View in the app

A better way to browse. Learn more.

A full-screen app on your home screen with push notifications, badges and more.

To install this app on iOS and iPadOS
  1. Tap the Share icon in Safari
  2. Scroll the menu and tap Add to Home Screen.
  3. Tap Add in the top-right corner.
To install this app on Android
  1. Tap the 3-dot menu (⋮) in the top-right corner of the browser.
  2. Tap Add to Home screen or Install app.
  3. Confirm by tapping Install.

Gazza going?

Posted

It was publicaly vented throughout the trade period that Double Brownlow medallist and Geelong and Gold Coast Superstar, Gary Ablett requested a trade back to the Cats. It was a shock decision and sprung great debate. Just recently Ablett has been questioned on weather he is fully committed to the Suns this season. Will he come back next season or will he re commit

Gazza left the footy world about 3 years ago and has barely played a game since.

He's legend and its a sad way to go out.  you'd be crazy to go after him, he doesnt look like he cares

• Author
4 minutes ago, DubDee said:

Gazza left the footy world about 3 years ago and has barely played a game since.

He's legend and its a sad way to go out.  you'd be crazy to go after him, he doesnt look like he cares

Yeah I agree. Might be a different story if he was at Geelong. I think he lost interest and thought that a change might renew himself as a footballer

Suspect that if he ends up at Geelong they'll pay minimum price for him. Only way I can see him playing beyond 2017 is if he sits in the forward line. Could conceivably kick 20-30 goals a year for another 3-4 years.

His years in the midfielder are gone. His shoulders have killed is upper and core strength and he's useless around the ball. Put him at that dud Hawkins' feet and he could be dangerous, though.

Edited by praha

• Author

Yeah that's the only thing I think Geelong can do. Play him at half forward and try to get 20 touches and a goal or 2 out of him. His skills will still be there.

If i was getting paid a Mill to play for such a disaster of a club i wouldn't give a stuff either.

#cashinmypocket

15 minutes ago, dazzledavey36 said:

If i was getting paid a Mill to play for such a disaster of a club i wouldn't give a stuff either.

#cashinmypocket

Nathan Jones earned a lot less to play for a disaster club and he still managed to care.

1 hour ago, praha said:

Suspect that if he ends up at Geelong they'll pay minimum price for him. Only way I can see him playing beyond 2017 is if he sits in the forward line. Could conceivably kick 20-30 goals a year for another 3-4 years.

His years in the midfielder are gone. His shoulders have killed is upper and core strength and he's useless around the ball. Put him at that dud Hawkins' feet and he could be dangerous, though.

The dud who's kicked 400 goals at age 28.

1 hour ago, praha said:

I reckon he's better than that....and close to goals could be a real match winner. 

Milked an extrension out of the Suns and still has a year to run on a million a year. Geelong can't afford to get him and the way he's playing the Suns can't afford to keep him. 

You make your bed, you lie in it.

If you want to take the big bucks, don't complain if you are then expected to give something back in dedication, attitude and performance.

Play out your contract with a whole heart Gary, and maybe karma will reward you with a return to the Cats. Otherwise, stiff [censored].

4 hours ago, Clint Bizkit said:

Nathan Jones earned a lot less to play for a disaster club and he still managed to care.

Nathan Jones only cares for one club.

Money hungry mercenary who is from a highly flawed family background! No empathy or symapthy for him whatsoever.

I hope GCS Play extreme hardball and he goes wherever they can get the best deal!

Is he best 22 at the cats if he won't play forward??

30 minutes ago, Abe said:

Oh come on. People have lost the plot about Ablett. One of the greatest players of all time, would be top 3 in the cats side at worst.

who

• Author
12 hours ago, Abe said:

Yeah, the dual Brownlow medalist probably won't be playing reserves footy mate. I think people are underestimating what is actually happening with Ablett, yes he looked like he didn't care a little, but he's still a star with all of his bad luck and injuries. We are being crazy if we are actually saying Ablett may not get a game at Geelong. He would be their 3rd best after Dangerfield and Selwood.

Disastrous interview on the footy show last night. I know I shouldn't watch that rubbish.

Pretty clear he will only play next year if it's back at the cats.

Prahra above says he has lost his core strength. I'm no expert but I don't think you can lose the strength through the hips and core that he and his old man had through injury or wear and tear. His shoulder is gone Jack Viney made sure of that but I still think he has his greatest assets.

He will dominate this weekend.

1 hour ago, Wrecker45 said:

Disastrous interview on the footy show last night. I know I shouldn't watch that rubbish.

Pretty clear he will only play next year if it's back at the cats.

Prahra above says he has lost his core strength. I'm no expert but I don't think you can lose the strength through the hips and core that he and his old man had through injury or wear and tear. His shoulder is gone Jack Viney made sure of that but I still think he has his greatest assets.

He will dominate this weekend.

I actually felt sorry for him watching that interview (the only bit I watched of that awful show).

There's obviously stuff going on his life, and footy seems to be on the backburner. I'm not sure he'll have much more care at Geelong, if he ends up there next year. 

As for the criticism, I agree that his body language is poor at times, but gees it's been blown out of proportion. He's had 2 injury interrupted seasons, and frankly I don't think he ever asked or wanted to be the captain of that club. He is not a leader. That doesn't make him any less of a superstar player, and I bet he'll come out and make everyone eat their words this week. Just glad we aren't playing the Suns this week! 

Feel sorry for G Ablett Jnr.?

no i don't. The bloke swims in Cash. Last night would have been another earner. 

Don't sign mega contracts and then expect the world to cry

That said. The GC $un$ are as irrelevant as Mark Latham has become. 

16 hours ago, hemingway said:

Gazza has run out of juice, physically and mentally. 

I think it's clear he's not enjoying his footy. Physically he should be fine mentally he is shot

21 minutes ago, Sir Why You Little said:

Feel sorry for G Ablett Jnr.?

no i don't. The bloke swims in Cash. Last night would have been another earner. 

Don't sign mega contracts and then expect the world to cry

That said. The GC $un$ are as irrelevant as Mark Latham has become. 

So just because somebody is earning lots of money, money he was actually worth at the time of signing his contract, he is not allowed to be battling off field issues? 

I didn't see anybody attacking Buddy for his mental health issues because how dare he, when he is making so much cash?! 

Money doesn't absolve you from shitty situations in life. He is struggling for whatever reason, and I don't think he deserves the sort of vitriol that's been thrown his way this week. You'd think he's the first player in history to be going through a bad patch of form!