Changes v Richmond R5

Deemented Are Go!

Posted
14 minutes ago, Rusty Nails said:

He does show glimpses of outstanding play Dappa. Like all developing players things can occasionally go haywire though but seems to be producing at a pretty high level so far.

I like the idea of Bugg working him on the inside a little then Harmes taking say about 50% of the duties and working him on the outside going the other way. As for the match committee they would probably laugh at the suggestion and do nothing of the sort!

Harmes is tracking top 10 statistically this year, with a weighted average score of 3.43, sitting 9th just behind ANB. Early days but a big improvement on last year's weighted average score of 2.92, where he finished 15th overall. A 17% improvement so far.

Yeah I agree. Only been at the club 2015, 2016 and 4 games of 2017. So he's still just a kid really. A lot of other players do less and get persisted with and become good.

• Replies 496
Posted
8 hours ago, Dr. Gonzo said:

I had a read of their preview thread on BF - my god I hope we beat them now, give them a massive reality check. I'm not confident though, they're in winning form and we've stagnated a little. Their small forwards worry me as does their deeper midfield 

Our small forwards and midfield is a level above imo. The only problem is that they are playing confidently and very direct. I think they lead the league in long kicks.  We overuse it, and they thrive on errors. Their style of play is very live by the sword, die by the sword.

Posted
1 hour ago, praha said:

Our small forwards and midfield is a level above imo. The only problem is that they are playing confidently and very direct. I think they lead the league in long kicks.  We overuse it, and they thrive on errors. Their style of play is very live by the sword, die by the sword.

Their pressure (which is a confidence/mindset thing) has been good too, something we struggled with last week. We need to get the game played on our terms early and convert our opportunities when they arise. They'll be trying to transition quickly from defense and catch us on the rebound, similar to Freo last week.

Posted
18 hours ago, daisycutter said:

what, no oscar, picket?

clarrie must be due a scheduled rest. long season for a young fella

Clarry out ??? Are you kidding ?

Let's just bank the 4 points this week and rest him against Essendon.

There, now I'm posting like a Richmond Big Footy poster. Oh and for good measure, "Richmond seem to consider this their Grand Final."

Posted
16 hours ago, greenmachine said:

not sure if tigers just playing crap teams or are on the up

happy.gifhappy.gif
happy.gif
happy.gifhappy.gif

Hopefully we aren't counted as another of those crap teams after Monday evening green

Posted
15 minutes ago, Jayd's said:

I am worried about Spencer. Nankervic has been very good for the tigers so far this season around the ground and I am not sure spencer will be able to keep up with him. Must play pederson imo to tag nankervic

You think Nankervis needs to be tagged by Pedersen ?

No mate.

Posted
12 hours ago, Dappa Dan said:

Yeah I agree. Only been at the club 2015, 2016 and 4 games of 2017. So he's still just a kid really. A lot of other players do less and get persisted with and become good.

And some are favourites of the coaching crew or someone within the coaching crew Dappa and get continuous match time wile continuing to under perform in the seniors. The MFC is hardly in a position to risk this continual strategy at the expense of winning and need to just start playing whoever's showing the best form at Casey for the likely role required.

This includes playing young inexperienced players who are showing very strong form at Casey and who deserve a decent go in the seniors for a few weeks vs a more experienced player who hasn't performed over a number of weeks to a required level or showing very inconsistent form.

If we move away from continuing to just getting games into 'promising' youngsters and/or continuing to play more experienced players who are badly out of form, we will start stringing more consecutive wins together and more likely to make finals. And more often.

Need to raise the bar as much as possible or we will just keep bouncing along the bottom as per the last decade.

Posted

Simon Goodwin has confirmed that Michael Hibberd and Jesse Hogan will be playing. 

Posted
7 minutes ago, Ditcha said:

Simon Goodwin has confirmed that Michael Hibberd and Jesse Hogan will be playing. 

