single person would be suggesting otherwise. My assessment is just from looking up the MRP’s chart for assessing incidents. I am not angry or emotional about it, and I’ve got nothing against Hawkins. I accept it was an accident, but that’s not the question. I don’t believe there is room in our game for players having bones in their faces broken in regulation contests. If it was a head-on collision we were talking about, I might agree with you. But I can’t see how swinging an elbow backwards like that is any less than “careless” (per the MRP’s chart), and surely the impact is at least “high”, if not extreme, given the injury. Which part do you disagree with? My view wouldn’t change, irrespective of which players or clubs were involved. 8 Quote