POST MATCH DISCUSSION - Round 8

52 minutes ago, don't make me angry said:

Mixed feelings on this win,  will mean nothing if we lose next week, we are still playing one bad qtr every game, also we were down by 26 points in 2nd quarter before we got our game going, this has to change if we are to make finals. Second week in a row we lost hit outs badly but still won the clearances, we would be top 4 if max was playing 

How can you have mixed feelings after that 22 man 4 quarter effort . Some people will never be happy

For all those saying drop Hannan in different threads, I think he's a weird one. Has the footy nous to get to the play, but just doesn't quite get the pace of AFL footy yet. 

He knows what to do, but I don't see him getting any better in VFL, keep playing the lad for a bit. If he doesn't do well in the next few games... Then sad times :(

52 minutes ago, McQueen said:

Salem anyone?

Very solid all game. Definitely in the best players for mine.

For sure McQueen. He is a genuine emerging star and along with Hibberd made us look assured coming out the backline. First time in a long time I've seen this.  

48 minutes ago, Clint Bizkit said:

How was Eurovision, @Jaded?

I won first place with my song titled "emotional ravings of an insane Melbourne supporter". Gawn and Hogan were my back up dancers. It was a night to remember!

I find myself breathing a sigh of relief when the ball enters our defensive 50 and Hibberd takes possession or is near the ball. He's been massive for us so far this season. 

1 hour ago, Demon Disciple said:

A banana is usually hit with the foot swinging back into the field, Clarry just decided to aim his foot towards the stands and hit it so hard that it curled like an absolute mother!

it defied footy physics

Inspiring game from Hunt tonight, including his headbutt of someone's shoulder. Big thanks to Adelaide supporters for their sportsmanship. 

Game was conducted in a great atmosphere....

1 hour ago, Chook said:

Is Melbourne the only team to have been at least level in the last quarter of every game this year? I'm not saying we could easily be undefeated, but...relax we've got this.

It's a very encouraging sign if true which I think it is. This team has so much exciting upbeat. We are now a real team playing for each other. Well done Simon and Bernie. What better way for him to celebrate his 200th.

Have a listen to some of the questions in goodwins post match conference, the Adelaide journos are absolute amateurs, the last question was 

journo:did you think you would cover the loss of KELLY so well?

goody:who?

journo: the fella that was sick 

goody: HOGAN?

journo: yea that's him

what an absolute [censored] 

1 hour ago, Clint Bizkit said:

I said at the start of the game that no Hogan wasn't such an issue, I was right.

I don't think you've quite done enough to make the thread about you.

Hogan' fine. His role is perfect and he's playing it well. Playing deep as the bailout kick and flattening, usually, 2 opposition players every time, leading to scores. His off the ball work is awesome in this regard. Wanders up to the wing and offers a target when he's not getting it. Even pinches in the midfield. I haven't seen a wasted minute yet, other than the Tigers game, which now looks completely different.

Some people are hard to please. Aside from Gawn, he's our most important player both with results and with structure. We've been performing badly up until tonight, and part of that has been the lack of a target. He plays the games he missed, we're 6-2. Says it all.

Each to their own and all that. But fair dinkum, anyone who thinks he's not important... come on. Sounds to me almost like he's getting traded again and someone's writing how we're better off without him.

22 minutes ago, Dr. Gonzo said:

Play him at CHF

Also feel that is the place he should play most of the time if we are to win more often with him in the team Dr.

2 minutes ago, Ethan Tremblay said:

#Freak.

I was sitting right behind that one Ethan

Worth the $1500 for airfares, hotel and the scotch to celebrate afterwards. I love that boy.

1 hour ago, don't make me angry said:

Mixed feelings on this win,  will mean nothing if we lose next week, we are still playing one bad qtr every game, also we were down by 26 points in 2nd quarter before we got our game going, this has to change if we are to make finals. Second week in a row we lost hit outs badly but still won the clearances, we would be top 4 if max was playing 

I wouldn't say we played a bad quarter, the Crows have smashed every team this year in second quarters, so we actually held them off pretty well in that quarter.

I work in a kitchen and just finished up to check how much we lost by... guess I'll have to watch the replay. It's wins like this that make tipping them every week really satisfying when it pays off. GET AROUND THEM!

1 hour ago, chook fowler said:

Can't remember a better win in my 60+ years of following this mob.

yep its up there chook. 50 years for me. unbelievable

My friends and family are Dockers members and fans, delighted tonight to watch this probably our best win this past decade 

Just now, DemonAndrew said:

right up there with the surprise win over west under daniher one year.

Strangely enough I had an inkling we'd win this or have an honourable loss. We play Adelaide Oval extremely well. A stark contrast to Football Park!

I was proud of the boys after the Richmond loss for their effort that night, it's now 3 hours since the game finished and I still can't find the words to describe what I'm feeling.

^ I'll be honest, after the way both teams played last week, I was extremely confident that the Crows would come out and beat us convincingly. I'm glad that we actually showed some balls and proved that we are capable of beating the big boys. We must back it up now.

And Weid tackled brilliantly tonight, fantastic effort from a 19yo Key Posistion.

53 minutes ago, Brownie said:

it defied footy physics

That's the Clayton Oliver way.

46 minutes ago, Ethan Tremblay said:

#Freak.

I think I'll just stay up all night watching this!

1 hour ago, Sigil said:

For all those saying drop Hannan in different threads, I think he's a weird one. Has the footy nous to get to the play, but just doesn't quite get the pace of AFL footy yet. 

He knows what to do, but I don't see him getting any better in VFL, keep playing the lad for a bit. If he doesn't do well in the next few games... Then sad times :(

Surely Kennedy needs to be rewarded for vfl form. My only concern and perhaps Goodwins too, is that he's no match for Hannan or even Harmes in the air?

Edited by DominatrixTyson