Cheers, Sandra :cool:

Posted

22 looking like:

Jetta - Frost - Melksham

Hibberd - T-Mac - Hunt

Vince - N.Jones - Stretch

Trac - Hogan - ANB

Garlett - Watts - Harmes

Spencer - Viney - Salem

Oliver - TBC (Tyson) - TBC (Kent) - TBC (JKH/Pedo)

TBCs: Tyson - Kent - JKH - Bugg - Weid - Hannan - Pedo - Trengove - Oscar - Gus - Kennedy

Posted

Could be showers on Monday night. Hogan and hibberd in makes us a 5 goal better side (structurally) so hopefully we can put that on the scoreboard. If it rains a little bit harder our midfield will beat there's up and no way we take Pedersen. 

Posted
18 hours ago, JV7 said:

Anyone looking for selection tonight, don't. Club has tweeted side will be named Saturday. Strange... 

Yes, i reckon they would be putting more work into Hibberd, and maybe a smokey too

Posted
54 minutes ago, Rusty Nails said:

And some are favourites of the coaching crew or someone within the coaching crew Dappa and get continuous match time wile continuing to under perform in the seniors. The MFC is hardly in a position to risk this continual strategy at the expense of winning and need to just start playing whoever's showing the best form at Casey for the likely role required.

This includes playing young inexperienced players who are showing very strong form at Casey and who deserve a decent go in the seniors for a few weeks vs a more experienced player who hasn't performed over a number of weeks to a required level or showing very inconsistent form.

If we move away from continuing to just getting games into 'promising' youngsters and/or continuing to play more experienced players who are badly out of form, we will start stringing more consecutive wins together and more likely to make finals. And more often.

Need to raise the bar as much as possible or we will just keep bouncing along the bottom as per the last decade.

You've taken that way out of context. Harmes has played a lot of good footy. Has earned his spot. Form fluctuations have happened to everyone in the list from the top down, with the exception of possibly Jones. I'm not saying he should play every week. Just that I want to see him still on the list a few years from now.

Posted
1 minute ago, stevethemanjordan said:

Confirmed?

Stand by.

Posted
26 minutes ago, Stevienic23 said:

Could be showers on Monday night. Hogan and hibberd in makes us a 5 goal better side (structurally) so hopefully we can put that on the scoreboard. If it rains a little bit harder our midfield will beat there's up and no way we take Pedersen. 

only 1mm forecast. odds are we see no rain.......................but do the bom ever get it right?

Posted
28 minutes ago, Jayd's said:

Do you see spencer stopping him. He has been on very good form and can't be under estimated even if he is somewhat of a no name player

He's averaging 14 possessions, 4 marks, 20 hitouts and 0.5 goals a game this year. 

Spencer in his one game has 13 possessions, 4 marks, 15 hitouts and 2 goals a game. 

If you think these differentials require us tagging him, then you've been sucked in by the Richmond hype train. 

Posted
8 minutes ago, Dappa Dan said:

You've taken that way out of context. Harmes has played a lot of good footy. Has earned his spot. Form fluctuations have happened to everyone in the list from the top down, with the exception of possibly Jones. I'm not saying he should play every week. Just that I want to see him still on the list a few years from now.

No not at all Dappa. I'm just saying I think the MFC is far too lenient with under performers and has been for years although there has been times when Coaches have probably had little choice.

The fact that Harmes seems to be on the improve and getting more matches under his belt is a good thing for everyone concerned, including Harmes. Let's hope he can keep up the good work and as he gains a bigger tank, we hopefully see him impacting for more than a few quarters here and there. He is on the cusp of becoming a very fine player if he can bring his best over 3 to 4 quarters and not drop away too much from that output within games very often.

Posted
1 hour ago, Jayd's said:

I am worried about Spencer. Nankervic has been very good for the tigers so far this season around the ground and I am not sure spencer will be able to keep up with him. Must play pederson imo to tag nankervic

Spencil will pole ax Nank. Played a very solid game against arguably the best ruckman in the game on Sat. Could be the difference on Monday night if Dusty is out.

Posted
31 minutes ago, stevethemanjordan said:

Soooo nothing different to what everyone  already knows..

That he might be out.

No. Stand by means wait.

Story should be rolling out soon that Caracalla mentioned dusty is out on sen.