• Author

Kelli Underwood - "Freo's season is slipping away from them"

• Author

Amazing, exceeded everyone's expectations I'm sure. Is it wrong im still annoyed they didn't boot two more? ;)

Daisy is a ripper, had a moment reading about Hassa Mann texting her. Geez i love my club

Ran some calculations.... definitely won't get through on percentage.

It would take a Crows win by a point plus both teams would need to score over 60 points.

Hopefully the Pies win or it's a draw!

Lets hope Mona kicks 6, but I think she needs to join Cloke at the Dogs TBH.

Unfortunately yes, the % path to the grand final is not plausible, would take a ten-goals-each game from the Crows and Pies tomorrow.

But, Pies are on a run of form, with three wins in a row, and Adelaide have lost two in a row, and the game is being played in Melbourne.

On a side note, Melbourne are first or second for just about all the major stats categories, and for many of them all it would take would be one final bad game from each of Adelaide or the Bulldogs.

Most notable, we are on 37 goals, with Carlton (33) and Adelaide (31) the chasers.

2 hours ago, Whispering_Jack said:

A day of records - highest score, biggest winning margin and now, a 24 hour wait.

Happy to hand over our newly won record winning margin to the Pies tomorrow.

Screw that. If I have to go for the pies I only want them to win by a point. A draw would be even better. Either way we play the final and Adelaide don't. 

Very impressive win. Some of the link-up play through the middle of the ground was outstanding. I just love the way Cranston plays in straight lines and follows it up with thinking and skill. I am still surprised how much I enjoy the AFLW and how quickly I adopted them as an official Dees team. 

Just now, Maldonboy38 said:

Very impressive win. Some of the link-up play through the middle of the ground was outstanding. I just love the way Cranston plays in straight lines and follows it up with thinking and skill. I am still surprised how much I enjoy the AFLW and how quickly I adopted them as an official Dees team. 

100% agree on all accounts. I watched the game whilst cooking and loved it and really felt connected, Sung the song with gusto after the game and loved the players's joyous rendition.

It really feels as if they are part of the club and i think the women's team will be a huge benefit to the MFC, not leat in terms of building our supporter base. So exciting and great reward for the rela investment we, along with the doggies, have made in this space. Go dees.

A great game from the women's team. Some of the link up play and skill by foot was brilliant. Misfud is a star, for mine. She is a beautifully kick of the footy. Probably the best kicking technique of any of our girls. 

Paxman and Daisy are stars too. 

Enjoyed the game. Some real good ball movement today and they deserve to get to the GF.

It's a strange world. Go Dees.... However you get there :rolleyes:

• Author
4 hours ago, Moneider96 said:

Geesh, Ellie Blackburn moves like Ablett. Most impressive AFL women's player that I've seen thus far.

Do you mean Elise O'Dea ?

This was just outstanding football. One of the many things I like about this is it seems the women's team is playing a similar style of play that the Demon men aspire to, and do it brilliantly. We have picked up some really classy footballers, and the improvement both in individual skill levels and team play over the six week season has been amazing. Women's football is really good to watch, something I don't think could have really been said six weeks ago.

i have no doubt that if by chance we do scape into the Grannie next week, we would have an excellent chance of winning. Many pundits really do seem to believe we are the best team out there. The question is though how long can we keep it together.

As I understand it, most of these women are only signed on for two seasons, which means all of them are open to offers from other clubs starting next year. MFCW will come out of this season the most watched of all the teams, much admired for their skill,  and hopefully the most succcessful. You can imagine all the other teams drawing up their targets for the end of next year already, with most of our best players near the top of the list including the many surprise packets on our list. it may turn out to be a very very short dynasty! 

Great win!

Couldn't believe the umpiring!

After robbing us blind in every other game, they gave us absolutely everything in this game(24/10).

Umpire apologists will say it was because we out-possessed them so completely. BUT..... we out possessed the opposition every week and got thoroughly screwed by the umps every week but this.

BTW.........50 m. penalties are far too severe in women's footy....equivalent to 2 or 3 kicks.,usually for a very minor infringement.

How's this for a missed opportunity? If the Crows hadn't kicked those two late goals last week, we'd already be ahead of them on percentage.

Currently:

Dees / points for: 258 / points against: 183 / % = 141.0

Crows / points for: 221 / points against: 139 / % = 159.0

Take those two goals off our points against and their points for, you get:

Dees / pf: 258 / pa: 171 / %: 150.9

Crows / pf: 209 / pa: 139 / %: 150.4

Obviously the GWS game is the real missed opportunity, we could have the GF spot wrapped up already. But jeez, if we miss, we're going to miss by such a fine margin.

Well that was one stunning performance! The comradery and joy for the game the girls have is lovely to watch. And there's some very good footballers developing here outside of the usual culprits. But hey I never tire of watching Daisy's amazing work in and around the packs. Those handballs! Wow she just has impeccable timing and evasive skills and touch that get her out of trouble and into  space, freeing up time for herself and others around. The link up Queen of the AFL. Paxman again another solid performer. All the girls were fantastic and looking forward to seeing them in the Granny. If they make it I reckon they bring home the bacon ??

Will be really disappointing if they don't make the GF now, they're really starting to click as a team and I think quietly the Lions would be quite happy to face the Crows instead of us. 

Certainly the GWS game will be the one they'll be kicking themselves on, that was a really bad game to drop.

Still if that was the end of the year (and I really hope it's not) you couldn't have asking for a better performance. Well done ladies, and now it's over to hoping the Pies will win! :wacko:

1 minute ago, Chelly said:

Quarter time and the Crows leading by 4 points.

Come on Pies.

Pies kick the first goal of the 2nd and are up by 2 points.

3 players i have pinned as my favourites are Karen Paxman, Alisha Newman and the bolter in Cat Phillips!

Have felt emotionally apart of it with every game i watch. Enjoying every minute of it.