POST MATCH DISCUSSION - Round 8

Hibberd was epic. What a great pick up.

Our record in big games without Jesse Hogan is actually pretty good

Clarrie, Jones, Viney, Pederson were outstanding

Our defence should take a bow. 

The coach did a superb job. Great bounce back from last week.

Weideman's tackling was a highlight. In fact the team's tackling was incredible. Smart and hard.

Our positioning around the stoppages was 1000x better than last week with players hanging around the outside rather than all going in. Similarly had way fewer marks where 3 or 4 flew together.

This team might just be building something. Great comraderie, playing for each other.

What an amazing win

Bloody fantastic

That was epic. Everyone contributed at some time or another, even those with low stats did heaps in at the contested ball. Coaching was brilliant and when our palyers follow the game plan we can see it works. 

Hat off to Hunt for his exemplary courage (hope he is ok), Vince for stifling Sloane, Jetts for smothering Betts, an amazing effort from our midfield (and yes, Tyson CAN kick), and particular mention to a rag tag forward line that just threw themselves at it in the air and on the ground. TMac was the game changer aclong with Petracca.

A lot of contributers but Clarry Chhoo chhooo 19 years of age ??! A once in a lifetime player! Just sensational!!

Awesome result and i couldn't be happier.  Really disappointed for Hunt with his head knock and hope he pulls up ok during the week. 

Im so proud of all 22 players. Absolute fantastic effort hunted and eorked hard all over the ground. Salem and Hibberds ball use from the backline was fantastic. Tmac going forward and Tracs strength through the middle was immense. 

We didn't just beat them we pulverized them. They were hesitant and panicking right through the second half. 

Great win boys and kudos to Gooduy and the coaches

Wow, just wow. 

Hunt's kamikaze job tipified the commitment we want from what is a very talented (& very injured) list.

Last week papier-mâché tackles at best & now - a win-of-ages statement.

It's time MFC!

Lewis and Hibberd have been fantastic recruits. 

Both have footy smarts which is what we have been missing for quite some time. 

What a momentous win!

A couple of thoughts:

- Hunt's injury was the turning point.  It was such a courageous act that it steeled the resolve of the team

- Pedo is more than a backup player

- Petracca is ready for the centre bounces

- We often play well without Hogan

- We now know we can lay 90 tackles

- we need to address the favourites v underdogs performance differential There is something there

Congratiulations to Goodwin, a great validation for him tonight

26 minutes ago, Chook said:

Q: “Did you know Tom McDonald could go forward and actually kick goals?”
BERNIE: “Well, the goals he kicked were floaters and that’s actually all he kicks, so I’m not sure how they floated through. Lucky there was no wind."

Confirmed. Bernie posts on Demonland. Hi Bernie!

Geez Garlett has improve his pressure when he doesn't have the ball which is great to c. 

Yeah boys! What a thumping win over there! How good! I picked up $700 too! 

What a momentous win!

A couple of thoughts:

- Hunt's injury was the turning point.  It was such a courageous act that it steeled the resolve of the team

- Pedo is more than a backup player

- Petracca is ready for the centre bounces

- We now know we can lay 90 tackles

- we need to address the favourites v underdogs performance differential There is something there

Congratiulations to Goodwin, a great validation for him tonight

PS Also Bernie Vince played a great game on Sloane and the boys wanted to give him a good 200th.  He has been one of our best mature age recruits ever.

9 minutes ago, jnrmac said:

Weideman's tackling was a highlight. In fact the team's tackling was incredible. Smart and hard.

Our positioning around the stoppages was 1000x better than last week with players hanging around the outside rather than all going in. Similarly had way fewer marks where 3 or 4 flew together.

Having not seen the game other than the highlights, this is really pleasing to read.

Against much better opposition than last week, we've learned a couple of really important lessons.

Have been out at a birthday party and thought i had drunk too much when looking at scores. Assuming We must have corrected our insane handballing and kicked more tonight. Our winning games have seen a ratio of about 1.30 so far. Tonight?

Weid contributed and played his role coming off injury and no form.  Very good signs from the kid.  He will be a player in a couple of seasons.

3 minutes ago, Razor said:

I suspect the difference is that he look for alternatives when he's not there.  You see a lot less of the long bomb to the hotspot when he's not in the side.  Ideally we'll start playing like this when he IS in the side as well, which will make us look a much better side and probably help his game as well.

Bawling my eyes out here in WA can't believe what I just saw. Whatever I said about Goodwin I was wrong he is a genius and we will win a flag with hi as our head coach. 

One thing I loved today which hasn't been spoken about is dom tysons aggression, I thought he really stepped it up today and some of his tackles were brutal, he's been to easy to get passed until this week 

I suspect Oliver stole the Eddie betts wing tonight. 

44 minutes ago, M_9 said:

Sam Jacobs - 74 hit outs. Maybe a new world record (but means nuffin')

worst 74 hit out game ever....... ??...is there such a thing - won the taps haven't seen the stats but surely we smashed the clearances.. and smashed him around the ground.